Personal computing discussed

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

 
spensaf
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 10:15 am

ATI 9700 AIW card Power problem in SN41G2

Wed May 21, 2003 5:40 pm

Any reason why me SN41G2 wont power up when i attach the power cord to an ATI AIW 9700? If I leave the power cord unattached I get the message "Power needed to ATI AIW Card" message. When I attach the cord I get a small flicker of blue light then nothing.

Any Suggestions? :-?
 
Niteslayer
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 6:07 pm
Location: Peoples Republic of Taxachusetts not Romneyville anymore, boy are we screwed!
Contact:

Wed May 21, 2003 6:15 pm

how big is your pwr supply? are you trying to power the card from the mother board or from the pwr supply? need more system info.
"Klaatu, Barrada Nikto!"
<img src="http://www.sparrowbot.com/Sigs/sig1.php?designer=drfish&sigid=8&user=niteslayer">
 
Niteslayer
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 6:07 pm
Location: Peoples Republic of Taxachusetts not Romneyville anymore, boy are we screwed!
Contact:

Wed May 21, 2003 6:39 pm

Did you remove your old video drivers? Did you load standard vga driver?
"Klaatu, Barrada Nikto!"

<img src="http://www.sparrowbot.com/Sigs/sig1.php?designer=drfish&sigid=8&user=niteslayer">
 
sativa
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3044
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 7:22 pm
Location: lafayette, la

Wed May 21, 2003 7:58 pm

what other peripherals do you have attached that might be using the power supply? (USB, FireWire, PCI cards, etc..)

It only comes with a 200watt PSU so its kinda limited.
 
TheEmrys
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2324
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 8:22 pm
Location: Northern Colorado
Contact:

Thu May 22, 2003 2:17 am

It sounds like you might have a bad power cable. Try the other smaller floppy-style power line (wow, my use of proper terms is astounding tonight.) Say good night, gracie.
Sony a7II
Sony Zeiss 55/1.8
Minolta 100/2, 28-135/4-4.5, 17-35 D
Minolta MC 50/1.4, MD 35-70/3.5, 300/4.5
 
spensaf
Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 10:15 am

Fri May 23, 2003 6:06 am

I am running a Maxtor 120 gb HD
A Sony Multiburner
No usb devices attached.

Here is the weird thing. I was running an PowerColor AIW 9700 perfectly. But I swapped that card with a friend who had a ATI AIW 9700 to see if it solved capturing problems I had. The PowerColor Card worked perfectly before and I havn't changed any other devices? The ATI card worked perfectly in my friend's computer (not a SFF).

A real weird one here Chaps.

I have tried powering the card from the Power supply attached to the DVD Drive the the HDD. I have no floppy drive so I have also tried the other power cable.
 
sativa
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3044
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 7:22 pm
Location: lafayette, la

Fri May 23, 2003 11:07 am

interesting.

have you tried powering it up with a seperate power supply to see what happens? (as in, use the Shuttle's powersupply for everything but the graphics card, then use the molex connector from a seperate power supply to power the graphics card).

and are you sure the card is seated correctly in the slot?
 
Xylker
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Tue Jun 17, 2003 4:57 pm

What happens if you ONLY power the AIW card? In other words, remove all the other drives and devices, just power the mobo and vid card, see if it loads the BIOS and still shows video
I have nothing more to say about that.
 
FamousBelgian
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: UK

Tue Dec 09, 2003 5:27 pm

Spensaf,

I have exactly the same problem with my system. Just bought a brand new SN85G4 Shuttle and tried to get a Hercules 9800SE AIW to work in it. Like you say, just a blue flicker and nothing else.

I guess the 250W power supply just can't handle the initial drain on the 5V rail from the 9800SE.

Here's what I did :

1) Disconnect the MOLEX to the graphics card
2) Power up the Shuttle
3) 1 second afterwards, reconnect the MOLEX to the graphics card
4) Replace system cover

Should then work just fine. Problem of course is that you have to keep taking the cover off !!! To get round this, you can fit a switch or push-button to the back of the chassis which temporarily cuts the power to the card while you hit the power button.

We shouldn't have to mess around like this. These damn manufacturers need to improve their testing procedures.

Marc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests