Personal computing discussed

Moderator: Hoser

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 13
 
BoBzeBuilder
Graphmaster Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 1197
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: Beerland

Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:42 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QComYBWB ... ded#at=123

W00T! This game looks amazing. Finally a real step forward in terms of graphics and animations. Can't wait to get my hands on this. BF games are among the few I pay full price for. Also pay attention to the sound. WoW.
i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz / Cooler Master V8 / Asus P8P67 Evo / 8GB G.skill DDR3-1600 / Zotac GTX 780 3GB / Seasonic S12-650 / Samsung 850pro 256GB SSD / Corsair 600T Graphite / those cheap 1440p Korean monitors
 
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5685
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:15 am

I wasn't a fan of the Battlefield series until the latest Bad Company 2 (essentially multiplayer shooter of the year for 2010)- but based on that experience, I'm in line for this one.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L |70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|50/1.4 USM|50/2.5 CM|50/1.8 STM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8|24/2.8 IS|Sigma 150-600 | C
Canon EOS-M|11-22 IS|22/2|EF-M 18-55
 
Skrying
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:37 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:10 am

That trailer is made by the animations. They're much better than what Bad Company 2 has. Sadly there still appears to be that light flare effect on everything. I've never experienced a light as bright and reflective as some in that trailer, at least it looks a little less than BC2 (but BC2 has some maps ruined by the effect).
 
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:36 am

The dynamic range of the lightning in the trailing seems to be a bit compressed, but otherwise its pretty darn nice. Probably better than most other games until that point anyway. Personally, since I will get a new 30" monitor today, I just hope my 6970 will run it in a decent way in native resolution. I might have to go into crossfire, but thats something I prepared for when I built the comp.

Accourding to the TR review, they ran Bad Company 2 at 2550x1600 4xAA och 16xAF @ 44/38 avg/min, so it should run abit better with AA/AF off. Same with Starcraft II.

Oh well, I do have fraps, so its easy to compare once I get the new monitor.
 
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5685
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:38 am

If the multiplayer scales anything like BC2, you're going to have to turn some settings down :).

The singleplayer BC2 benchmark doesn't get close to loading a CPU or GPU like the multiplayer mayhem can.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L |70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|50/1.4 USM|50/2.5 CM|50/1.8 STM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8|24/2.8 IS|Sigma 150-600 | C
Canon EOS-M|11-22 IS|22/2|EF-M 18-55
 
BoBzeBuilder
Graphmaster Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 1197
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: Beerland

Re: Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:57 am

That seems to be the case with a lot of multiplayers, as they seem to require more CPU horsepower with increasing players. I remember 32 player Bad Conpany 2 servers were almost unplayeble with my previous dual-core setup.
i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz / Cooler Master V8 / Asus P8P67 Evo / 8GB G.skill DDR3-1600 / Zotac GTX 780 3GB / Seasonic S12-650 / Samsung 850pro 256GB SSD / Corsair 600T Graphite / those cheap 1440p Korean monitors
 
Dposcorp
Silver subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit, Michigan

Re: Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:37 pm

After trying the Crysis 2 MP demo last night, I think I rather have this with its wide open areas.
 
tanker27
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8447
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:33 pm

OMG! I think I just............

The thing about BF is the sounds! the sounds are just incredible! Yeah I will be on the bandwagon for this one!
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
michael_d
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 563
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:42 pm

Re: Battlefield 3

Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:27 pm

Here is the interview with Dice producer. He stated that the Battlefield 3 engine (Frostbite) is brand new and rewritten from scratch, they threw the old one away. One of the major accomplishments is the robust animation system which is a cut above from any other in an FPS. The game will be out this fall, I think just in time to get the new Radeon 7XXX. Dice producer interview

Also article on IGN
Alienware: Core i7 960 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1.5TB HD | EVGA GTX Titan X | Dell WFP 3008 30" 2560x1600 | Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
 
paulWTAMU
Emperor Gerbilius I
Posts: 6006
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Amarillo, Texas

Re: Battlefield 3

Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:44 pm

damn I hope my rig can run it.
Ugly people have sex all the time. We wouldn't have 6 and a half billion humans if you had to be beautiful to get laid.
 
kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Battlefield 3

Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:42 pm

This looks to be a game of the caliber that I might just build a new system to play it. I just completed my x6 system and Now I'm thinking if the gulftown replacement comes out in the right window I might just build one of those.
 
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:12 pm

Gameinformar also had links to the whole shebang. There are interviews with the sound guy, then about lightning, enginge choices and also a history look.

http://www.gameinformer.com/p/bf3.aspx

Not to mention the printed article which is scanned here.
http://battlefield.gamersverse.com/arti ... ing-scans/

I'm really starting to have high hopes for this title now.



Airmantharp wrote:
If the multiplayer scales anything like BC2, you're going to have to turn some settings down :).

The singleplayer BC2 benchmark doesn't get close to loading a CPU or GPU like the multiplayer mayhem can.

Well, played BC2 at 2560x1600 the night I got the screen with everything at max but AA/AF turned to 1x. WIth high res low pixel pitch I really dont care that much. It flowed beautifully with the 6970. So that was really nice.
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 16891
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Battlefield 3

Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:36 pm

You should be fine at 2X or 4X anti-aliasing with that rig. AMD's 2X AA is a whole lot better than nothing.
i7-6700K, NT06-Pro, GA-Z170N-Gaming5, 32 GiB, 980Ti, SM951, 5TB HDD, Blu-ray, FTZ01, SX600-G, 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
 
Nutmeg
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: The void which binds
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:00 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:
You should be fine at 2X or 4X anti-aliasing with that rig. AMD's 2X AA is a whole lot better than nothing.


True gamers play with AA and fancy graphics off to get the best framerate :wink:
 
JustAnEngineer
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 16891
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Battlefield 3

Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:25 pm

Bah. There's not much benefit to screen draws at 200 frames/second when you're driving a 2560x1600 60Hz LCD panel. Anti-Aliasing is one of those things that you can get for "free" if your graphics card is fast enough. The Radeon HD6970 should handle BF2 without sweating.
i7-6700K, NT06-Pro, GA-Z170N-Gaming5, 32 GiB, 980Ti, SM951, 5TB HDD, Blu-ray, FTZ01, SX600-G, 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
 
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:23 pm

BF2 yes, bfbc2, still yes, although next time I'm in BC2 I will do a fraps take on it to see if i can add the AA/AF.
BF3, doubtfull if it will drive it at 2560x1600 properly at all. But thats something for autumn.

My old card 4870 only had 512MB memory, so I actually couldnt drive BF2 on its full AA/AF settings, because the rendering and textures took to much memory so it started swapping out the graphics mem. Back off one step and it was fine. Although there was also a graphics bug so everything was either see-through or filled with reflective water at certain AA/AF settings on those older catalyst drivers.
 
Skrying
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:37 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Battlefield 3

Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:29 pm

Personally I gladly give up some other settings before giving up AF and typically I try to have at least 2xAA. Jaggies everywhere (and it's really bad in BFBC2) is far more distracting than slightly less nice effects, but blurry textures are the absolute worst. On my GTX 460 1GB I've found all settings at High with HBAO off (and bloom off in the configuration file, because it hurts visuals far more than helps) with 2xAA and 16xAF to play just fine.
 
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5685
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Battlefield 3

Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:23 pm

Skrying wrote:
Personally I gladly give up some other settings before giving up AF and typically I try to have at least 2xAA. Jaggies everywhere (and it's really bad in BFBC2) is far more distracting than slightly less nice effects, but blurry textures are the absolute worst. On my GTX 460 1GB I've found all settings at High with HBAO off (and bloom off in the configuration file, because it hurts visuals far more than helps) with 2xAA and 16xAF to play just fine.


