Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

 
djf711
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:08 am

Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:17 pm

I want to remove old HD and replace with a new SSD on a ACER Aspire 5552-5898 Laptop. Acer never gave me a Windows 7 Disc. How do I (Clean) reinstall Windows 7 on this laptop after I swap the HD's? Thank you in advance for any advise!!! : 8)
 
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
Posts: 25121
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:32 pm

You really don't have to reinstall especially the hardware is exactly the same (except the drive). There are cloning tools or migration steps (imagex) that you can use to migrate from HDD to SSD.
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
 
drfish
Gold subscriber
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4967
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 7:53 pm
Location: Zeeland, MI

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:43 pm

If you have a product key you can download an official Win7 ISO direct from MS, burn it to a DVD and install/activate.
 
djf711
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:53 pm

If I Have a OEM Windows 7 Disc can I use it with the activation Key from the Acer Laptop to install windows 7???
 
ludi
Emperor Gerbilius I
Posts: 6436
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 10:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:21 pm

If your Acer is set up similar to my 1810TZ, then the system disk has a couple hidden partitions for recovery files. Doing a clean install on a new disk will lose these. Unless your current OS install is completely hosed, you will be back up and running much faster if you run a disk clone using imaging software.
Abacus Model 2.5 | Quad-Row FX with 256 Cherry Red Slider Beads | Applewood Frame | Water Cooling by Brita Filtration
 
djf711
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:34 pm

I know this sounds stupid so here goes. Can I clone my old HD onto the new SSD ( I have a docking station that fits 2.5) Than just take the old hard Drive out and replace with the SSD that has been cloned?? Boot it up and everything should work?? :oops:
 
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
Posts: 25121
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:48 pm

This is one of many threads that talk about migration. I have meant to write one up using imagex, but I have been procrastinating... :oops:
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
 
ludi
Emperor Gerbilius I
Posts: 6436
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 10:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:16 pm

djf711 wrote:
I know this sounds stupid so here goes. Can I clone my old HD onto the new SSD ( I have a docking station that fits 2.5) Than just take the old hard Drive out and replace with the SSD that has been cloned?? Boot it up and everything should work?? :oops:

Pretty much. Just pay careful attention to which drive is designated "source" (the HDD) and which one is designated "destination" (the SSD) before actually going through with the image transfer.
Abacus Model 2.5 | Quad-Row FX with 256 Cherry Red Slider Beads | Applewood Frame | Water Cooling by Brita Filtration
 
djf711
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:49 am

Thank You for all your help!!! Cloned the SSD and installed today!! Works like a charm!!!! :D David (You all make my life SOOOO much simpler!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)) LOVE the TECH REPORT!!!!
 
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
Posts: 25121
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:18 pm

djf711 wrote:
Thank You for all your help!!! Cloned the SSD and installed today!! Works like a charm!!!! :D David (You all make my life SOOOO much simpler!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)) LOVE the TECH REPORT!!!!

Which tool did you end up using?
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
 
djf711
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:37 pm

Newegg had a sale this week on 120GB Kingston Hyper X Bundle Kit for $99. In the package came SSD, External Enclosure, Sata Cable, Mounting Bracket, Nice Little Pen Screwdriver and Disc with cloning software. (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820239049) The Cloning software is Acronis® True Image HD. Was a very simple process!!! :P David

NOW FOR A ANOTHER ???? I have taken out the old 500gb HD and want to use as an extra external HD. When I plug it into the computer it shows 2 Drives from this HD in MY Computer ex. Drive I: ACER 456GB Free of 456GB, Drive L: System Reserved 86.2MB Free of 99.9MB . I formatted Acer 456GB Now how do I get rid of the System Reserved attached to this drive???? Thank You in advance!!! David
 
mac_h8r1
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2968
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 6:57 pm
Location: Alpha Epsilon Pi for life
Contact:

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:06 pm

In computer management (Right click My Computer> Manage), go to Disk Management. You'll see the drive layout and that drive with the extra partition. Just right click and remove the partition, you should then be able to extend the bigger one to fill the space.
mac_h8r1.postCount++;
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot. Order shall return.
Slivovitz owns you.
 
djf711
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:10 pm

mac_h8r1 wrote:
In computer management (Right click My Computer> Manage), go to Disk Management. You'll see the drive layout and that drive with the extra partition. Just right click and remove the partition, you should then be able to extend the bigger one to fill the space.




Thank You!!!! WORKED!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests