Page 1 of 1

So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 10:55 pm
by whm1974
Due to wanting to mess around with DAZ3D which I used to do, I had to reinstall Windows 10 back on the SSD that I had mt Linux Steam Games on...

Granted I haven't really play around with the Program in like a week and a half. so... But this is really going to be Rant here, but...

Plus side: Microsoft to it credit did at least fix some glaring issues like taking forever to install and update so there at that. But now there is the major of one by default of making Users create an Online Account instead of the Standard Local one. I had to go to Settings and make one instead of doing that the Proper Way...

To my way of thinking, any Software Company that uses Methods to attempt to force its users to sign up for Online Services should be checked out for possible antitrust violations. This behavior should be Illegal for Corporations to engage in.

Re: So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:51 am
by Flying Fox
whm1974 wrote:
Plus side: Microsoft to it credit did at least fix some glaring issues like taking forever to install and update so there at that. But now there is the major of one by default of making Users create an Online Account instead of the Standard Local one. I had to go to Settings and make one instead of doing that the Proper Way...

Should have done some reading. Very easy workaround for people like us which I have just done myself. During first install, unplug the network. And you will be presented to create a local account.

Re: So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 2:05 am
by whm1974
Flying Fox wrote:
whm1974 wrote:
Plus side: Microsoft to it credit did at least fix some glaring issues like taking forever to install and update so there at that. But now there is the major of one by default of making Users create an Online Account instead of the Standard Local one. I had to go to Settings and make one instead of doing that the Proper Way...

Should have done some reading. Very easy workaround for people like us which I have just done myself. During first install, unplug the network. And you will be presented to create a local account.

I should have remembered this issue due encountering this when updating to 8.1...

Re: So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Sat Oct 17, 2020 12:16 pm
by Topinio
whm1974 wrote:
Microsoft to it credit did at least fix some glaring issues like taking forever to install and update so there at that.

Eh, try dealing with underpowered crapboxes like the HP Stream 11, which is a lovely enough cheapo toy on Windows 8.1 ... but if you get one that's been "upgrades" by GWX to Windows 10, it's hell on earth every 6 months when a feature update drops.

Re: So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:17 am
by curtisb
You don't even have to unplug the network. The option is there in the OOBE to create/use a local account instead of using a Microsoft account.

Re: So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:36 pm
by Flying Fox
curtisb wrote:
You don't even have to unplug the network. The option is there in the OOBE to create/use a local account instead of using a Microsoft account.

Not in the latest installs.

https://www.ghacks.net/2019/09/30/repor ... windows-10

Plus unplugging is the easiest to guarantee success instead of accidentally getting duped to enter the account.

Re: So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 6:53 pm
by Waco
I just installed 10 on a tablet and created a local account without jumping through hoops.

The options are always there.

Re: So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:35 pm
by Flying Fox
Waco wrote:
I just installed 10 on a tablet and created a local account without jumping through hoops.

The options are always there.

2004/2009 (or 2010)? Well, for me, it's easy enough to just unplug and not think about it. :D

Re: So I installed Windows 10...

Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 1:46 am
by curtisb
Flying Fox wrote:
curtisb wrote:
You don't even have to unplug the network. The option is there in the OOBE to create/use a local account instead of using a Microsoft account.

Not in the latest installs.


Yes...on the latest installs. On the "Let's add your account" screen select Offline account on the lower left, and then select Limited experience on the next screen. That will let you create a local account during install...even with the network connected. I just created a VM to make sure and used a 2004 ISO from VLSC that was updated within the last month.