Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, Steel

 
OutlawTornNMT
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 5:30 pm

Pioneer DVD-115

Sat Feb 22, 2003 5:37 am

Ok so since I've put together this new computer, my dvd drive detects, but will not play dvd's....

it says

(in Interactual) - "Playback failed due to a problem with the video subsystem.Lowering your screen resolution or color depth may fix the problem

(in Media Player) - "Windows Media Player cannot play this DVD because a compatible DVD decoder is not installed on your computer.

Mind you the only thing new in this computer, is the cpu, memory, and motherboard. I performed a fresh install when i put it all together, and I have run dvd's using this video card before.

I have a p4 2.53, corsair xms3200 256mb, maxtor 80gb udma 133 8mb, soyo p4x400 mobo, gf4 ti4200 128, a tdk 8x4x32 cdrw, and a pioneer dvd-115

the cdrw is the secondary master, and dvd is secondary slave.. same as in my old system..

any thoughts why the dvd has just now magically stopped working?

thanks
 
mrfixitx100
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 4:15 am
Location: Canada

Sat Feb 22, 2003 5:52 am

because a compatible DVD decoder is not installed on your computer.


Install a video decoder............may I suggest Power DVD
 
b3n113
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2518
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 3:00 am

Sat Feb 22, 2003 6:32 am

or better yet - win dvd? :)
 
OutlawTornNMT
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 5:30 pm

Sat Feb 22, 2003 2:50 pm

unless i'm retarded, doesn't my video card have hardware decoding?
 
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2600
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Sat Feb 22, 2003 3:21 pm

I've never heard of the Geforce cards having any kind of DVD decoding capabilities.
 
mattsteg
Gerbil God
Posts: 15781
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Applauding the new/old variable width forums
Contact:

Sat Feb 22, 2003 4:06 pm

OutlawTornNMT wrote:
unless i'm retarded, doesn't my video card have hardware decoding?

Regardless of whether it does of not you still need to install a player. I second the suggestion of PowerDVD. Your video card likely came with some sort of DVD playing software, and your DVD drive probably did as well, unless you purchased OEM versions of both.
...
 
OutlawTornNMT
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 5:30 pm

Sat Feb 22, 2003 7:44 pm

i guess i was retarded or something, i just assumed that it had hardware dvd decoding. my older ati card always did, granted it was an AiW. so anyway. i just randomly installed the NVDVD 2.0 and now not only can that program play my dvd's, but every single dvd software i have plays them now.. including the ones where i got the errors early..

go figure
 
b3n113
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2518
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 3:00 am

Sat Feb 22, 2003 8:07 pm

Your graphics card might have a hardware decoder that assists the processor in the task of decoding the dvd/MPEG2 video - however that's not where it starts that's just the back end of the process so to speak. You still need a program that starts this all and controls it. Your ati card could do it because it came with a program that plays the dvds, not all nvidia cards come with the software to play dvds - it's up to the OEM to provide that.
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 16887
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Sat Feb 22, 2003 8:57 pm

Just buy PowerDVD as Mr. FixIt suggested. It can be purched for under $10 and does a great job. I cannot count how many times I have spent a lot more money on software that didn't work half as well as PowerDVD does.
 
SpotTheCat
Gerbilus Supremus
Posts: 12261
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 12:47 am
Location: a regular hole

Sun Feb 23, 2003 1:17 am

aren't there just codecs that can be downloaded free and used with WMP? that's what I do.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 3 guests