Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, Thresher

 
rinshun
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:42 am

New ram stick making system not boot[Solved]

Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:56 am

Hi,

I am having an issue with a recently bought DDR3 RAM. I installed it, then the system could not boot anymore (it got stuck in the "windows is loading" screen). Then I removed the other stick and tried only the new one. It only made the system reset every 10 seconds in the "testing memory" screen. It is strange because I "think" I bought a stick of the same model of my previous one so it would not get any incompatibilities. Also I tried my first stick in the other slot to test it(the slot) and it worked fine. My only guess is that this new chip is broken, but sometimes there is something I could do that could save me 2 hours and 5bucks of tranport to get to the store. Could you help me a little, please?

Thanks very much in advance.

System info:
Motherboard Gigabyte H61m-DS2 rev 1.0
CPU i5 2500
Memory sticks Kingston KVR 1333D3N9/4G

Other info: The new stick is bigger(in cm, not bytes) than the one that works.

EDIT> Swapped the ram stick at the store and it works for some mysterious reason. (The guy didn't even test the other stick, so can't say for sure it was defective)
Last edited by rinshun on Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
Krogoth
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5887
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:33 am

Double-check the voltage and speed your memory is rated for and the BIOS is set for it.
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x8GiB of G.Skill DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Seasonic GX-850 and Fractal Define 7 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
rinshun
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:42 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:22 am

1333mhz 1.5V

The bios is in the "auto" config.
 
ronch
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1127
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:56 am

I'd test it on another PC if I could, although it sounds like you got a bad stick and you'd better have it replaced pronto. Just one of the little annoyances of consumer life, and isn't limited to personal computing.
NEC V20 > AMD Am386DX-40 > AMD Am486DX2-66 > Intel Pentium-200 > Cyrix 6x86MX-PR233 > AMD K6-2/450 > AMD Athlon 800 > Intel Pentium 4 2.8C > AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800 > AMD Phenom II X3 720 > AMD FX-8350 > RYZEN?
 
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:02 am

I would agree with confirming the stick functions in another computer if possible first.
What BIOS version is your board running? The more recent BIOS releases don't mention increased memory support, but if worse comes to worse it may be worth a shot.
I've had some bad luck with compatibility using Kingston Value Ram over the years, so I tend to avoid it. Hopefully that isn't the case here...
 
PainIs4ThaWeak1
Gerbil
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:13 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 11, 2014 1:14 pm

I've noticed in the past that "Auto" settings still may not "auto"matically configure the BIOS to utilize a voltage, speed, and/or timing value that is compatible with a given stick(s) of memory. Resulting in a no-boot case.

I'd recommend what was already recommended above. Explicitly set the memory voltage, speed, and timings.
 
My Johnson
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 3:00 pm
Location: Dystopia, AZ

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 11, 2014 1:53 pm

You can fiddle with the settings and pray you get it working, but I think overall it's "incompatible." In this day and age that should be extremely rare. So, sorry to hear of your bad luck.
 
Arvald
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 761
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 11, 2014 3:04 pm

bite the bullet and take it back for an exchange.

Not worth twiddling and fighting to get it to work when the other one runs rock solid.
 
rinshun
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:42 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:09 pm

thanks for all the answers.

I will test it in another PC ASAP. And yes, there are new BIOS versions for my motherboard, but since they didn't mention memory compatibility I didn't bother trying it. Also got afraid of the note saying that there is a potential risk updating the bios
 
rinshun
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:42 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Wed Nov 12, 2014 7:21 pm

Tried this RAM stick in another PC with an MSI motherboard. Fails to boot, gives me 3 beeps. Searched the internet and found that it means bad memory. I'll go to the store to swap it.

One last thing: I heard someone say something about kingston DDR3 being incompatible with intel CPU. But this stick has the same name of my first one that works. (KVR1333D3N9/4G). But it is bigger, i dont know why...
 
just brew it!
Administrator
Posts: 53994
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:29 pm

Maybe you got a mis-labeled (or counterfeit) stick. Or it could be physically larger just because it is an older (or newer?) design of that model. Either way, it sounds like it is defective. Time for an RMA.

