Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, Steel

Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author
Posts: 2600
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Thu Jan 31, 2002 12:08 pm

I might setup a RAID with a KT7A RAID board I have with two hard drives. I would like to do mirroring and I know that the partitions on both drives need to be the same size. Now when I set that up in the BIOS will the information be lost on both or can I start with one partition with data and the other blank?
Global Moderator
Posts: 2329
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm

Sun Feb 03, 2002 12:46 am

Well, the only RAID I've worked with is the high end Compaq SCSI raid cards but IDE RAID should work the same way. After you set up the mirror with the utility that came with your motherboard it should look like a single drive to whatever you use to partition it. You shouldn't have to worry about keeping partition sizes the same, it will be done for you.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests