Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, farmpuma, just brew it!

matnath1
Gerbil XP
Topic Author

Please Suggest Pre Built Quad SLI or Higher Desktop PC for Folding

Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:28 am

I do not have the expertise to build one myself. I am asking you guys to suggest eBay searchable Pre- Built Desktop PC's that can run 4 or more GPUS at a time . This rig will be used exclusively to fold 24/7 . I have been doing it the simple way for 10 years (*I am a folding billionaire) by installing single graphics cards into individual desktop PC Towers ..pre built by Dell etc.. And now have the money to kick it up to quald sli or higher system.s I do not know how to find these on eBay and after multiple search attempts I am hoping you guys can steer me in the rite direction.

Please reply with Pre-Built systems that run 2, 3, 4 or mores cards in one rig so I can fold with One tower instead of 2 3 or 4 towers for example. Nothing brand new. For Value and Depreciation purposes I want a 4 or 5 year old 2nd or 3 Gen Intel Processor based system that won't break the bank.

As an example of recent buys I have bought 4 Dell XPS 8300 MT i5 2400 8GB 500G Than I can Add in UP TO Gtx 1080 and or RTX 2070 and HIT 1 mill PPD Per tower. COST
$200 for XPS $300 For Gtx 1080 so $500 PER Million PPD
I have a Lenovo Y900 SLI rig running two cards as well but i am hoping for a suggestion on a pre-built OR a way to buy a Pre -MADE Custom built that will run 4 cards or more on ONe tower as stated above...

Or

Can Mining rigs be used "somehow " to fold. ( have seen this "THINGS" with 8 or 10 graphics cards in them and wonder if they can be adapted to fold).

mikewinddale
Gerbil First Class

Re: Please Suggest Pre Built Quad SLI or Higher Desktop PC for Folding

Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:51 am

Whether a mining rig will be good for folding will depend on whether folding has high bandwidth requirements.