You say that, but- on my 30" panel, as much as I'm a believer in AA, I really don't feel I need it- nothing more than 2x at most. On my 27" 1920x1200 panel though, with its giant pixels, I can't stand to have it off. DPI matters :).
Canon 6D|24-105/4L |70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|50/1.4 USM|50/2.5 CM|50/1.8 STM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8|24/2.8 IS|Sigma 150-600 | C
Canon EOS-M|11-22 IS|22/2|EF-M 18-55
 
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:25 pm

DPI wise the 27"'er with 2560x1440 should be the the best screens right now. But damn its nice to have a 30" display actually having usuable height and width enough for two browsers, windows, photos side by side without feeling cramped. Of course in photoshop I have my 24"'er on the side in portrait mode for the menus. And lightroom also uses the second screen nicely for portrait photos.
 
BoBzeBuilder
Graphmaster Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 1197
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: Beerland

Re: Battlefield 3

Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:38 am

i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz / Cooler Master V8 / Asus P8P67 Evo / 8GB G.skill DDR3-1600 / Zotac GTX 780 3GB / Seasonic S12-650 / Samsung 850pro 256GB SSD / Corsair 600T Graphite / those cheap 1440p Korean monitors
 
tanker27
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8447
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Battlefield 3

Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:20 am

Damn they brought back prone. :(

I hate prone! well, not really, just the damn Dolphin divers. Luckily so do others and there will be servers that kick for it. Just like bunny hoping.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
adam1378
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:42 pm
Location: College Cultural District, Flint

Re: Battlefield 3

Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:15 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfrrAp1blaM

New Trailer looking awesome... especially the tank scene...hopefully it lives up the BF2 potential!
Ancient 1366 chipset and 6GB of RAM oh and 6950
 
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Sat Apr 16, 2011 3:02 pm

Cant wait until we see further trailers with tank and especially flight included, but I liked having the whole three thrailers in one... and its beautiful. Look at the small movements when they are briefing around the table. Although I did notice a lack of falling dust in the sun when they are inside and the quake hit the building.
 
tanker27
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8447
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Battlefield 3

Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:38 pm

(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
 
SPOOFE
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3167
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: Woodland Hills, CA

Re: Battlefield 3

Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Drooling commenced. Initiate towel sequence... now.
 
WarriorProphet
Gerbil
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:26 am

This game is the only reason I have to start upgrading, bah, damnu Dice!
 
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5685
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Battlefield 3

Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:34 am

WarriorProphet wrote:
This game is the only reason I have to start upgrading, bah, damnu Dice!


Still working on putting mine together... slowly. Time is something I don't have, apparently.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L |70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|50/1.4 USM|50/2.5 CM|50/1.8 STM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8|24/2.8 IS|Sigma 150-600 | C
Canon EOS-M|11-22 IS|22/2|EF-M 18-55
 
WarriorProphet
Gerbil
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:37 am

Airmantharp wrote:
WarriorProphet wrote:
This game is the only reason I have to start upgrading, bah, damnu Dice!


Still working on putting mine together... slowly. Time is something I don't have, apparently.


Time is never our own when we work for and/or love others...
 
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3649
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden
Contact:

Re: Battlefield 3

Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:39 am

tanker27 wrote:

Now you can drop your jaw with this...
Operation Metro Trailer

On second thought, since they also added a tank trailer, can somebody go get a bucket for the rest of the drool...
Thunder Run Tank Trailer
Some of these visuals are just amazing. Its not long before you can do a war documentery in game. Thats as good as some of it looks.

Although I am getting abit worried for my 6970. The 2600K at 4.2 will probably be ok, but I might need another 6970 or a 7970 by the BF3 launch. I love my visual goodies.
 
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5685
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Battlefield 3

Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:54 am

With enough juice my 2500k runs happy at 5.0GHz... and that's with reduced fan profiles across the board. Think you need some bigger screws :).

And it was for this game (and possibly Skyrim) that I went ahead and grabbed a second OEM HD6950 2GB. After I get it all properly assembled, might happen this week, I'll unlock them and give them a good OC kick as well.
Canon 6D|24-105/4L |70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|50/1.4 USM|50/2.5 CM|50/1.8 STM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8|24/2.8 IS|Sigma 150-600 | C
Canon EOS-M|11-22 IS|22/2|EF-M 18-55
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 13

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests