Personal computing discussed

Moderators: farmpuma, just brew it!

 
DancinJack
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4106
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:37 pm

wizardz wrote:
just added my bone stock GTX970 to the mix. hopefully that helps a bit :)

It'll help a lot! Depending on the WUs you get, that should net a good 300K+ PPD.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64 - Ubuntu/Mint x64 :: 2015 13" rMBP Sierra :: Canon EOS 80D/Sony RX100
 
Topinio
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1561
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:28 am
Location: London

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:45 pm

DancinJack wrote:
wizardz wrote:
just added my bone stock GTX970 to the mix. hopefully that helps a bit :)

It'll help a lot! Depending on the WUs you get, that should net a good 300K+ PPD.

Which is about 3 times the contributor average over the last 7 days 8)

(19,562,699 P in the last calendar 7 days is an average 2,794,671 PPD for Frankie, but from 25 contributors so a mean of 111,787 PPDPContributor :( )
Desktop: E3-1270 v5, X11SAT-F, 32GB, RX Vega 56, 500GB Crucial P1, 2TB Ultrastar, Xonar DGX, XL2730Z + G2420HDB
HTPC: i5-2500K, DH67GD, 6GB, RX 580, 250GB MX500, 1.5TB Barracuda
Laptop: MacBook6,1
 
general_tux
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:41 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere, MT, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:55 pm

Topinio wrote:
(19,562,699 P in the last calendar 7 days is an average 2,794,671 PPD for Frankie, but from 25 contributors so a mean of 111,787 PPDPContributor :( )
That's the part that always seems so strange to me. Our actual production average seems about 30% low compared to what people have posted as their PPD.
Main: Intel i7-5775C w/ Noctua NH-D14, single fan | Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 7 | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | GSkill DDR3-1866, 32GB | Corsair Pro 750W Gold
HTPC: AMD A10-7850K | ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ | GSkill DDR3-2400, 8GB | Silverstone SFX 450W
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3616
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:41 pm

Topinio wrote:
Which is about 3 times the contributor average over the last 7 days 8)
(19,562,699 P in the last calendar 7 days is an average 2,794,671 PPD for Frankie, but from 25 contributors so a mean of 111,787 PPDPContributor :( )


Considering this tally of folks that have chimed in so far:....
DPete27 wrote:
Tally:
BIF = 700k-800k
MOSFET = 550k
general_tux = 700k
Topinio = 600k
Krogoth = 700k
DPete27 = 600k
DancinJack = 800k ?
PhilipMcc = Not confirmed.


Also, does Client = Slot? If you're folding with your CPU + GPU, do they count that as 2 clients?
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
wizardz
Gerbil
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:36 pm

DancinJack wrote:
wizardz wrote:
just added my bone stock GTX970 to the mix. hopefully that helps a bit :)

It'll help a lot! Depending on the WUs you get, that should net a good 300K+ PPD.


sitting at 292k PPD right now.. CPU/GPU combined.
i'll add a RTX2080 when it gets here..hopefully before the end of the month..
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3616
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:41 pm

This database has your 970 @ 345k PPD and a 2080 at 1.6M PPD.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
wizardz
Gerbil
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:08 pm

DPete27 wrote:
This database has your 970 @ 345k PPD and a 2080 at 1.6M PPD.

yeah i looked at that as well. driver perhaps?

i'm not sure of the actual brand of my gtx970. its an actual "no label" nvidia card temporarily borrowed from one of our industrial vision desktops from Matrox/ViDi as my gtx570 died last week.
i'm trying to upgrade the drive to see if it will make a difference..
 
DancinJack
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4106
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:16 pm

wizardz wrote:
DPete27 wrote:
This database has your 970 @ 345k PPD and a 2080 at 1.6M PPD.

yeah i looked at that as well. driver perhaps?

i'm not sure of the actual brand of my gtx970. its an actual "no label" nvidia card temporarily borrowed from one of our industrial vision desktops from Matrox/ViDi as my gtx570 died last week.
i'm trying to upgrade the drive to see if it will make a difference..

It still shouldn't be a 50K+ deficit. Maybe it's the driver, though that's some serious improvement through drivers. Maybe your clocks are super low for some reason? I dunno.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64 - Ubuntu/Mint x64 :: 2015 13" rMBP Sierra :: Canon EOS 80D/Sony RX100
 
Topinio
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1561
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:28 am
Location: London

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:54 am

My experience: AMD rather than NVIDIA, but FWIW my Vega + Skylake system was pulling 250-300k combined and is now pulling 630k on just the Vega.
Wasn't like that in previous years, so something (OS changes (Spectre &c?), F@H 7.5) is off there.

wizardz, did you try pausing the CPU slot and running on just the GPU slot for a few WU's and see it it picks up?
Desktop: E3-1270 v5, X11SAT-F, 32GB, RX Vega 56, 500GB Crucial P1, 2TB Ultrastar, Xonar DGX, XL2730Z + G2420HDB
HTPC: i5-2500K, DH67GD, 6GB, RX 580, 250GB MX500, 1.5TB Barracuda
Laptop: MacBook6,1
 
DancinJack
Maximum Gerbil
Posts: 4106
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:44 am

Oh yeah, PPD for GPUs definitely went way way way way up in recent years, but it's been that way for a while. CPUs just aren't viable alone and haven't been for some time. Unless you have a TR or Core X with tons of cores I don't even think it's worth power and heat unless you wanna stress stuff for some reason. /shrug

Try the driver, try the CPU pause. FAH has always been finicky.
i7 6700K - Z170 - 16GiB DDR4 - GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - 256GB SSD - 500GB SSD - 3TB HDD- 27" IPS G-sync - Win10 Pro x64 - Ubuntu/Mint x64 :: 2015 13" rMBP Sierra :: Canon EOS 80D/Sony RX100
 
Topinio
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1561
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:28 am
Location: London

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:55 am

True, CPU's have been worth little for ages, but I think there are 2 new things: CPUs have dropped hugely since last year (my FX-8730 by IIRC 2/3 down to 10k) and much worse possibly have become a hinderance to the GPU PPD i.e. a net loss to have both running when last year it was a net win.

Also, Frankie now has an RX 580 bolted on 8)
Desktop: E3-1270 v5, X11SAT-F, 32GB, RX Vega 56, 500GB Crucial P1, 2TB Ultrastar, Xonar DGX, XL2730Z + G2420HDB
HTPC: i5-2500K, DH67GD, 6GB, RX 580, 250GB MX500, 1.5TB Barracuda
Laptop: MacBook6,1
 
Krogoth
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5514
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:25 am

Strange, I never had any issues with the F@H client on my main rig. It just chugs along without any issues and the logs files confirm it. CPU folding is highly depended on the type of CPU and WUs you are throwing at it. I believe that Intel units are better at in general because of their superior FPU performance. The gap has shrunken with the Ryzens though.
Ivy Bridge i5-3570K@4.0Ghz, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, 2x4GiB of PC3-12800, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-600 and Fractal Refined R4 (W). Kentsfield Q6600@3Ghz, HD 4850 2x2GiB PC2-6400, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, OCZ Modstream 700W, and PC-7B.
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3616
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:44 am

Since F@H requires 1 CPU core/thread per GPU, could they have changed something in the latest update where the CPU folding unit isn't leaving enough CPU open for the GPU slot? Or since you still get 1/2 your potential GPU PPD, perhaps the CPU slot isn't freeing up a core to do the minimal processing required to keep the GPU fed 100% of the time, so there's idle time on the GPU?

It's absolutely not worth the power consumption or wear-and-tear to have your CPU folding when GPUs can do >10x the PPD using the same power a CPU does.

Also, check on the F@H Advanced Control window that your folding power is set to "Full"
Last edited by DPete27 on Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
Krogoth
Gold subscriber
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5514
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:47 am

DPete27 wrote:
Since F@H requires 1 CPU core/thread per GPU, could they have changed something in the latest update where the CPU folding unit isn't leaving enough CPU open for the GPU slot? Or since you still get 1/2 your potential GPU PPD, perhaps the CPU slot isn't freeing up a core to do the minimal processing required to keep the GPU fed 100% of the time, so there's idle time on the GPU?

It's absolutely not worth the power consumption to have your CPU folding when GPUs can do >10x the PPD using the same power a CPU does.


It is probably throwing the GPU slot into one of the SMT threads for the CPU.
Ivy Bridge i5-3570K@4.0Ghz, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, 2x4GiB of PC3-12800, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-600 and Fractal Refined R4 (W). Kentsfield Q6600@3Ghz, HD 4850 2x2GiB PC2-6400, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, OCZ Modstream 700W, and PC-7B.
 
farmpuma
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2691
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Soybean field, IN, USA, Earth .. just a bit south of John .. err .... Fart Wayne, Indiana
Contact:

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:34 am

I've read that the CPU client doesn't like an odd number of cores/threads, which is the default configuration when running both clients. Reserving two cores/threads should help production and free up more resources for other uses of the system, although it seems counter intuitive.

P.S. I am one of those low ppd contributors at about 250 to 380 ppd on an old X2 until I can assemble my GTX650Ti system and sneakernet a 64bit Ubuntu distro for my GTX550Ti machine, but all work units are important to the science.
[img]http://[/img] Image
.* * M-51 * *. .The Whirlpool Galaxy. .Good gun control is hitting your target and only your target.
 
general_tux
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:41 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere, MT, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:17 am

DPete27 wrote:
Also, check on the F@H Advanced Control window that your folding power is set to "Full"
How much of a difference do you typically see between the "Medium" and "Full" setting? On my system, there is only about 5-10k PPD difference in output, but my system is basically unusable for any other purpose when folding at "Full" (I can't even watch a YouTube video without stutter). However, when at "Medium", I can do almost all of my basic tasks without much lag, so I tend to leave it there most of the time.
Main: Intel i7-5775C w/ Noctua NH-D14, single fan | Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 7 | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | GSkill DDR3-1866, 32GB | Corsair Pro 750W Gold
HTPC: AMD A10-7850K | ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ | GSkill DDR3-2400, 8GB | Silverstone SFX 450W
 
wizardz
Gerbil
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:57 am

i've disabled CPU folding entirely, so not sure what could be causing this.
updated driver/rebooted and now its even worse. sitting at 175k ppd..
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3616
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:11 pm

general_tux wrote:
my system is basically unusable for any other purpose when folding at "Full

I don't fold on my CPU for reasons outlined above, so my system is more-or-less equally responsive even when I'm folding at "Full". TBH, I've never done folding on any setting except "Full" but I threw out that idea as a possible remedy for the issues wizardz was having.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
Topinio
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1561
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:28 am
Location: London

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:21 pm

The default config is stupid for CPU slots, absolutely... Does it still hate prime numbers of threads? That was a nice bit of silliness, setting it to n-1 for typical n's of 4, 6, or 8...

Still, forcing it to 6 on a 4C8T used to give n overall 30k+ boost to PPD, now it's a 300k+ net loss.

My money's on either something having changed in F@H, or the mitigations for Spectre &c have nerfed this workload too.
Desktop: E3-1270 v5, X11SAT-F, 32GB, RX Vega 56, 500GB Crucial P1, 2TB Ultrastar, Xonar DGX, XL2730Z + G2420HDB
HTPC: i5-2500K, DH67GD, 6GB, RX 580, 250GB MX500, 1.5TB Barracuda
Laptop: MacBook6,1
 
general_tux
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:41 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere, MT, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:52 pm

DPete27 wrote:
I don't fold on my CPU for reasons outlined above, so my system is more-or-less equally responsive even when I'm folding at "Full".
I also don't fold with my CPU either, but I've definitely seen a dramatic change in response between "Full" and "Medium".
Main: Intel i7-5775C w/ Noctua NH-D14, single fan | Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 7 | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | GSkill DDR3-1866, 32GB | Corsair Pro 750W Gold
HTPC: AMD A10-7850K | ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ | GSkill DDR3-2400, 8GB | Silverstone SFX 450W
 
