Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

 
dVeLoPe
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:24 pm

Clock ticks 4 SUPER FAST seconds and one normal second.

Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:43 am

My windows clock will go for 4 seconds SUPER fast (1,2,3,4) and then on the 5th one it will go it at normal speed. Then 4 more fast seconds (6,7,8,9) and then again a normal second... WTH???
PRiMARY :
\\GA-965P-S3//*\\Core2DUO E6600//*\\1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC5300//*\\Asus EN7950GT//*\\Antec SuperLANBOY//*\\TT ToughPower 750//*\\74GB WD Raptor//
 
SpotTheCat
Gerbilus Supremus
Posts: 12290
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 12:47 am
Location: Minnesota

Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:47 am

try a bios update. The clock is tied to the system clock in the bios.
 
sativa
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3044
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 7:22 pm
Location: lafayette, la

Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:47 am

you've been punk'd

ps make sure your battery is seated properly.
Science is forbidden. Laboratories manufacture danger!
 
dVeLoPe
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:24 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:52 am

I have been punked??

The battery is fine.
PRiMARY :

\\GA-965P-S3//*\\Core2DUO E6600//*\\1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC5300//*\\Asus EN7950GT//*\\Antec SuperLANBOY//*\\TT ToughPower 750//*\\74GB WD Raptor//
 
house
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 942
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 11:52 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Thu Aug 26, 2004 12:56 am

you really got to lay off the mountain dew man :D

Try going into the bios and check if the clock there is doing to same thing. If so a bios flash should do it
 
dVeLoPe
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:24 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:12 am

No Mountain Dew drinking over here m8.
I just went into the Bios and it's running fine. I noticed it is 3 seconds faster than the clock on my TV but that's fine.
Now in Windows it is still doing this 4 fast ticks 1 normal tick. WTH is wrong?

Ohh and I noticed this because my Halo Timer has been off by approximately 23 seconds, I asked people what the time was that I was playing with and looked on my TV and they all said "1:26" but my PC clock read "1:36" .. I then updated the online time crap in the clock and I kept staring at it, realized that it was ticking incorrectly, and posted it here.
PRiMARY :

\\GA-965P-S3//*\\Core2DUO E6600//*\\1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC5300//*\\Asus EN7950GT//*\\Antec SuperLANBOY//*\\TT ToughPower 750//*\\74GB WD Raptor//
 
dVeLoPe
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:24 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:18 pm

... HELP! ..... !!!! .... loL!!! HELPP!!!!!1 :(
PRiMARY :

\\GA-965P-S3//*\\Core2DUO E6600//*\\1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC5300//*\\Asus EN7950GT//*\\Antec SuperLANBOY//*\\TT ToughPower 750//*\\74GB WD Raptor//
 
Starfalcon
Gold subscriber
Gerbilus Supremus
Posts: 11996
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:43 am

Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:26 pm

Did you try a new battery for your board?
 
random gerbil
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1694
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 4:12 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:30 pm

Coincidentally, I noticed the same thing about my clock about a week or so ago. Im thinking its 4 slightly fast ticks, and then one slow tick to corect for being slightly fast. At least thats how it looks to me.
Does anyone remember laughter?
 
dVeLoPe
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:24 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:41 pm

Yea thats what it looks like to me to. But it should be liek 3 fast clicks and two slower ones because my clock is always running just a little TOO fast.

I know it's not my battery.. What else could it be?
PRiMARY :

\\GA-965P-S3//*\\Core2DUO E6600//*\\1GB Kingston ValueRAM PC5300//*\\Asus EN7950GT//*\\Antec SuperLANBOY//*\\TT ToughPower 750//*\\74GB WD Raptor//
 
SpotTheCat
Gerbilus Supremus
Posts: 12290
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 12:47 am
Location: Minnesota

Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:44 pm

lol, I just realized mine does that too.

mine is never off though, so I don't really care
 
Felix
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 796
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 12:31 am
Location: Yorkville
Contact:

Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:57 pm

omg, mine does that too...sorta, it sticks @ certain numbers then continues on.....omfg thats just weird
|Sager NP9750|X2 4400+|2GB DDR400|100GB 7200.0|100GB 5400.0|Go 7800 GTX|17" 12ms LCD|
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53548
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:57 pm

Weird, I never noticed that before but my system does it too. IMO it looks more like 4 slightly fast ticks, then one longer one. It all evens out though; my system time is still correct.

I think it is just a bug in the way the Windows clock app updates its display...
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
Insightfill
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Chicago suburb, IL

Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:04 pm

Most online resources I found said that the problem is almost definitely hardware. Overclocked at all? That's usually not indicated, but there's a place for it.

In the short run: turn on the Windows "Internet Time" setting if you're in a workgroup and let it fix the time once an hour.

Also: there was a Microsoft KB article (832936) that says there was a problem with computers being unable to synch the time when they came out of standby - "fixed" in Windows XP SP2. Did you recently take the Service Pack?

(LATER...)

Looking at my Dell 2350 here at work (Sp2, in a domain), the pattern is four regular, then one slow tick. The same is true for the identical machine running Sp1 (in a workgroup, no Internet Time Synch). There's mention in the article that it's fixed in a hotfix, but you usually don't get those if you go hunting for them.

My guess: the system calibrates itself with a stable time source (domain or internet) at two different intervals and figures your system drift. It then applies a little math to the clock to account for it.
 
nordo42
Gerbil XP
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 7:55 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:05 pm

i'm suprised i've never noticed it. happens to mine too.
i've left the forum. if you're reading a "post deleted", sorry.
 
Convert
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3451
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 6:47 am

Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:32 pm

What the... All this time and I have never noticed it... That is seriously messed up, my knowledge on computers has been shaken by the clock!

Mine clicks 5 times at a moderate pace and then a quick pause. Like others though it is never off.
Tachyonic Karma: Future decisions traveling backwards in time to smite you now.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53548
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:35 pm

It's just a bug in the Windows Clock applet, folks. Move along... nothing to see here. :wink: The internal system time mainained by the OS is accurate; it is just the display that is off.

If you still don't believe me, just download and run <a href="http://justbrewit.net/trstuff/jbiclock.exe">JBIClock</a> side-by-side with your Windows clock for a few seconds, and watch how the time updates. Assuming you don't have other stuff running in the background, you'll note that JBIClock ticks smoothly, while the ticking of the Windows clock is uneven.

I'm actually a little surprised that even Microsoft f*cked up something this basic; the JBIClock app took all of 10 minutes to write.

Edit: And yeah, the Linux clock does not have this issue either... :wink:
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
Posts: 23043
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:38 pm

Convert wrote:
What the... All this time and I have never noticed it... That is seriously messed up, my knowledge on computers has been shaken by the clock!

Mine clicks 5 times at a moderate pace and then a quick pause. Like others though it is never off.


same here..4 regular 1 slower....that is weird 8)
 
Insightfill
Gerbil Team Leader
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Chicago suburb, IL

Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:45 pm

Interestingly, this came up on another forum in a search:

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?s ... 99240&st=0
 
lethal
Graphmaster Gerbil
Posts: 1385
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:22 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:03 pm

just brew it! wrote:
I'm actually a little surprised that even Microsoft f*cked up something this basic; the JBIClock app took all of 10 minutes to write.


Do not underestimate their "skills" :lol:
The Internet wrote:
"[The] 360 starts at the factory, moves to retail shelves, into consumer's homes, back to Microsoft. So THAT'S why Microsoft called it the 360...It all comes full-circle ;)"
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53548
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:06 pm

BTW, this happens in Win2K as well. So it is a pretty old bug...

As someone said in that thread that Insightfill linked, maybe they'll fix it in Longhorn! :lol:
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3577
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:43 pm
Location: MD
Contact:

Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:07 pm

Hey JBI care to open source it? :wink: I'd like to see how it works.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53548
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:25 pm

Yahoolian wrote:
Hey JBI care to open source it? :wink: I'd like to see how it works.

Sure, no prob... I've gotta leave for a meeting right now though, so I'll post the code later tonight.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
UberGerbil
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Posts: 10368
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:09 pm

The regular windows timer tick (WM_TIMER) is 18 times per second. It's possible the clock app is simply sampling at a different frequency, resulting in a regular syncopation (The taskbar clock doesn't keep track of the time itself: it simply grabs the time from the real system clock on a regular basis. If it happens to grab the time just after the seconds value changes, and then again just before it changes to the new value, it might look like it's stuck a little longer on a particular time). There are higher resolution timers available, of course, but there's no reason for the clock to use one. And since the clock does keep the correct time, it doesn't much matter except for people who spend a lot of time staring at it... a lot of whom seem to be on this forum ;)

On the other hand, using various timer intervals I can't duplicate this behavior in an app at the moment (though I do remember it from apps in the past) so it could be something else is going on. I doubt it has anything to do with the internet time functionality, since it occurs whether that is turned on or not (and in Win2K, which doesn't have it).
 
rika13
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 9:01 am
Location: Normal, IL
Contact:

Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:55 pm

mine is four slightly fast, one definately slower

as for the 18/sec, i thought the clock interrupt was every 18ms
ASUS P7P55D-E, Core i7 860, EVGA GTX 570 SC, 4GiB DDR3 (OCZ I think), Razer Lycosa (letters rubbing off) and Lachesis, Benq G2400W, Steelseries Siberia G1 headphones (no speakers)
 
Ragnar Dan
Gerbil Elder
Posts: 5380
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:00 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:19 pm

IIRC from my days reprogramming the PIC, it was 18.2 times / second, and that means every 5th second you get an extra unit.
 
UberGerbil
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Posts: 10368
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:20 pm

The frequency of the hardware system timer is ~1.193 MHz. The Windows timer is implemented by decrementing a 16 bit int on each tick and sending a WM_TIMER message when it hits zero. The frequency of the messages is therefore 1,193,180 / 65,536 = 18.20648 times per second, or roughly every 55msec.

Note that WM_TIMER messages are very low priority, and are only posted if there are no other messages in the queue. This means that if the system is busy or a thread is blocking, it may not see timer messages for a while. Code that only runs on timer events may appear to be hung (though it isn't) and won't run until all higher-priority operations have completed.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53548
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:48 am

UberGerbil wrote:
The frequency of the hardware system timer is ~1.193 MHz. The Windows timer is implemented by decrementing a 16 bit int on each tick and sending a WM_TIMER message when it hits zero. The frequency of the messages is therefore 1,193,180 / 65,536 = 18.20648 times per second, or roughly every 55msec.

This was true for the Win9x kernel. I'm pretty sure that OSes based on the NT kernel (WinNT/2K/XP) use a (somewhat) higher resolution timer, something like 10ms or 20ms.

I've posted the complete source code for JBIClock <a href="http://justbrewit.net/trstuff/jbiclock.zip">here</a>. It's a zipped MS Developer Studio 6 project that was generated with Developer Studio's "MFC AppWizard" tool. Most of the interesting stuff happens in the CJbiclockDlg::OnTimer() function:
void CJbiclockDlg::OnTimer(UINT nIDEvent) 
{
    // TODO: Add your message handler code here and/or call default
    time_t t = time(NULL);
    struct tm *tmPtr = localtime(&t);
    CString newTime(asctime(tmPtr));
    newTime.TrimRight();
    if (newTime != timeStr)
    {
        timeStr = newTime;
        SetDlgItemText(IDC_TIME, timeStr);
    }
    CDialog::OnTimer(nIDEvent);
}

This function gets invoked every time a WM_TIMER message gets posted; in the CJbiclockDlg::OnInitDialog() function I request that a timer message be posted every 20ms (though the actual rate is dependent on the resolution of the OS clock and on system load). In a nutshell, this says "get a formatted string containing the current time, and if it has changed since the last time we were called, update the contents of the static control in the dialog with the new value". Since this is done much more frequently than once per second, any syncopation effects should be small, and invisible to the naked eye.

While it may seem somewhat wasteful to be processing timer messages every 20ms to update a display with only 1s resolution, the CPU load is negligible. Even on my old 500MHz K6-III, it shows 0% CPU usage in Task Manager.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
 
kamineko
Gerbil
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:08 pm

Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:33 pm

If the second hand updates fast for 4 ticks, then slows for 1 tick, it would almost HAVE to be using the old 18.2 ticks/sec timer. As to why they would use this instead of just using WM_TIMER messages or using one of the higher resolution timers... I can think of 2 reasons:

1) Old code. Very possibly, they haven't updated the clock applet code from the original Win95 version, except for slight graphical touches and whatever else they needed to do to make it compile on a newer compiler.

2) Compatibility. Although you wouldn't want to run XP on a really old and slow computer, Microsoft may have tried to make sure things would still work. A number of the higher resolution, more accurate timers are either multimedia-related or use the CPU timer. Not sure about the mmedia ones, but the CPU timers aren't available on all systems.

you can't just use WM_TIMER messages, since they can be pre-empted and are inaccurate. Once you get WM_TIMER, you need to check some other timer source in the system to find out how much time has truly elapsed. The easiest thing is to use the 18.2 timer, since it's guaranteed to be present on all systems.
 
just brew it!
Gold subscriber
Administrator
Posts: 53548
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:04 pm

WM_TIMER messages work the same (albeit with their resolution reduced to that of the 18.2Hz timer tick) on Win9x systems. My test application -- exactly as coded -- works perfectly fine on Win98SE as well (yes, I tried it).

Now, here's the real kicker: The built-in clock applet in Win98SE does not have this bug!

So the "old code" and "backwards compatibility" arguments really don't wash. :lol:
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
GZIP: On