Personal computing discussed

Moderator: Dposcorp

 
ronch
Graphmaster Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 1003
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am

Handbrake Crashing

Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:17 am

Hi gerbils. I just downloaded Handbrake 0.9.8 and started transcoding some AVIs to MP4 with it. Problem is, it usually crashes, with Win7 saying the program has stopped responding. Anybody else having this kind of issue? I'm not using the CLI and I hope I don't have to.

My specs: AMD FX-8350, MSI 990FXA-GD65, 8GB dual channel DDR3-1866, AMD HD7770, Hitachi 1TB hard drive, Cooler Master GX650 PSU.
NEC V20 > AMD Am386DX-40 > AMD Am486DX2-66 > Intel Pentium-200 > Cyrix 6x86MX-PR233 > AMD K6-2/450 > AMD Athlon 800 > Intel Pentium 4 2.8C > AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800 > AMD Phenom II X3 720 > AMD FX-8350 > Zen?
 
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Posts: 9325
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Handbrake Crashing

Wed Jan 02, 2013 2:48 pm

Wut? I just downloaded Handbrake last week and I |thought| I discovered that Handbrake no longer supported AVI format!

Are you using an AVI plugin or something?
 
Glorious
Gold subscriber
Lord High Gerbil
Posts: 8883
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 6:35 pm

Re: Handbrake Crashing

Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:34 pm

I think that's for output only flip-mode, I'm pretty sure FFmpeg still supports the AVI container format and so forth.

I assumed he had some sort of system instability. Ronch, have you done any system stress testing?
 
ClickClick5
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...
Contact:

Re: Handbrake Crashing

Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:45 pm

Post your encode log here.
i7-5930k (4.1GHz), 32GB DDR4-2400, 980 4GB, GA-X99-UD3, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (os/programs), Toshiba 5TB (games), WD VelociRaptor 500GB (games/scratch disk), Win 10 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance sets and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
 
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Posts: 9325
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Handbrake Crashing

Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:12 pm

I couldn't get it to recognize any AVIs as input, but maybe I gave up too soon. I'll have to give it another look.
 
ClickClick5
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...
Contact:

Re: Handbrake Crashing

Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:02 pm

flip-mode wrote:
I couldn't get it to recognize any AVIs as input, but maybe I gave up too soon. I'll have to give it another look.


It should recognize the input AVI. Though what are the properties of the AVI?

Handbrake dropped AVI output back with version 9.4 or so.
i7-5930k (4.1GHz), 32GB DDR4-2400, 980 4GB, GA-X99-UD3, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (os/programs), Toshiba 5TB (games), WD VelociRaptor 500GB (games/scratch disk), Win 10 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance sets and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
 
ronch
Graphmaster Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 1003
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am

Re: Handbrake Crashing

Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:50 pm

I'm not using any plugins of any sort. Just downloaded Handbrake and fired it up.
NEC V20 > AMD Am386DX-40 > AMD Am486DX2-66 > Intel Pentium-200 > Cyrix 6x86MX-PR233 > AMD K6-2/450 > AMD Athlon 800 > Intel Pentium 4 2.8C > AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800 > AMD Phenom II X3 720 > AMD FX-8350 > Zen?
 
ClickClick5
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...
Contact:

Re: Handbrake Crashing

Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:32 pm

ronch wrote:
I'm not using any plugins of any sort. Just downloaded Handbrake and fired it up.


Hum...install MediaInfo http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en/Download and see what was used to encode the AVIs.
i7-5930k (4.1GHz), 32GB DDR4-2400, 980 4GB, GA-X99-UD3, Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (os/programs), Toshiba 5TB (games), WD VelociRaptor 500GB (games/scratch disk), Win 10 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance sets and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest