EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
EVGA Supernova G2 750w
Acer XG270HU
HD 280pro

just brew it!
Administrator

Re: Samsung 15TB SSD now avaiable

Sat Jul 30, 2016 9:56 am

As the article notes, it started shipping in limited quantities (at an undisclosed price) to select customers a few months ago. I remember seeing the announcement (and tend to follow this sort of stuff a bit more closely these days since I now work in the storage industry).

The price tag is about what I expected.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

whm1974
Emperor Gerbilius I

Sat Jul 30, 2016 9:58 am

Call me when there are 2, 3, and 4 TB SSDs widely available at reasonable prices.

spiritwalker2222
Gerbil XP

Sat Jul 30, 2016 2:20 pm

whm1974 wrote:
Call me when there are 2, 3, and 4 TB SSDs widely available at reasonable prices.

Define reasonable. It's already here for some people.
Desktop: Skylake 6600K, GTX 660, Samsung 950 Pro, GA-Z170M-D3H
Garage mini PC: Kabylake 7100, X25-M g2, ASUS B250I, Antec ISK 110

the
Gerbil Elite

Sat Jul 30, 2016 9:11 pm

Actually for enterprise storage, 15.36 TB at $10k USD per drive is actually a good price. Consumer drives are roughly a third in terms of price per GB. This drive also features the enterprise focused SAS interface at 12 GBit/s so it is also noticeably faster than consumer drives. Only those using M.2 with 4x PCIe 3.0 lanes can rival it (though at a fraction of its capacity).

This drive also does something I was not expecting for another year or two: exceed the capacity of hard drives. Largest shipping to my knowledge is 10 TB. I wasn't expecting this transition to occur until next year after further advancements in flash production but Samsung did it by simply packing in lots of dies into packages and lots of packages on to PCBs.

I suspect that Samsung will be able to sell as many of these units as there is clear demand for drives like these in the enterprise sector.

I do think that the 7 TB model for $6,000 is over priced though.