Personal computing discussed

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

 
ClickClick5
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...
Contact:

Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:52 am

Can anyone here confirm that GPUZ does not report the amount of dedicated GPU ram with Radeon 12.10 drivers? That so far is my ONLY complaint with Windows 8.
i7-5930k (4.1GHz), 32GB DDR4-2400, 980 4GB, GA-X99-UD3, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (os/programs), Toshiba 5TB (games), WD VelociRaptor 500GB (games/scratch disk), Win 10 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance sets and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
 
vandy
Gerbil
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:04 am

ClickClick5 wrote:
Can anyone here confirm that GPUZ does not report the amount of dedicated GPU ram with Radeon 12.10 drivers? That so far is my ONLY complaint with Windows 8.


I'm using 12.11 beta4 drives and GPUZ 0.6.6 reports the correct amount of VRAM for my 7950. Wouldn't the ability to report the correct amount of vram be the fault of GPZ???????????????
 
ClickClick5
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...
Contact:

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:17 pm

Thats what it thought, but at least for 12.10, it just reports 0MB. This is for memory used, not what the card has.
In windows 7 with areo enabled, I would get 68MB used on the desktop and with games, the amount used would change, now, it is 0MB everywhere.
i7-5930k (4.1GHz), 32GB DDR4-2400, 980 4GB, GA-X99-UD3, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (os/programs), Toshiba 5TB (games), WD VelociRaptor 500GB (games/scratch disk), Win 10 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance sets and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
 
vandy
Gerbil
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:13 pm

Interesting. I loaded up GPUZ again and my Memory Usage (dedicated) also says 0mb. Dynamic usage says 254mb. I wonder if its anything to be concerned about since I've been playing games on my comp just fine. GPUZ quirk?
 
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
Posts: 25102
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:22 pm

Aero is gone in Windows 8, but I would still expect some buffering? May be not...
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
 
ClickClick5
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...
Contact:

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:27 pm

ClickClick5 wrote:
Thats what it thought, but at least for 12.10, it just reports 0MB. This is for memory used, not what the card has.
In windows 7 with areo enabled, I would get 68MB used on the desktop and with games, the amount used would change, now, it is 0MB everywhere.


It could be a number of things. Meh.
i7-5930k (4.1GHz), 32GB DDR4-2400, 980 4GB, GA-X99-UD3, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (os/programs), Toshiba 5TB (games), WD VelociRaptor 500GB (games/scratch disk), Win 10 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance sets and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest