Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, SecretSquirrel, notfred

flip-mode
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Topic Author

Unix noob adventures

Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:11 am

Unix noob here. Tried it a few times before and said screw it. Now I am in a better position to make a long term effort - I have multiple machines, I have a router, I have high speed internet, and I have an interest in how FreeBSD or Linux could be useful in a network environment.

So, first off: OMG, thank you for PuTTY. I knew that SSH meant secure shell, and that secure shell was somehow a way to logon remotely, and so one or two googles led to PuTTY, and it is *gasp* simple and extremely useful. Gawd it is convenient. Now I don't have to sit in my cold-ass basement to play with FreeBSD. Just grab the laptop, sit on the couch, and fire up PuTTY. Bliss. PuTTY has made exploring the Unix universe much much much less of a chore. No extra keyboard, mouse, and monitor needed after the OS gets installed, just a network connection!

So, does PuTTY support multiple terminals in the same session, or do I have to fire up multiple sessions of PuTTY to use multiple terminals?

Is there a way to shut down the computer through the PuTTY terminal? Usually I just hit the power button on the machine. I don't actually know the Unix command to shut down the computer.

Also, is is proper to refer to generic things as Unix, or is Posix a more accurate term? For example, should I say Unix command or Posix command? Or should I always be system specific and say FreeBSD command or Linux command?
Last edited by flip-mode on Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:43 am, edited 3 times in total.

bitvector
Grand Gerbil Poohbah

Re: Unix noob discovers PuTTY

Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:28 am

flip-mode wrote:
So, does PuTTY support multiple terminals in the same session, or do I have to fire up multiple sessions of PuTTY to use multiple terminals?