Tarx
Silver subscriber
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 738
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:36 pm
Location: Canada

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Sun Oct 14, 2018 4:56 pm

I've been unsuccessful trying to get AMD RX570 to fold for Frakenbot.
I did try the few suggestions I saw from googling... except the reinstall windows one.
Basically all apps and games works fine on that computer.
Tried uninstall/re-install of both FAH and latest AMD graphic drivers. (yes with clean re-install)
Install FAH v7.5.1. Tried express install and Custom install, the only change is "Start Manually".
21:43:59: Version: 7.5.1
21:43:59: Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
21:43:59: Platform: win32 10
21:43:59: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700 CPU
21:43:59: CWD: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient
21:43:59: OS: Windows 10 Home
21:43:59: OS Arch: AMD64
21:43:59: GPUs: 0
21:43:59: CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The specified module could not be found.
21:43:59: OpenCL: Not detected: Win32: 0xc0000005: Exception
21:43:59:Connecting to assign1.foldingathome.org:8080
21:44:00:Successfully acquired database lock
21:44:00:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:6 (not configured)
And that's it - basically stalls there. Detects CPU but not GPU. But doesn't even fold with CPU.
FAH control says "Connecting" and "Inactive" and stays there.
Event log says The application-specific permission settings do not grant Local Activation permission for the COM Server application with CLSID and APPID to the user from address LocalHost (Using LRPC) running in the application container Unavailable SID (Unavailable). This security permission can be modified using the Component Services administrative tool.
Any suggestions to what I should try?
Edit:Trimmed most of log.
Thanks for suggestions Topinio. Yes using administration account.Yes did ensure all files were removed when uninstalled.I checked fikes were created and had the expected permissìons. Tried different locations for install and data files.
Also tried with custom config.xml file. Still had same issue. Tried with both the rx560 and rx570. At this point I'm giving up to fold on that system until i reinstall windows.
Last edited by Tarx on Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:28 am, edited 3 times in total.
Keep folding!
 
Topinio
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1561
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:28 am
Location: London

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:03 am

Tarx wrote:
I've been unsuccessful trying to get an AMD RX560 to fold for Frakenbot.
I did try the few suggestions I saw from googling... except the reinstall windows one.

:lol: Some people, being all 'nuke it from orbit, it's the only way to be sure!' (Bonus points for with Linux!!1!)

Seriously, though, presumably you did a full uninstall of the old version and checked it had properly deleted all files in its and in user folders? (If not, do so and try again as per the below.)

Either way, are you installing and running from the same user account which has administrator privileges?

If you're installing and running F@H from a non-admin account on Windows, you need to be signed in to the PC as the account you want to run as, right-click to run the installer as an admin account and have it do a custom install to change the data folder to somewhere under the user folder for the account you are signed in as. Then, launch from the Start Menu shortcut for 'Folding@home' which will open your web browser but instead of clicking to start folding, go to the F@H icon in the Notification Area (should show the zzzz for paused) and right-click->'Advanced Control'.

This worked for me when I had an issue with F@H 7.5.1 not startng on a Windows 10 box.
Desktop: E3-1270 v5, X11SAT-F, 32GB, RX Vega 56, 500GB Crucial P1, 2TB Ultrastar, Xonar DGX, XL2730Z + G2420HDB
HTPC: i5-2500K, DH67GD, 6GB, RX 580, 250GB MX500, 1.5TB Barracuda
Laptop: MacBook6,1
 
general_tux
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:41 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere, MT, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:31 pm

It looks like we are really having a difficult time sustaining >3M PPD, even with the recent additions to the effort. The good news is that we should still break last year's record if we can maintain the 2.9M PPD production! If everything stays stable from here on out we should break 86M points for the month!
Main: Intel i7-5775C w/ Noctua NH-D14, single fan | Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 7 | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | GSkill DDR3-1866, 32GB | Corsair Pro 750W Gold
HTPC: AMD A10-7850K | ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ | GSkill DDR3-2400, 8GB | Silverstone SFX 450W
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3616
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:52 pm

A couple of the OG list must have dropped off. I'm still going strong on my 600-650k PPD though.... Unless the PPD I'm actually receiving is drastically different than what the PPD estimator says....
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
Topinio
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1561
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:28 am
Location: London

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:50 pm

800k-1M PPD here, a Vega 56 and an RX 580 churning away.
Desktop: E3-1270 v5, X11SAT-F, 32GB, RX Vega 56, 500GB Crucial P1, 2TB Ultrastar, Xonar DGX, XL2730Z + G2420HDB
HTPC: i5-2500K, DH67GD, 6GB, RX 580, 250GB MX500, 1.5TB Barracuda
Laptop: MacBook6,1
 
general_tux
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:41 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere, MT, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:58 pm

720k average PPD here, at least according to the logs.
Main: Intel i7-5775C w/ Noctua NH-D14, single fan | Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 7 | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | GSkill DDR3-1866, 32GB | Corsair Pro 750W Gold
HTPC: AMD A10-7850K | ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ | GSkill DDR3-2400, 8GB | Silverstone SFX 450W
 
farmpuma
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2691
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Soybean field, IN, USA, Earth .. just a bit south of John .. err .... Fart Wayne, Indiana
Contact:

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:55 am

My son switched his part-time GTX1070 over to Frankie on 12 Oct. During the week he usually averages around 150K PPD and the weekend before last he averaged about 300K PPD. Maybe this past weekend was a good couple of days for gaming or maybe the work unit mix has been poor recently. My old X2 has been chewing on a fairly nasty not seen before work unit for the past six days with another day and half to go at about 260 PPD. On previous work units it often cranked out about 380 PPD.

A prime example of why Fah is not a reliable benchmark unless one captures a single work unit and fools the client by back dating the system clock (if that's even possible with the new client). What we need from Stanford is a benchmark mode in each client with a single resident non-expiring average work unit for each slot type.
 
DPete27
Silver subscriber
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3616
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:33 am

farmpuma wrote:
My old X2 ... at about 260 PPD. On previous work units it often cranked out about 380 PPD.

Yeesh! Sounds like a waste of power to me.
That said, both my RX480s hover right around what the overclock.net GPU database expects (300k PPD each). Granted I'm just going off the PPD estimate on the Advanced control window and not the actual logs (not sure how to filter out just the point awards), but they generally hover between 285k - 315k on my twice daily checks. With a long enough sample time to average from (aka the month of October) you can get a pretty accurate number based on actual workload fluctuations. Certainly the more work units you're churning through, the larger the sample size. If your X2 is only getting 350 PPD, the time needed to get a large enough sample size to generate an accurate average time of completion per work unit is going to be enormous.
Last edited by DPete27 on Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Main: i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M, MSI RX480 8G, 500GB Crucial BX100, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 16GB 1600MHz G.Skill @1.25V, EVGA 550-G2, Silverstone PS07B
HTPC: A8-5600K, MSI FM2-A75IA-E53, 4TB Seagate SSHD, 8GB 1866MHz G.Skill, Crosley D-25 Case Mod
 
wizardz
Gerbil
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:54 am

i'm back at ~280k-290k PPD according to the estimator..not sure why i was at 171k for a while...
usually F@H gets a pause when i game (2-3hrs during the evening).. and unless i forget to turn it back on, folds all the time. (as a bonus it heats the basement so the wife kinda likes it)

can't wait to get my 2080 to pump those numbers up a bit.
Last edited by wizardz on Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
farmpuma
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2691
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Soybean field, IN, USA, Earth .. just a bit south of John .. err .... Fart Wayne, Indiana
Contact:

Re: TR Frankenbot 2018; wow, is it that time already?

Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:47 am

DPete27 wrote:
farmpuma wrote:
My old X2 ... at about 260 PPD. On previous work units it often cranked out about 380 PPD.

Yeesh! Sounds like a waste of power to me.

This time of year every little bit of heat helps. Also the log file points credit usually matches the Advanced control estimate within a couple of points.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest