Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Dposcorp, SpotTheCat

 
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:48 am

I just got a dual link dvi driven qnix 27" 2560x1440 monitor on sale for my work computer. The mobo does not have a dual link port as I'm using integrated ivy bridge. Can I drive this display with an hdmi adapter? The mobo ports a VGA, hdmi, and dvi.

I'll post more system info in a little bit, typing on ipad please forgive the grammar.

EDIT: I have a display port! Can I do something with that???
Last edited by kamikaziechameleon on Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
Bauxite
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:10 pm
Location: electrolytic redox smelting plant

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:04 am

Not at full resolution.

Later versions of hdmi can support it, but all cheap converters are "dumb". You can find low profile fanless 6450s with a DL dvi and displayport for ~$20 on ebay sometimes if you just want 2D support.
E5 1680v2 4.5Ghz - "Yes Virginia, they are unlocked"
E5 2696v4 Because Reasons™
 
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:37 am

I looked at the cost of adapters and got this instead:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/ ... ition=used

Its passive and silent. Plus it does give me a slight boost in performance.
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 22640
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:49 am

I'd say you made the right choice. Active adapters cost nearly as much as a Radeon 7750. That's more than a slight boost in performance for games, though the most tangible benefit for a non-games application is that you'll not be using system memory for video anymore. Might give you a 2-3 fps boost in Excel. :p
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
 
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:20 pm

derFunkenstein wrote:
I'd say you made the right choice. Active adapters cost nearly as much as a Radeon 7750. That's more than a slight boost in performance for games, though the most tangible benefit for a non-games application is that you'll not be using system memory for video anymore. Might give you a 2-3 fps boost in Excel. :p


Ha, got a laugh out of the FPS in excell
 
Captain Ned
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 24405
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:22 pm

kamikaziechameleon wrote:
Ha, got a laugh out of the FPS in excell

Don't laugh. There was a time when screen updates in Lotus/Excel were very troublesome.
Never ask a woman who is eating ice cream straight from the carton how she's doing.
 
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1073
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Mon Jul 08, 2013 5:07 pm

Captain Ned wrote:
kamikaziechameleon wrote:
Ha, got a laugh out of the FPS in excell

Don't laugh. There was a time when screen updates in Lotus/Excel were very troublesome.


Yeah, but then you got your Matrox Millennium PCI with 4 MB and the 4 MB upgrade of that wonderful dual-ported WRAM and even pimped it out with a Rainbow Runner for TV capabilities and you never looked back!
 
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5755
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Mon Jul 08, 2013 5:41 pm

Scrotos wrote:
Captain Ned wrote:
kamikaziechameleon wrote:
Ha, got a laugh out of the FPS in excell

Don't laugh. There was a time when screen updates in Lotus/Excel were very troublesome.


Yeah, but then you got your Matrox Millennium PCI with 4 MB and the 4 MB upgrade of that wonderful dual-ported WRAM and even pimped it out with a Rainbow Runner for TV capabilities and you never looked back!


I always got such a laugh when I saw video cards as being advertised as improving desktop performance. It always seemed so silly, though I know/knew there was some truth to it.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L |70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|50/1.4 USM|50/2.5 CM|50/1.8 STM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8|24/2.8 IS|Sigma 150-600 | C
Canon EOS-M|11-22 IS|22/2|EF-M 18-55
 
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:31 am

Darn Straight, Vista was king of the desktop GPU bump.
 
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:47 pm

I'm now building a new computer for my boss at work and wondering if there is a mobo out there that has a dual link DVI. The build will be a socket 1150 mobo. I can't find any that fit that requirement. Is looking a lost cause?
 
kumori
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:11 am

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Fri Sep 20, 2013 5:24 am

Some boards advertise "dual link DVI" but all of these "dual link DVI ports" only support resolutions up to 1920x1080.

If display port or HDMI is an option many boards support these connections at 2560x1440.
 
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:16 am

kumori wrote:
Some boards advertise "dual link DVI" but all of these "dual link DVI ports" only support resolutions up to 1920x1080.

If display port or HDMI is an option many boards support these connections at 2560x1440.


HDMI is a strange standard because they keep updating it and its bandwidth but the HDMI 1.0 through 1.4 all look the same but drive totally different bandwidth. Only the most current standards that are 3D capable support Higher density displays. The gen before 3D is still the most prevalent cable type out there and so its a dubious proposition as to weather you have the right cable, card, and monitor to drive that resolution. Again the ports on these Korean monitors don't always have the necessary bandwidth anyways. I did find a new QNIX monitor for 30 more dollars has DP connection on the back. I'm using that for my bosses new computer.
 
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5755
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:09 pm

The HDMI cables haven't changed- yet. An HDMI cable is still and HDMI cable. The standards that govern the signals have, sure, but they're still within the same TDMS scope that DVI works under; and only now are they being upgraded to the point that they can support resolutions that DVI has supported all along.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L |70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|50/1.4 USM|50/2.5 CM|50/1.8 STM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8|24/2.8 IS|Sigma 150-600 | C
Canon EOS-M|11-22 IS|22/2|EF-M 18-55
 
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Qnix monitor and dual link dvi

Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:52 pm

Airmantharp wrote:
The HDMI cables haven't changed- yet. An HDMI cable is still and HDMI cable. The standards that govern the signals have, sure, but they're still within the same TDMS scope that DVI works under; and only now are they being upgraded to the point that they can support resolutions that DVI has supported all along.


Oh,ok :D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests