Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Hoser

 
Jon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author
Posts: 980
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 7:44 pm
Location: -Alberta-

How to get Cell Factor working with no Physx card....

Wed May 17, 2006 11:32 pm

Easy....
Install the demo, install the latest physx drivers from their site and add EnablePhysX=false to the CF shortcut and voila, no physx hardware but fully playable game and most importantly full physics.....except for cloth effects but who cares about that anyhoo, you didn't waste C$350 on that card! hah!

For the record, the demo is just barely playable on a:

P4 3.4GHz
1Gig Ram
Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB

Physics work really nicely though and are fairly fast.

Got this off the hardocp forums. Apparently the physx card doesn't make *that much* difference and I believe them.
Image
-Playing shooters on a console is like doing brain surgery with an ice-cream scoop-
 
drsauced
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: Here!

Thu May 18, 2006 12:08 am

Sweet hack... I now officially suck at that game. :lol:

Edit: works okay with:

X2 3800+
2GB RAM
7800GT
X-Fi!
Calm seas never made a skilled mariner. But, sadly I'm an A's fan.
 
Pax-UX
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 792
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:33 am
Location: Ireland

Thu May 18, 2006 12:49 am

hehe, I like this! :D

I hope somebody goes back and does a proper benchmark! I feel sorry for all those who had 299 to waste. Oh well.
"What luck for rulers, that men do not think"
 
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
Posts: 6208
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Thu May 18, 2006 10:25 am

Wow. If this game works w/out a PhysX card....
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
 
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Posts: 2313
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia
Contact:

Thu May 18, 2006 11:41 am

wha..... did somebody discover this independently or did AGEIA drop a hint about this?
Mothership: FX-8350, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, MSI GTX 1070 Sea Hawk, Crucial MX500 500GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Thinkpad X230
 
Pax-UX
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 792
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:33 am
Location: Ireland

Thu May 18, 2006 11:47 am

the one things this could help resolve is the latency question. I hope somebody takes the time to look into this.
"What luck for rulers, that men do not think"
 
A_Pickle
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 739
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 2:10 pm
Location: Fighting the mystery meat.
Contact:

Thu May 18, 2006 11:56 am

I wasn't even aware that it wouldn't work without an Ageia PhysX card when I started downloading the demo moments ago. Then I used my handy-dandy Bookmarks Toolbar to open a new TechReport tab.

Firefox FTW!
Sagan: Core i7 4790K + Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO | 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR3-1600 | Mushkin Striker 480GB | 1 TB Hitachi HD31000 HDD | Sapphire Radeon R9-290X | Rosewill Line-M
My HeatWare
The Great Graphics Card Warranty Thread
 
Felix
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 796
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 12:31 am
Location: Yorkville
Contact:

Thu May 18, 2006 12:29 pm

Is it possible that we can get a DL link for the demo, please...
 
A_Pickle
Gerbil Elite
Posts: 739
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 2:10 pm
Location: Fighting the mystery meat.
Contact:

Thu May 18, 2006 12:32 pm

Sagan: Core i7 4790K + Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO | 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR3-1600 | Mushkin Striker 480GB | 1 TB Hitachi HD31000 HDD | Sapphire Radeon R9-290X | Rosewill Line-M
My HeatWare
The Great Graphics Card Warranty Thread
 
LockeOak
Gerbil
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:59 pm

Thu May 18, 2006 2:58 pm

It runs on my machine, but there are some serious bugs with the bots. If I let the bots fight each other they'll go for a while but as soon as I join the game, several things happen: a) I can't move, shoot, or do anything other than look around. b) the AI stops, all bots turn to statues. c) sometimes I spawn in mid air or in odd places. So I can run around by myself in levels with a FPS usually around 30, occasionally dropping to the high teens at 800x600. The physics work fine.
AMD Opteron 165 @2.45GHz | DFI Lanparty Ultra-D | Visiontek 4850HD | 2GB OCZ Platinum | X-Fi XtremeMusic | WD Raptor 74GB | WD Caviar 250GB
 
drsauced
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: Here!

Thu May 18, 2006 10:48 pm

LockeOak wrote:
It runs on my machine, but there are some serious bugs with the bots. If I let the bots fight each other they'll go for a while but as soon as I join the game, several things happen: a) I can't move, shoot, or do anything other than look around. b) the AI stops, all bots turn to statues. c) sometimes I spawn in mid air or in odd places. So I can run around by myself in levels with a FPS usually around 30, occasionally dropping to the high teens at 800x600. The physics work fine.


Yeah, I had something similar happen, but the ESC key worked and I reloaded the map and the bots from there on out had no problem finding me. I guess the next problem is that there is just so much junk around the map that it's extremely hard to tell what's what.
Calm seas never made a skilled mariner. But, sadly I'm an A's fan.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests
GZIP: On