Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

 
churin
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: San Jose/California

Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 10:50 am

I have just got a new pair of 8GB RAMs, replaced a pair of 4GB RAMs and am getting three long beeps. I unpluged one leaving another in the slot #1 but no cure. I replace the keyboard but no luck. I tried an alternate slot but to no avail.
The old RAM is DDR3 1600 and the new one is DDR3 1866. The motherboard is Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 rev.1.2.
Is there anything I should try before RMD?
 
SoM
Gerbil XP
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:01 am

unplug, and reset the bios, wait a few minutes when you remove the battery.

first try above, try different ram slots, then update bios

In Win 303
i7-6700k
Corsair H60
Asus z170-A
950 Pro 256GB
Crucial M500 240GB
Seagate 6TB external
G.Skill Aegis 2x16GB 2400
EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Audioengine A5+
Win 10
 
southrncomfortjm
Silver subscriber
Gerbil XP
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:08 am

Looking at your Mobo's manual, I don't see anything for 3 long beeps. Check out page 91.
Gaming: i5-3570k/Z77/212 Evo/Corsair 500R/16GB 1600 CL8/GB GTX 760-2GB/840 250gb, EVO 500gb, SG 3tb/Tachyon 650w/Win10

HTPC: i3 3225/H77/8gb g.skill 1.25v/1+2TB HDD/Asus BR/Silverstone GD05B/Antec 380w/Win10

Monitor: Acer Predator X34 Ultrawide 1440p
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 45395
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:17 am

Does the system POST if you put the old RAM back in? If so, update the BIOS to latest version and try the new RAM again. If not, then you've somehow damaged the motherboard or knocked something else loose.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
SoM
Gerbil XP
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:31 am

also try resetting the GPU, try 1ram in a slot at a time

In Win 303
i7-6700k
Corsair H60
Asus z170-A
950 Pro 256GB
Crucial M500 240GB
Seagate 6TB external
G.Skill Aegis 2x16GB 2400
EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Audioengine A5+
Win 10
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 45395
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:43 am

SoM wrote:
try 1ram in a slot at a time

He already did that.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3735
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:01 pm

just brew it! wrote:
SoM wrote:
try 1ram in a slot at a time

He already did that.


He could, however, pull the one stick he tried and do the other one. It doesn't seem he tried that.
Hakkaa päälle!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|SanDisk Ultra II 480GB|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45|Logitech MX 518 & F310|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
 
cheesyking
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:52 am
Location: That London (or so I'm told)
Contact:

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:04 pm

There is a note on Gigabyte's site that you need an AM3+ cpu to use 1866 RAM... I suppose that is what you've got?

Assuming it POSTs with the old RAM you could try manually setting the RAM to 1600MHz then putting the new sticks in.
Fernando!
Your mother ate my dog!
 
churin
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: San Jose/California

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:01 pm

Thanks everyone for your replies.

Updates and my responses/comments to some of the replies:

True that there is no Three Long Beeps in the manual. It is some times Two Long Beeps and One Short Beep which is not in the manual either.
With the old pair of RAM sticks restored, there is no problem.
GPU was working and is working with the old pair RAM.
I tried one ram at a time using one and another.
The CPU is AMD FX6300.
BIOS version is F7 which is the latest version.

What I can do at this point are 1) reset BIOS and 2) Re-flash BIOS F7 with newly downloaded F7.
Any suggestion?
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 45395
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:13 pm

Try resetting the BIOS; if that doesn't help, try manually configuring the timings to the correct values for the new RAM.

Re-flashing the BIOS to the same version is pointless, I wouldn't bother with that. The only thing it can do (besides nothing) is brick the board, if you happen to get really unlucky and the flash fails.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
SoM
Gerbil XP
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:09 pm

just brew it! wrote:
Try resetting the BIOS


and i already said that :p

In Win 303
i7-6700k
Corsair H60
Asus z170-A
950 Pro 256GB
Crucial M500 240GB
Seagate 6TB external
G.Skill Aegis 2x16GB 2400
EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Audioengine A5+
Win 10
 
churin
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: San Jose/California

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:17 pm

Re-setting the BIOS solved the problem.
The first response from SoM is turned out to be the right on target.
The reason I hegitated to do this right away was that I thought old setting for 1600 RAM should work for the new RAM as 1600. There must be something about the old RAM settings which the new RAM did not like. After re-setting the BIOS the new RAM ran at 1333, and so I manually modified the settings for 1866 including the timings.

Thank you everyone for your help.
 
SoM
Gerbil XP
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:29 pm

glad u got it sorted out

In Win 303
i7-6700k
Corsair H60
Asus z170-A
950 Pro 256GB
Crucial M500 240GB
Seagate 6TB external
G.Skill Aegis 2x16GB 2400
EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Audioengine A5+
Win 10
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 45395
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:35 pm

Swapping RAM or CPU can cause BIOSes to behave oddly sometimes if you don't reset.

Another possibility is that although the new RAM has a higher max clock, it may require looser (in absolute terms) timing during one or more phases of the bus transaction. If this is the case, the timings for the old RAM might not work.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
 
churin
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: San Jose/California

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:48 pm

just brew it! wrote:
Swapping RAM or CPU can cause BIOSes to behave oddly sometimes if you don't reset.

Another possibility is that although the new RAM has a higher max clock, it may require looser (in absolute terms) timing during one or more phases of the bus transaction. If this is the case, the timings for the old RAM might not work.

Thanks for the info.
 
aldo369
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:49 pm

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Tue May 13, 2014 9:04 pm

Are they Mushkin? Hey it might be the the voltage of the memory-1.35 instead of 1.5 very common reason for memory non-compatibility.see if they are the same voltage as the ones you had in there,also might not be able to recognize the speed if not set right in bios.aldo369 good luck
 
churin
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: San Jose/California

Re: Three long beeps & no POST

Tue May 13, 2014 9:24 pm

The original RAM is G-Skill 4GBx4 1333 9-9-9-24 1.5V and the new RAM is ADATA 8GBx2 1600 9-9-9-24 1.5V.

Edit: The above means the specs of the origianl RAM and the replacement RAM as stated in my thread starter post is incorrect.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests