Personal computing discussed

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

 
churin
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: San Jose/California

Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 9:57 am

My problem is with IE 10 on Windows 8.
I am not seeing the usual items of Menu, Favorites Bar, etc. in the context menu which appears when right clicking on the title bar of IE 10. Instead what I am seeing is as follows. Could anyone help?
Image
 
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2951
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:00 am

With focus on that window, hit Alt.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64 - Ubuntu/Mint x64 :: 2015 13" rMBP Sierra :: Canon EOS 80D/Sony RX100
 
churin
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: San Jose/California

Re: Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:54 am

That solved the problem. Thanks for your help.

But my question remains: Why don't I get the context menu as I used to get. The following image is taken from another machine.
Image
 
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2951
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:01 am

Sorry, I can't test 8/8.1. I'm actually at work and only have IE9 on W7 right now. That alt should work for other Windows items too, like Explorer FYI.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64 - Ubuntu/Mint x64 :: 2015 13" rMBP Sierra :: Canon EOS 80D/Sony RX100
 
Diplomacy42
Gerbil
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:56 pm

Re: Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:01 pm

churin wrote:
That solved the problem. Thanks for your help.

But my question remains: Why don't I get the context menu as I used to get. The following image is taken from another machine.


Because windows 8 blows?
 
Ryu Connor
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 4163
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA
Contact:

Re: Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:04 pm

I am on Windows 8.1 with IE11 and I am unable to duplicate your situation.

When I right click on the top window border I get the context screen you imaged.

Is there anything you may have modified?
All of my written content here on TR does not represent or reflect the views of my employer or any reasonable human being. All content and actions are my own.
 
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
Posts: 25362
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:19 pm

Ryu Connor wrote:
I am on Windows 8.1 with IE11 and I am unable to duplicate your situation.

When I right click on the top window border I get the context screen you imaged.

Is there anything you may have modified?

The OP already stated that another computer is fine (assuming the same win8+IE10 combo). I also failed to reproduce this.
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
 
Duct Tape Dude
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 12:37 pm

Re: Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:03 pm

I'm on 8.1 and when IE first loaded, I was able to replicate OP's image. All following attempts resulted in the full menu.

Seems like the standard window menu is supposed to be overridden after it loads. You could try reinstalling Internet Explorer manually via Windows Features perhaps.
 
churin
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: San Jose/California

Re: Unable to turn on menu bar on IE10

Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:26 pm

Duct Tape Dude wrote:
I'm on 8.1 and when IE first loaded, I was able to replicate OP's image. All following attempts resulted in the full menu.

I assume you could replicate my second image whch was taken from my second machine running also W8 + IE10.
Seems like the standard window menu is supposed to be overridden after it loads. You could try reinstalling Internet Explorer manually via Windows Features perhaps.

I did reinstall IE10. The the way it can be done is to turn it off and turn it back on so it was not done as for ordinary apps.
Other things done include 1) manually running Defendor and Malwarebytes, 2) resetting IE10, 3) running CCleaner, 4) Runing IPReset, etc.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests