Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

 
canoli
Gerbil XP
Topic Author
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:55 pm

1.6V vs 1.5V - G.Skill F3-10666CL9T-12GBRL

Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:44 pm

Sometimes I have the notorious "Missing Memory Problem" (e.g. 24G installed, board boots with 16G) and one solution I read was to increase the DRAM voltage. I'm wondering if there are other, less "brute-force" ways of addressing this problem.

My freq/timings are 6x4GB @533, 7-7-7-19 CR1. I haven't found a combination that will consistently boot all 6 DIMMs so I'm trying the DRAM voltage at 1.6.

G.Skill replied to someone on newegg saying 1.6V would "work fine" but neither writer specified the chipset. So I'm wondering whether 1.6V DRAM actually is safe to run through the X58 chipset.

Thanks for any thoughts you'd care to share...I appreciate it.
 
DeadOfKnight
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 663
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 1:20 pm

Re: 1.6V vs 1.5V - G.Skill F3-10666CL9T-12GBRL

Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:38 pm

canoli wrote:
Sometimes I have the notorious "Missing Memory Problem" (e.g. 24G installed, board boots with 16G) and one solution I read was to increase the DRAM voltage. I'm wondering if there are other, less "brute-force" ways of addressing this problem.

My freq/timings are 6x4GB @533, 7-7-7-19 CR1. I haven't found a combination that will consistently boot all 6 DIMMs so I'm trying the DRAM voltage at 1.6.

G.Skill replied to someone on newegg saying 1.6V would "work fine" but neither writer specified the chipset. So I'm wondering whether 1.6V DRAM actually is safe to run through the X58 chipset.

Thanks for any thoughts you'd care to share...I appreciate it.

I believe x58 standard is 1.65v
Intel Core i7-5775c, Asus Maximus VII Formula, Win 10 Pro
EVGA GTX 1080, Corsair 2x8GB DDR3-1866, Corsair AX860
Corsair H105, WD Red 4TB x2, Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB, ASUS ROG PG348Q, Corsair 450D
 
canoli
Gerbil XP
Topic Author
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:55 pm

Re: 1.6V vs 1.5V - G.Skill F3-10666CL9T-12GBRL

Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:46 pm

Thanks for your reply DoK - you may be right; frankly I've been confused about this ever since I put the system together.

I dialed it back to 1.5v and I'll re-boot whenever the missing-memory problem arises....like I've been doing.
 
sluggo
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1619
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 8:44 pm
Location: under the table and dreaming

Re: 1.6V vs 1.5V - G.Skill F3-10666CL9T-12GBRL

Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:25 pm

If you can get a part number off the die used on the Gskill module, I'll look up the specs. Perhaps there's a broader operating margin on them.
This problem was caused by Windows, which was created by Microsoft Corporation.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest