Personal computing discussed

Moderators: farmpuma, just brew it!

 
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm
Contact:

The WU that got away.

Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:09 am

Right...
Im on a modem so have to connect to the internet once the WU is done most of the time (unless I can be around to connect before it finishes). I did this today but I dont think it was uploaded (It didn't add 1 to my finished WUs). How do I do this? I think my CPUs hard work is being wasted most of the time! Thanks.
 
Steel
Global Moderator
Posts: 2329
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm

Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:35 am

If using the console version:
Open a command prompt and change to the directory the client is in. Run FAH2Console -send all and it should send any finished work units. The client may have to be shut down to do this, I'm not sure. And I haven't tried the graphical client yet so someone else will have to help you if you're using that one.
 
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm
Contact:

Wed Apr 17, 2002 3:54 pm

Yey, thanks. I ran the graphical version with the same command and it sent it all.
 
Mr Bill
Gold subscriber
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope
Contact:

Wed Apr 17, 2002 8:35 pm

Help! After running 8 hours some work should have been done. It finished 1/50 in about 5 minutes. Popped up the window and it came.... up..... real.....slow..... could'nt seem to even draw itself. Had to kill the process. Work units lost I guess because I downloaded the console version and asked it to send the work...

Loaded queue successfully.
Attempting to return result(s) to server...
- Failed to send all units to server
***** Got a SIGTERM signal (2) from OS

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.

Sigh, try try again.
 
DiMaestro
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 829
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: North Dakota NoMoah!

Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:23 pm

I think the F@H servers are having a bit of a hiccup, I know a few people that are having troubles sending their WU's in.
 
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm
Contact:

Thu Apr 18, 2002 1:07 pm

Have you tried running the graphical command with that command?

'winFAH.exe -send all'
 
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2600
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Thu Apr 18, 2002 1:24 pm

err..... whats a WU? :wink:
 
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm
Contact:

Thu Apr 18, 2002 2:54 pm

Work
Unit
 
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2600
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Thu Apr 18, 2002 4:31 pm

Thanks. I might join the folding team soon too.
 
Ragnar Dan
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5377
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:00 pm

Fri Apr 19, 2002 12:00 am

Well, today I finished a WU that took about 30 hours to complete - ("ProteinA") - and it was sitting around waiting for me to get on the net when I arrived ("attempting to send results" or some such). So I tried that, and after a few failed attempts got on. It kept attempting, and then seemed to have succeeded. It got a new WU, but didn't increment my completed WU count, and as far as I can tell whatever I sent, if anything, disappeared into the ether.

It would be good if they'd publish the source code for this thing so we could get a look at it and, perhaps, improve it.
 
Mr Bill
Gold subscriber
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Colorado Western Slope
Contact:

Fri Apr 19, 2002 1:13 am

My first work unit went into that great bit bucket in the sky. I see y'all have no spaces in your folding@home user names. I've relabeled to Mr_Bill maybe that will work. Does anyone else notice that the graphical version constantly hangs and eventually forces a reboot? I had to switch to the command line version. SETI is better behaved. I'm still splitting my workload. Maybe the aliens will help us with... Err, what was that word? That memory disease?
X6 1100T BE | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | XFX HD 7870 | 16 GB DDR3 | Samsung 830/850 Pro SSD's | Logitech cherry MX-brown G710+ | Logitech G303 Daedalus Apex mouse | SeaSonic SS-660XP 80+ Pt | BenQ 24' 1900x1200 IPS | APC Back-UPS NS-1350 | WinXP64 Pro
 
DiMaestro
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 829
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: North Dakota NoMoah!

Sat Apr 20, 2002 4:41 am

It would be good if they'd publish the source code for this thing so we could get a look at it and, perhaps, improve it.l


One of the main problems with publishing the source code is keeping data integrity of the project. There are some very very competitive people out there who may modify the program to produce the WU's faster, but perhaps destorying data integrity while doing so.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest