Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

 
southrncomfortjm
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:30 am

I'm thinking I'll need to upgrade my old workhorse i5-3750K in the next year or so. Of course, that will require replacing the Mobo and RAM too.

I'm running Windows 10 from an upgraded Windows 7 install. Will changing out the CPU/Motherboard mess with my Windows license?

Just trying to figure out if I have to factor in an extra $100 for a Windows license into my upgrade budget.

Thanks!
 
The Egg
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2403
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:45 am

Well......going into detail might be a somewhat grey-area topic, but you can always give MS tech support a call. They're usually exceptionally generous with the licenses if you say the right things (though some might consider doing this in very poor taste).
 
tahir2
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:47 am

Yes and no.
It will mess your Windows install up asking you to re-activate it.
However calling up MS they will be able to bypass this and activate Windows for you at no extra charge.

This exact thing happened to a customer of mine and MS resolved the issue for them without any additional outlay.
 
G8torbyte
Gold subscriber
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 2:09 pm
Location: NJ, near Philly
Contact:

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:49 am

You should be able to register your current Win10 setup under your microsoft account if you have one. Then after you change out the hardware Win10 will ask to reactivate. Log into your MS account again and you can select the OS you registered earlier and verify you did a hardware change. In my case I had 3 older Win7 PCs and carried those activations over to Win10 under my MS account after CPU/moberboard changes. First upgraded Win7 to Win10, then registered under the MS account, then did the hardware changes afterwards.
Last edited by G8torbyte on Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Later, -G8tor
Building PCs and gaming since"Chuck Yeager's Air Combat" 1991
Current setups: X99 Command/Control Station and DIY mini-ITX NAS Build
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3616
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:50 am

What's the right words?
"I had to replace the motherboard in my computer." (?)
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
southrncomfortjm
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:58 am

Thanks everyone.

It's an interesting, if philosophical, point right? At what point is it a new computer such that MS would be justified in saying I need to get a new license? If I replace the CPU/Mobo/RAM, the only thing left of the original computer that the original Windows 7 was installed on will be the OS SSD (a very old 256gb Samsung), CPU cooler, PSU, case, and optical drive. Still the same "computer" I use, but most of the guts are different.
 
The Egg
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2403
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:06 am

DPete27 wrote:
What's the right words?
"I had to replace the motherboard in my computer." (?)

Pretty much. They don't deactivate the old license though, and since he's building a new system, he should technically be buying a new one. Are you really breaking any rules if they just give it to you without any verification? I don't know; hence the grey-area.
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3616
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:36 am

southrncomfortjm wrote:
At what point is it a new computer such that MS would be justified in saying I need to get a new license?

I seem to remember that there's actually a checklist of changes that MS uses to qualify a "new" computer. I'm sure someone can dig it up with some google-fu.
Something like; after 4 changes, it's "new". That could even mean 4 OS drive swaps though.

*maybe that was just a rumor and I'm totally off-base. I dunno.

TBH, first thing I'd do is just try entering your Win7 license when you install Win10 on the new machine. That's a pretty easy and harmless experiment.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
demolition
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:27 am

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:03 pm

I just went through the same ordeal and was able to get Windows re-activated with my new MB and CPU.

It's more complicated with my MS Office license though. It won't reactivate through online activation since I apparently reached my activation limit and then it writes that I can talk to a representative, however when I select my country (or any other country for that matter), it says that they no longer support my Office version so it won't list a phone number for me to dial. Lucky me.. Yes, Office 2010 isn't new but it is/was a perfectly workable version for me and there is absolutely nothing that I need from a newer version (quite the contrary I would say). I most certainly do not need a subscription which is probably what they would like me to get.
 
Anovoca
Silver subscriber
Gerbil XP
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:03 pm
Location: Wi

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:35 pm

Emphasis on the point that MS "may" bypass the activation for you. I know someone personally that spent 4 hours playing phone tag with MS trying to get this exact issue resolved after a mobo went belly up on him and needed to be replaced. In theory they could have resolved the issue for him, but it is entirely at the person at the other end of the phones discretion to do so and if you get the wrong person in the wrong state or mood you could be in for a long day.
Dying doesn't make this world dead to us
Breathing doesn't keep the flame alive in us
Dreaming doesn't make time less real for us
One life, one chance, all ephemeral
 
The Egg
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2403
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:47 pm

southrncomfortjm wrote:
It's an interesting, if philosophical, point right? At what point is it a new computer such that MS would be justified in saying I need to get a new license?

The license is tied to the motherboard. I've also heard/read about "such and such number of changes", but never actually managed to trigger deactivation short of a motherboard swap.

My guess is that much of Microsoft's generosity stems from the fact that they either don't have the capability of de-coupling the license from the board once activated, or it's not worth their time trying to do-so (I could also see it being difficult-to-impossible for the user to gather the required info after a crash). Since they can't reasonably expect the customer to purchase an additional license after a defective motherboard (let's say it happened within 30 days for example), they're in a poor spot.
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2548
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:53 pm

"My old motherboard died so I had to get a new one. The old configuration is no longer working, only one copy of this license will be in use."

Those have always worked for me through many, many upgrades.
Desktop: Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon | 6700K @ 4.4 | 16 GB | GTX Titan Xm | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 2048 + 240 + LSI 9207-8i (128x8) SSD
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS
 
deruberhanyok
Gerbil XP
Posts: 495
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 9:30 am

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 2:09 pm

southrncomfortjm wrote:
It's an interesting, if philosophical, point right? At what point is it a new computer such that MS would be justified in saying I need to get a new license? If I replace the CPU/Mobo/RAM, the only thing left of the original computer that the original Windows 7 was installed on will be the OS SSD (a very old 256gb Samsung), CPU cooler, PSU, case, and optical drive. Still the same "computer" I use, but most of the guts are different.


Mmm yes, the gaming rig of Theseus. A question to ponder for all time. If I'm still using the same case but everything else has been replaced, it's still my PC, but is it still the same thing? Is the soul of the system different? Hmmmmm!

Seriously though, my understanding of it is that retail licenses can be transferred but OEM licenses cannot. Anything beyond that depends on whether or not Microsoft customer service is feeling nice when you call in.
<3 TR
 
Waco
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2548
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Mon Jun 04, 2018 3:35 pm

deruberhanyok wrote:
Seriously though, my understanding of it is that retail licenses can be transferred but OEM licenses cannot. Anything beyond that depends on whether or not Microsoft customer service is feeling nice when you call in.

Microsoft doesn't care if it's OEM or retail if you're replacing components and continuing to use the "same system". If the old system is never going to run again, they don't care about transferring the license. I've been on the same OEM license on my desktop since it was a Core 2 Quad.
Desktop: Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon | 6700K @ 4.4 | 16 GB | GTX Titan Xm | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 | Samsung 4K 40" | 2048 + 240 + LSI 9207-8i (128x8) SSD
NAS: 1950X | Designare EX | 32 GB ECC | 7x8 TB RAIDZ2 | 8x2 TB RAID10 | FreeNAS | ZFS | LSI SAS
 
ludi
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8105
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 10:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:49 am

Waco wrote:
Microsoft doesn't care if it's OEM or retail if you're replacing components and continuing to use the "same system". If the old system is never going to run again, they don't care about transferring the license. I've been on the same OEM license on my desktop since it was a Core 2 Quad.

I wouldn't say they don't care, only that they're more likely to enforce it if you sound like a commercial entity that ought to licensed under the Microsoft Authorized Refurbisher program instead. But yeah, in the worst-case scenario you just need to call the phone number that is provided when the activation failure occurs, explain that you replaced an old or dead component and activation failed afterward, and now you're trying to get your PC working again. And don't try to be smarter than the phone rep, just answer their questions plainly if they're the script-reader type, or let them talk you through it if they're the techie type.
Abacus Model 2.5 | Quad-Row FX with 256 Cherry Red Slider Beads | Applewood Frame | Water Cooling by Brita Filtration
 
williamcruz
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: What happens if I upgrade?

Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:46 am

I have upgraded the latest version of Windows 10. I have recently installed Ms Office 365. After few days i have noticed that a flickering screen appears when i am using the Office 365, or Office 2016 build 16.0.7668.2066. It also shows the flashing after logging in. Then I visit Office 365 Support and updated the newest version of the Office.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest