Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Starfalcon

 
Noinoi
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:31 pm
Location: Sabah, Malaysia

Intel Performance Maximizer

Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:28 pm

It's out now. It can be downloaded here.. Seems like 9900K(F) owners should use a different download compared to the rest, too.

Will be testing it out tonight once I get home. Kind of want to see how good or bad it is at setting settings.

Seems like you'll have to set your BIOS settings to bone stock (Load Optimized Defaults and don't touch any settings, even XMP), make sure all the required features are enabled (they probably are, but the program will tell if it's wrong), and it requires a Z390 motherboard.
i5-9600K@4.9 | Patriot 2x16GB | Asus GTX 970 | Aorus Z390 Pro Wifi | Intel 660p 512GB + Kingston Fury 240GB + 2x4TB WD HDDs | Win 10
 
Goty
Gerbil
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:41 am

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:54 am

PCPer posted a small review here: https://pcper.com/2019/06/overclocking- ... maximizer/

Seems like a good option for some people. It pushes the Vcore higher than necessary as is typical of these sorts of programs, but I feel like the type of person who will seriously use this isn't going to notice or care.
 
Noinoi
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:31 pm
Location: Sabah, Malaysia

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:48 am

Oddly I'm getting problems trying to get it to create the required partition. None of the 4 internal drives I have let it proceed...
i5-9600K@4.9 | Patriot 2x16GB | Asus GTX 970 | Aorus Z390 Pro Wifi | Intel 660p 512GB + Kingston Fury 240GB + 2x4TB WD HDDs | Win 10
 
The Egg
Gold subscriber
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2850
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:33 am

Automatic overclocking via the BIOS is, and has always been, complete garbage. It seems to have gotten less prevalent lately (at least default enabled), but it's still the very first thing I seek out and verify to be disabled on any new build. "Completely destabilize your PC for a mere 2% in performance!! Allow your computer to crash in new and fascinating ways, *AND*, since you had nothing to do with the continually changing settings, you won't have the slightest idea where the issue lies!!"

Intel's own Turbo Boost has been quite decent over the past decade or so. Not sure why they'd want to get in on this crap.
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 25122
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: Comin' to you directly from the Mothership

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:05 am

Just so happens that I built a 9600K-based rig last week. I started messing with it last night, and I'm writing about my experiences. However since I have other commitments and TR isn't my day job, it may take a few days before it goes up. TR did not get early access, so there was no chance of having anything for yesterday.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.
Twittering away the day at @TVsBen
 
Krogoth
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5754
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:37 am

Why?

Turbo-clocking and MCE makes arm-chair overclocking pointless. The die-hard crowd always want to personally fine-tune their settings. It seems like the "service plan" side-pitch is just a cash-grab attempt for people who don't know any better. There is a wealth of freely available end-user data (clockspeed, voltage, power useage curvature) for overclocking on existing platforms.
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x8GiB of G.Skill DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-750M V2 and Fractal Define R4 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
K-L-Waster
Gerbil XP
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:10 pm
Location: Hmmm, I was *here* a second ago...

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:11 am

Krogoth wrote:
Turbo-clocking and MCE makes arm-chair overclocking pointless.


MCE? Sheesh, in my system if I leave the BIOS on the default settings (which in ASUS's infinite wisdom has MCE on) the system won't even boot to Windows.
Main System: i7-8700K, ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E, 16 GB DDR4 3200 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 TI, 1 TB CRUCIAL MX500, Corsair 550D

HTPC: I5-4460, ASUS H97M-E, 8 GB RAM, GTX 970, CRUCIAL 256GB MX100, SILVERSTONE GD09B
 
Glorious
Gold subscriber
Gerbilus Supremus
Posts: 11763
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 6:35 pm

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:23 am

K-L-Waster wrote:
Krogoth wrote:
Turbo-clocking and MCE makes arm-chair overclocking pointless.
MCE? Sheesh, in my system if I leave the BIOS on the default settings (which in ASUS's infinite wisdom has MCE on) the system won't even boot to Windows.


Man this confused the living daylights out of me at first.

Intel shouldn't take acronyms that apply to the same basic subject, "CPU", and then use them (Machine Check Exception) for something new (Multi-Core Enhancement).

*shakes fist at sky*
 
Krogoth
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5754
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:25 am

K-L-Waster wrote:
Krogoth wrote:
Turbo-clocking and MCE makes arm-chair overclocking pointless.


MCE? Sheesh, in my system if I leave the BIOS on the default settings (which in ASUS's infinite wisdom has MCE on) the system won't even boot to Windows.


Sounds like a power delivery issue. Coffee Lake chips are power hogs when fully loaded and need motherboards with beefy CPU power delivery. Actually, the MCE was source of POST/booting issues with 8700K on a number of lower-end Z370 boards. That's party why Z390 platform came into being (Basically a Z370 with beefer VRMs and official 802.11n support on the PCH).
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x8GiB of G.Skill DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-750M V2 and Fractal Define R4 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53058
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:30 am

Glorious wrote:
Man this confused the living daylights out of me at first.

Intel shouldn't take acronyms that apply to the same basic subject, "CPU", and then use them (Machine Check Exception) for something new (Multi-Core Enhancement).

*shakes fist at sky*

If the hardware detects a fault which is caused by use of Multi-Core Enhancement is that a "Multi-Core-Enhancement Check Exception" (or MCE, for short)?

(Inspired by the fact that my employer's official list of acronym definitions includes "IOT Operations Team" as one of the potential meanings of "IOT").
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
Glorious
Gold subscriber
Gerbilus Supremus
Posts: 11763
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 6:35 pm

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:32 am

MCE2?
 
Captain Ned
Gold subscriber
Global Moderator
Posts: 27838
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:41 am

Glorious wrote:
MCE2?

General Inteltivity?
Imagine a world with no hypothetical questions.
 
K-L-Waster
Gerbil XP
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:10 pm
Location: Hmmm, I was *here* a second ago...

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:42 am

Krogoth wrote:
K-L-Waster wrote:
Krogoth wrote:
Turbo-clocking and MCE makes arm-chair overclocking pointless.


MCE? Sheesh, in my system if I leave the BIOS on the default settings (which in ASUS's infinite wisdom has MCE on) the system won't even boot to Windows.


Sounds like a power delivery issue. Coffee Lake chips are power hogs when fully loaded and need motherboards with beefy CPU power delivery. Actually, the MCE was source of POST/booting issues with 8700K on a number of lower-end Z370 boards. That's party why Z390 platform came into being (Basically a Z370 with beefer VRMs and official 802.11n support on the PCH).


Agreed. But still, the "automatic and forget it" OC idea is still a pipe dream on the Intel side.

And the ROG Strix line wasn't exactly marketed as "lower end". More like Intel and board partners underestimated power delivery requirements.

(So why didn't I get a Z390? They didn't exist in 2017...)
Main System: i7-8700K, ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E, 16 GB DDR4 3200 RAM, MSI GTX 1080 TI, 1 TB CRUCIAL MX500, Corsair 550D

HTPC: I5-4460, ASUS H97M-E, 8 GB RAM, GTX 970, CRUCIAL 256GB MX100, SILVERSTONE GD09B
 
Krogoth
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5754
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:49 am

Captain Ned wrote:
Glorious wrote:
MCE2?

General Inteltivity?


I think we might have discovered Chuck's source of troll-power...... ;)
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x8GiB of G.Skill DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-750M V2 and Fractal Define R4 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
derFunkenstein
Gold subscriber
Gerbil God
Posts: 25122
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: Comin' to you directly from the Mothership

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Wed Jun 19, 2019 11:34 am

Krogoth wrote:
Why?

Turbo-clocking and MCE makes arm-chair overclocking pointless. The die-hard crowd always want to personally fine-tune their settings. It seems like the "service plan" side-pitch is just a cash-grab attempt for people who don't know any better. There is a wealth of freely available end-user data (clockspeed, voltage, power useage curvature) for overclocking on existing platforms.

Having used it and successfully completed the process, I can tell you it is a LOT more involved than that. Whether the gains are worthwhile is in the eye of the beholder. More on that soon.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.
Twittering away the day at @TVsBen
 
Robiix
Gerbil In Training
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:16 am

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:21 am

Noinoi wrote:
Oddly I'm getting problems trying to get it to create the required partition. None of the 4 internal drives I have let it proceed...


Hey, I have the same motherboard but the tool keeps saying that my BIOS isn't compatible even though I have the F9 revision. Did you have manage to run it? I just loaded optimized defaults on my bios before running the tool. Also have a 9600k.
 
Noinoi
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:31 pm
Location: Sabah, Malaysia

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:00 pm

Robiix wrote:
Noinoi wrote:
Oddly I'm getting problems trying to get it to create the required partition. None of the 4 internal drives I have let it proceed...


Hey, I have the same motherboard but the tool keeps saying that my BIOS isn't compatible even though I have the F9 revision. Did you have manage to run it? I just loaded optimized defaults on my bios before running the tool. Also have a 9600k.


It installed, and started, but always get stuck with an error while trying to create a partition - Failed to create partition. No error message about the BIOS, though.
i5-9600K@4.9 | Patriot 2x16GB | Asus GTX 970 | Aorus Z390 Pro Wifi | Intel 660p 512GB + Kingston Fury 240GB + 2x4TB WD HDDs | Win 10
 
Krogoth
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5754
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:21 am

It sounds like this tool isn't really worth the trouble. Why in the devil does it need to create a partition on the local disks when a bootable DVD/spare thumb drive would suffice? SMH
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x8GiB of G.Skill DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-750M V2 and Fractal Define R4 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53058
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:34 am

Krogoth wrote:
It sounds like this tool isn't really worth the trouble. Why in the devil does it need to create a partition on the local disks when a bootable DVD/spare thumb drive would suffice? SMH

My guess is that maybe there's a piece that needs to run on every boot, before the OS loads.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
Krogoth
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5754
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime
Contact:

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Fri Jun 21, 2019 10:21 am

just brew it! wrote:
Krogoth wrote:
It sounds like this tool isn't really worth the trouble. Why in the devil does it need to create a partition on the local disks when a bootable DVD/spare thumb drive would suffice? SMH

My guess is that maybe there's a piece that needs to run on every boot, before the OS loads.


I suppose that they are trying to make it relatively "idiot-proof".
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS-PRO Coffee Lake R 9700K, 2x8GiB of G.Skill DDR4-3600, Sapphire RX Vega 64, Corsair CX-750M V2 and Fractal Define R4 (W)
Ivy Bridge 3570K, 2x4GiB of G.Skill RIPSAW DDR3-1600, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Corsair CX-750M V2, and PC-7B
 
Noinoi
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:31 pm
Location: Sabah, Malaysia

Re: Intel Performance Maximizer

Thu Jul 04, 2019 7:19 pm

Had to reinstall Windows after a complete deletion of every single drive's partition with diskpart's clean command to get IPM to work, and the results are... well, pretty conservative. It arrived at 4.7GHz.

Testing with Prime95 seems to indicate that the 4.7GHz is for non-AVX; AVX drops down to 4.4GHz. Either way, the voltages are fairly low at around 1.25V, and probably less, and temperatures never ever approached 80 C.

I'm now running P95, with XMP turned on in the BIOS, while at work to try to tease out any potential instability, as well as check the peak temperature, and average/max voltage in use.

It definitely is a much smarter OC solution than the classic "set a manual voltage" method, though, as dynamic voltage scaling works normally, just the top end is extended. It basically acts like the processor gained additional speed and voltage bins. It even runs with a lower voltage than a manually set 46x multiplier and auto voltages, so it seems to be using its own values.
i5-9600K@4.9 | Patriot 2x16GB | Asus GTX 970 | Aorus Z390 Pro Wifi | Intel 660p 512GB + Kingston Fury 240GB + 2x4TB WD HDDs | Win 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests
GZIP: On