The "Kingston doesn't work with Intel" thing is BS; whoever said that is clueless. Yes, Kingston does sell special "Intel Certified" modules as well, but the regular KVR (Value RAM) line should work just fine too.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
rinshun
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:42 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:32 am

Went to the store. The guy got a new stick for me and it is working. This new stick has the same name but it is similar to my first one in physical size. He also asked me if I was running Intel or AMD, but I forgot to ask why would that make any diference.

Thanks for the answers
 
Arvald
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 761
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:25 am

Most people who work in stores have their belief of this from a track record of returns.

While it should not matter some default timings on sticks may "confuse" the board and you cannot always use auto.
This is usually true as new timings come out and boards need updates or just plain don't support the fastest timing on the RAM.
 
rinshun
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:42 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:56 pm

Arvald wrote:
Most people who work in stores have their belief of this from a track record of returns.

While it should not matter some default timings on sticks may "confuse" the board and you cannot always use auto.
This is usually true as new timings come out and boards need updates or just plain don't support the fastest timing on the RAM.

uh... that makes sense. I was looking at the memory information using CPUz, and the timings actually are pretty different.
 
just brew it!
Administrator
Posts: 53994
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: New ram stick making system not boot

Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:56 pm

Sounds like one of the sticks was mislabeled then. Same part number should mean same timings.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
rinshun
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:42 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot[Solved]

Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:06 am

Now you got me thinking... Is "KVR1333D3N9/4G" the full name of this model?
 
Melvar
Gerbil XP
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 11:18 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New ram stick making system not boot[Solved]

Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:54 am

Newegg has pages for both KVR1333D3N9/4G and KVR1333D3N9H/4G. The 'H' model is on a bigger PCB, which matches what you mentioned in the first post. It would be very easy to mix up these part numbers.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820139046
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820139945
 
just brew it!
Administrator
Posts: 53994
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: New ram stick making system not boot[Solved]

Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:22 am

Interesting. According to the spec sheets for those DIMMs (here and here), the "non-H" version differs from the "H" one in only two ways: 1) it uses 0.6W less power; and 2) the "tRFCmin" timing parameter is 50ns less. I can't imagine the power consumption being the issue, so if you really had the two different variants, I guess your motherboard just doesn't like the higher tRFCmin on the stick you returned.

(Side note: The higher power consumption may also explain the larger PCB. They may be relying on the larger PCB surface area to act as a heatsink, to get rid of the extra heat.)
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
rinshun
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:42 am

Re: New ram stick making system not boot[Solved]

Wed Nov 19, 2014 3:38 pm

The new working stick is also different. It has different timings than my first one. So we will have 3 different models with the same name. That is quite confusing.

And I am quite sure there was no "H" in the name of any sticks I put on my PC.
 
Melvar
Gerbil XP
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 11:18 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New ram stick making system not boot[Solved]

Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:57 pm

This wouldn't be the only time Kingston changed the chips they use for a product without changing the model number.
 
The Egg
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2938
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: New ram stick making system not boot[Solved]

Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:12 pm

rinshun wrote:
The new working stick is also different. It has different timings than my first one. So we will have 3 different models with the same name. That is quite confusing.

And I am quite sure there was no "H" in the name of any sticks I put on my PC.

After the V300 SSD fiasco, this doesn't surprise me at all. I'll never buy another Kingston product again.
 
Arvald
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 761
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: New ram stick making system not boot[Solved]

Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:31 pm

rinshun wrote:
The new working stick is also different. It has different timings than my first one. So we will have 3 different models with the same name. That is quite confusing.

And I am quite sure there was no "H" in the name of any sticks I put on my PC.

Welcome to Kingston

they are a huge mass producer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
GZIP: On