Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:24 pm

I was able to get the 16 core Threadripper overclocked to 3.9 Ghz at less then 1.3volts!
Upping the voltage scares me... this thing has to last many years.
Not pushing for 4Ghz-(the "normal" MAX possible,) 4.1 is luck and needs 1.4+ volts....nope.

If you can believe any of the software programs...
W10 says my cpu is running at *4.45 Ghz* which is not possible for any Threadripper.
At least the 64 Gigs of ram works at 3333...XMP profile setting. Yahoo!

Heh, I know the Ryzen Master program (3.9Ghz) is closer to the true speed
then the W10 4.45Ghz because the temp is in the 70+C range on a CPUz
stress test with my Noctua Air cooler. (with a silicone PAD).

I'm a bit iffy on this temperature offset thing. Some Ryzens have it some do not.
If it was actually 20 or so degrees hotter (in the 90+C range) I would expect throttling.

W10 did not go this far over the top till I overclocked in the bios @3.9Ghz.
Overclocking with Ryzen Master @3.9Ghz...W10 listed 3.99Ghz.

Thanks,
jmc2
 
techguy
Gerbil XP
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:12 am

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:29 pm

 
synthtel2
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:30 am

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:53 pm

I don't know anything about the clock reporting or remember which (if any) Threadrippers have the thermal offset, but the thermal offset (where it exists) goes the other direction. If it has it, ~75C reported translates to ~55C actual.

Given the OC, 75C seems likely to be the legitimate number. You could probably figure that out without looking anything up by looking at idle temperatures (<=20C over ambient = no offset, >=30C over ambient = offset).
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:24 pm

Thanks for the info!

Video link was interesting but my pc has sleep set to off.
I also booted it up, tested it immediately and W10 still said 4.45 Ghz.

Did monitor the idle temp and it was around 9 C above ambient.
So that is good.

Still learning how to OC this AND get everything stable.
The bios can sure change on me. Bios said ram voltage was 1.38
so I set it to 1.35v and that seemed to work for a while.
Then noticed ram speed was not 3333.
Bios had one of the channels set to a much lower voltage and the speed dropped.
Well, a work in progress.

Oh, does a 64 second boot to W10 desktop sound normal.
I was hoping it would boot much faster then my old 6 core X79 2012 system.

Thanks again,
jmc2
 
Bauxite
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 768
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:10 pm
Location: electrolytic redox smelting plant

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:53 pm

jmc2 wrote:
Thanks for the info!

Video link was interesting but my pc has sleep set to off.
I also booted it up, tested it immediately and W10 still said 4.45 Ghz.

Did monitor the idle temp and it was around 9 C above ambient.
So that is good.

Still learning how to OC this AND get everything stable.
The bios can sure change on me. Bios said ram voltage was 1.38
so I set it to 1.35v and that seemed to work for a while.
Then noticed ram speed was not 3333.
Bios had one of the channels set to a much lower voltage and the speed dropped.
Well, a work in progress.

Oh, does a 64 second boot to W10 desktop sound normal.
I was hoping it would boot much faster then my old 6 core X79 2012 system.

Thanks again,
jmc2


Boot time is mostly about uefi settings and devices. Although if memory training kicking in every time (acts like a double boot depending on motherboard) that is a sign your ram speeds are not really stable. For ryzen anything but b-die memory is a total crapshoot at higher speeds. Most thermal sensor programs (including many of the ones in the bios lol) get the TR offsets wrong, 90C would have tripped the protection already.

I haven't clocked it, but I boot some OS from an optane drive on one of my TR boards and it is pretty quick.
2018: at 120 Zen cores and counting, so pretty much done with intel on the desktop.
E5 2696v4 22c44t 2.2~3.7Ghz - The last great gleam of the pre-nerf HEDT era.
E5 1680v2 8c16t 4.5Ghz - "Yes Virginia, there were unlocked xeons" /weep for them.
 
synthtel2
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:30 am

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:10 pm

Pretty sure the memory training runs on every boot regardless of settings, it just takes a lot longer when the memory is on the edge.

Assuming Windows' boot isn't taking too much of that 64 seconds, it doesn't sound very happy at all with whatever you've got dialled in. What's the memory kit you're using? Non-B-die is usually fine to at least 2933 now (if the kit is rated for it in the first place), but 3333 is probably a stretch if it isn't B-die.
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:20 pm

My memory was the fastest "approved" 64Gig set of ram listed by Gigabyte
for the "GIGABYTE X399 Designare EX" motherboard.

CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3333
(PC4 26600) Desktop Memory Model CMK64GX4M4B3333C16
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... 6820233965

Lots of testing and probable down clocking to do!
My video encoding program VideoRedo had no problem till I started messing about.
May reset everything to stock to try to figure out the tipping point for VRD.

How to Kill Your CPU with "Safe" Voltages -Gamers Nexus
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQB7ELwBbVI

Now this video was worrisome. The other two motherboard brands would over report
the voltage in software... BUT Gigabyte would UNDER report the voltage by
almost .1 volts in software. I think I'm running 1.28 volts and I might actually be doing 1.38v.
AMD states that over 1.35 volts the cpu lifespan is being reduced.
With my 8 core 1700 Ryzen fine. My 16 core threadripper...no.

Think I'll do some resetting and hope to get VRD to start working again with
"slices per frame" set. (This is a dual boot W7/W10 setup)
It never worked in W7/64 (with that setting checked) but "did" with W10/1709.

Lots to learn.

Thanks,
jmc2
 
End User
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2812
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Upper Canada

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:17 am

jmc2 wrote:
Oh, does a 64 second boot to W10 desktop sound normal.

27 seconds from cold boot to desktop. 1950X on a X399 AORUS Gaming 7 @ stock clocks.
"Straight roads are for fast cars, turns are for fast drivers" - Colin McRae

"If you drive an auto or a dual-clutch you should hang your head in shame." - EU
 
jmc2
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:30 am

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Wed Mar 07, 2018 1:55 pm

End User wrote:
jmc2 wrote:
Oh, does a 64 second boot to W10 desktop sound normal.

27 seconds from cold boot to desktop. 1950X on a X399 AORUS Gaming 7 @ stock clocks.


Thank you for that info...
Both my 2017 1950X (W10/1709) and my 6 year old 6core X79(W7/64)
take just about 64 seconds to the desktop.
Now to try to figure out why... Everything is going to be reset back to default.
 
End User
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2812
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Upper Canada

Re: W10/64 cpu speed WAY off. (Threadripper)

Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:26 pm

jmc2 wrote:
End User wrote:
jmc2 wrote:
Oh, does a 64 second boot to W10 desktop sound normal.

27 seconds from cold boot to desktop. 1950X on a X399 AORUS Gaming 7 @ stock clocks.


Thank you for that info...
Both my 2017 1950X (W10/1709) and my 6 year old 6core X79(W7/64)
take just about 64 seconds to the desktop.
Now to try to figure out why... Everything is going to be reset back to default.

I am using a 960 Pro M.2 as the boot drive.
"Straight roads are for fast cars, turns are for fast drivers" - Colin McRae

"If you drive an auto or a dual-clutch you should hang your head in shame." - EU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest