Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

 
cegras
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:12 pm

Windows 7 reinstall needed for complete hardware swap?

Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:53 pm

I plan on keeping the SSD and HDD and swapping to a new platform, possibly bulldozer when it is released. Is a reinstall of windows 7 necessary? I read a while ago that on XP it would run some optimization based upon detected hardware.
 
ucisilentbob
Gerbil XP
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 5:58 pm
Location: Garden Grove, California
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 reinstall needed for complete hardware swap?

Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:09 pm

Nope, not required. I swapped a AM2+ AMD Phenom II 940 platform with a Core i5 2500K platform all i needed was a Windows update and two restarts and all was good.s
Bastage:
Ci7 3930K @ 4.56Ghz//16GB//MSI X79A-GD65//Noctua NH-D14 se2011//180GB Intel SSD 520
XFX 5850 1GB @775/1200 //X-Fi Titanium HD//Dell U2410(A01)+2001FP//OCZ ZX 850W
 
StuG
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 11:19 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Windows 7 reinstall needed for complete hardware swap?

Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:49 pm

It should be ok, just make sure that before you make the swap you use Driver Sweeper to clear our all motherboard and graphics drivers. From here, Windows should be able to throw in all types of Microsoft specific drivers to help you during the change. Once the new hardware is installed, you should have no driver conflicts (cause they have all been removed) and good to go on reinstalling all your new drivers. Goodluck!
 
gohan
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: Windows 7 reinstall needed for complete hardware swap?

Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:13 am

I changed my MB couple of months ago and my old win 7 (64 bit) install worked just fine. It did go to recovery mode on my first boot, installed a bunch of new drivers and then rebooted into normal win7

Since this is not a "feature" of win 7 there is no protection against data loss. So make sure to have a complete back up before you try your luck.
 
cegras
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:12 pm

Re: Windows 7 reinstall needed for complete hardware swap?

Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:55 am

Thanks for the replies, I will look into driver sweeper.
 
Ryu Connor
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 4066
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 reinstall needed for complete hardware swap?

Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:53 am

Don't use driver sweeper. Use sysprep.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 22563
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Windows 7 reinstall needed for complete hardware swap?

Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:57 am

Whatever you do, backup your stuff first. Don't just assume all will go according to plan.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
 
cegras
Gerbil First Class
Topic Author
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:12 pm

Re: Windows 7 reinstall needed for complete hardware swap?

Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:25 pm

I noticed that driversweeper does not handle amd/intel chipset related stuff, thanks for the alternative suggestion.

My HDD is my 'media' drive and everything goes on there. All non critical stuff such as OS, productivity software, and other things that can be easily reinstalled are on the SSD.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests