Page 1 of 1

Inaccessible Boot Device W7 to W10 install ?..(the clone works)

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:21 pm
by jmc2
The odd thing is that I cloned the SSD that has worked for years as a test, a Samsung 840 Pro 256Gig.
And the clone 1TB 850 EVO booted and works. So I tried twice on the original SSD and nope won't boot except when the W10 install resets back to W7.
The old C drive was the same cloned size on both SSDs.

So looks like I've got a permanent W7 boot SSD now. Small loss, I'll just use the clone.

Oh,... a 3930 6 core cpu from 2012. X79 Asus Sabertooth MB.

Re: Inaccessible Boot Device W7 to W10 install ?..(the clone works)

Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 1:24 am
by Igor_Kavinski
jmc2 wrote:
So looks like I've got a permanent W7 boot SSD now. Small loss, I'll just use the clone.


Try cloning the Samsung 840 Pro after secure erasing it.

Re: Inaccessible Boot Device W7 to W10 install ?..(the clone works)

Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 11:16 am
by jmc2
Igor_Kavinski wrote:
jmc2 wrote:
So looks like I've got a permanent W7 boot SSD now. Small loss, I'll just use the clone.

Try cloning the Samsung 840 Pro after secure erasing it.


Hmm, had not even thought of that. Thanks.