Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

 
carcakes
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:45 pm

About thermal and power supply feature

Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:04 pm

Does any CPU from any manufacturer have that feature that only goes turbo mode when your power Supply allows us to??? what if you configured it for lets say 500W and then irt finds head room to activate more speed and more core or something?? because maybe you taught it was the process that limit ehm.. that chip but...
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1352
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:14 pm

Power supplies are very very rarely the limitation in desktop PCs. On laptops, sure, but they're a lot more integrated in terms of power management and monitoring.
Z68XP-UD4 | 2700K @ 4.7 GHz | 32 GB | GTX Titan X | Seasonix Gold 850 | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 | D5 + RP-452X2 | Cosmos II | 480 + 240 + Perc H200(128x8) SSDs
 
carcakes
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:45 pm

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:03 pm

'monitoring'
 
DPete27
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2534
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:32 pm

No processor that I know of will throttle or increase speeds depending on the PSU. If your PSU is insufficient, you'll get stability problems (crashing).

If you don't want your CPU to "go into turbo mode" go to Control Panel - Power Management Settings - Advanced Settings - Processor Power Management and adjust the "maximum Processor state" to 95%. There may be more graceful ways to accomplish the same thing (disable TurboCore/Turbo Boost in BIOS if the machine supports changes to such values), but what I mentioned should work for all desktops AND laptops.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, Asus GTX660 TOP, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
The Egg
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1894
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:39 pm

I don't believe that motherboards have any means of detecting the load level of the powersupply. CPU throttling on the desktop is based off of heat, not power availability. Even if it were possible, you would never want to run so close to your powersupply's limits, especially since their output degrades with age.
 
Firestarter
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 721
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: About thermal and power supply feature

Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:13 pm

motherboards can't detect it, but you can often *tell* it not to exceed certain power limits. That won't help you if the maximum load is not known in advance however

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest