Personal computing discussed

Moderator: Starfalcon

 
officetally
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:05 pm

Overclocking the AMD x3 450

Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:46 pm

Let me know if any of you guys know of a good resource on this, I can't seem to find one. And I'm using an Asus mobo, that seems to have an effect on the whole thing.
 
pikaporeon
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada.
Contact:

Re: Overclocking the AMD x3 450

Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:16 pm

Well what have you got done so far?

Realsitically just start raising the HT clock and let 'er rip.
Hey girl you want a bad boy? I overclock my backup servers.
i5-6600K@4.2ghz | R9 380X | 16 GB RAM | BX100 500 GB
Sempron 2650@1.45GHZ | 2 GB RAM | 6 TB | FreeBSD 10
 
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Posts: 9348
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Overclocking the AMD x3 450

Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:35 pm

 
irvinenomore
Gerbil
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:52 am
Location: A Marriott somewhere

Re: Overclocking the AMD x3 450

Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:36 pm

 
officetally
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:05 pm

Re: Overclocking the AMD x3 450

Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:26 pm

pikaporeon wrote:
Well what have you got done so far?

Realsitically just start raising the HT clock and let 'er rip.

I haven't done anything so far. I don't really want to mess it up without knowing what I'm doing haha.
Since this isn't a black edition chip I can't change the multiplier, (right?) so basically all I have to do is change the bus speed?
 
officetally
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:05 pm

Re: Overclocking the AMD x3 450

Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:38 pm

Anything?
 
zzz
Gerbil
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Overclocking the AMD x3 450

Fri Oct 21, 2011 12:42 am

Dude, start playing around, you can't really hurt it unless you mess with the voltages. If you're hoping to find a way to simply jump to the highest clock-speed, you're not going to find it. Every chip has a different limit, no matter how many links are posted, you're still going to have to OC by some miniscule amount at a time then testing it, that's how overclocking works.

EDIT: If that wasn't confirmation then yeah, you're modifying the bus speed. As you read more about this, you can tweak the ram settings to get a higher overclock, but you can read and read and read, but there's a point where you have to dive in and from experience add to your learning on how to tweak further.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests