Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Dposcorp, SpotTheCat

DPete27
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Topic Author

Looking for Photography Tutorials

Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:23 am

I'm no professional photographer, but I feel comfortable with many/most of my camera's manual settings. Being a beginner with no special training and severely limited free time due to a 6-month old, I admittedly am lacking in photo "ideas" and I thought it might be helpful to have some sort of reference that I could use to stage various shots what settings might be needed. I imagine myself setting out to master a given shot/effect each week (or as my free time allows). I know I've seen books about this sort of thing, but we're in the internet era. Surely this stuff can be found online for free right? I'm having trouble finding what I'm describing here. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod

superjawes
Minister of Gerbil Affairs

Re: Looking for Photography Tutorials

Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:04 am

I looked into this a bit when I was considering a DSLR. I haven't read everything on this article (first hit when Googling "photography beginners guide"), but there are plenty of infographics for easy references.

Youtube also seems to have several videos and/or channels on the subject. You might have to wade through a few to find a good creator, but that might be a better starting point if you prefer video tutorials.
On second thought, let's not go to TechReport. It's infested by crypto bull****.

Mr Bill
Gerbil Jedi

Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:30 pm

Found KenRockwell.com by accident back when I bought my Nikon and was looking for lens recommendations. A lot of his article are worth reading.