Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

 
freefrags
Gerbil In Training
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:49 am

Help me out please

Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:56 am

hello everyone thnx for taking the time to read my post i have bought myself a shuttle ss51g with a 200gb western digital hard disk and 2 x 512 mb twinmos pc3200 it all works fine except that the computer says i have got a 125 gb hard disk and 720 mb of memory :( i in stalled the new bios update but it had no effect

i hope u guys can help me out

Raymond
 
Gandolf
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1293
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Right Behind you
Contact:

Fri Jul 23, 2004 12:27 pm

step one make sure you read the labels on all the products make sure u were sent the right items. 2 test each stick of memory make sure they show up 512mb each time
 
UberGerbil
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Posts: 10173
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Help me out please

Fri Jul 23, 2004 12:42 pm

freefrags wrote:
it all works fine except that the computer says i have got a 125 gb hard disk and 720 mb of memory
It says this in the BIOS? Or in the OS (and if so what OS)?
 
mstrmold
Gerbil XP
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2002 3:09 pm
Location: Hollister, Ca
Contact:

Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:49 am

First off, this is the 32bit limitation with some BIOS' and OS. If you are running XP, you need to have SP1a installed in order to overcome this (it enables 48bit addressing) and it needs to be slip-streamed in your install disk.

Second, your box should support up to 2Gb of ram according to Shuttle http://www.shuttle.com/share/product_da ... /SS51G.pdf
So I have to ask again, what OS? If you cannot see all of your memory, either the memory controller on the motherboard doesn't like your memory, or, you are running an older OS (Win98) that has a limit of 768Mb of Ram it can address. This is a physical limitation with the OS.

Regards,

-E
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest