Sumo’s Omni bean bag chair

Manufacturer Sumo
Model Omni
Price (Street) $149
Availability Now

YEARS AGO, I HAD a brief but torrid affair with a friend’s bean bag chair. We were living in residence at university, and the admittedly cheap bean bag was an oasis of comfort in a dormitory filled with furniture seemingly designed primarily to thwart theft and discourage fornication. I spent hours in that chair studying, napping, and more often drifting between the two. But the term soon ended, and the bean bag and I went our separate ways.

Ever since, I’ve toyed with the idea of getting another bean bag chair, but have generally been unimpressed with the poor quality of what’s been available. I have real furniture now, too, so my expectations have been raised. It’s with those raised expectations that I’ve tackled Sumo’s Omni, a new age bean bag being marketed to urban hipsters and gamers alike. We don’t usually talk furniture here at TR, but the Omni’s an interesting product. Also, I’ve been spending an increasing amount of my gaming time slouched on my couch in front of an Xbox, so I couldn’t resist taking the Sumo for a spin.

The biggest difference between the Omni and a bean bag throwback from the 70s is the Sumo’s sheer size. Measuring 4.5 x 5.5 feet, the Omni is monstrous—easily large enough to completely engulf my 5’2 girlfriend and still have room for one of her friends. Surprisingly, though, the Omni’s weight is decidedly un-Sumo-like. The bag weighs just 18 lbs, which means that lugging it around isn’t be nearly as difficult as finding a floor space large enough to set it down.

Gargantuan proportions make the Omni quite unlike any other bean bag chair I’ve experienced. You don’t so much sit in it as become swallowed by its compliant goodness. This enables a level of slouching that will no doubt invite an icy glare from your mother, who told you to always sit up straight. Still, it’s incredibly comfortable to lie nearly prone, with just enough incline for a good angle on the television.

Of course, you don’t have to slouch. With a little repositioning, Sumo says the Omni can be configured for 10 different seating positions, or even more if you have a wall or couch to lean up against. In practice, there are probably only a handful of really comfortable positions that vary from completely prone to surprisingly upright. It’s even possible to scrunch the Omni like a stool to accommodate the “gamer’s lean,” in which console gamers lean forward while playing regardless of their proximity to the television or the size of the screen. If you’re the romantic type, the Omni easily accommodates two, too.

Speaking of romance, the Omni is both stain-resistant and water-repellant thanks to the “space age rip-proof nylon” that encases the beans. Spills are easy to wipe off with a towel, making the chair idea for kids and those with, er, chemically-impaired motor skills. The bag’s tough construction is also a plus when you’re dragging it around, although it’s also the Omni’s one shortcoming. Spill resistance and durability are great, but space age nylon isn’t exactly plush. Not that the nylon is uncomfortable; it’s just not as cozy as softer materials like fleece, a nice pliable leather, or something like velvet. Of course, none of those materials tolerate spills or abuse nearly as well, so there’s a reasonable trade-off.

Sumo Omnis sell for $149 with free shipping—an important consideration given the chair’s dimensions—and the Omni is available in eight colors from black to hot pink. Certain colors seem to be regularly on sale for $129, as well. That’s certainly not cheap for a bean bag chair, but with similar hipster designs selling for over $200 online, it’s actually pretty reasonable.

I’ve spent hours entrenched in the Omni relaxing, watching movies, gaming, and of course, napping. In that time, I have developed a new crush. The Omni might be a soft slip cover away from perfection, but it’s still the most comfortable bean bag chair I’ve ever had the pleasure of slouching in. 

Comments closed
    • IntelMole
    • 13 years ago

    The main reason I don’t have a bean bag is twofold:
    1) I really can’t slouch, my back doesn’t enjoy it, and bean bags are a monopoly style straight to jail on that front.
    2) They stink after a while.

    This one might be pretty decent on the second front. Hell, I might get one, see if I can avoid the major slouch, when I get out of uni.
    -Mole

    • Jigar
    • 13 years ago

    Shot me i have seen every thing ๐Ÿ™‚

    • K-Wulf
    • 13 years ago

    Yay for Camel Toe! ๐Ÿ™‚

    This kind of “furniture” seems very suitable for my room, thanks for bringing it up again.

      • Nelliesboo
      • 13 years ago

      Long time no talk…

      • firestorm02
      • 13 years ago

      lol, I just noticed the toe, frick’in sweet, lol
      … now back to Guild Wars

    • bhtooefr
    • 13 years ago

    So much for “less T&A, more T&L” ๐Ÿ˜›

    (j/k)

    • Aphasia
    • 13 years ago

    Funny this came up today. Yesterday i was at a friends place and sat in a normal beanbag playing Nintendo. Its a killer feature that one.

    Oh, as for somebody mentioning office furniture. A good chair outlives what, 10 computers without a problem, so get an expensive one. Really expensive one considering all the time you spend in it.

    • steelcity_ballin
    • 13 years ago

    I should have just said gf. Hubbie is too much. Heh.

      • andypandypoos
      • 13 years ago

      it’s not that it’s too much, just that as far as i’m aware hubbie is short for husband?

    • |FN|Steel
    • 13 years ago

    q[

    • droopy1592
    • 13 years ago

    I lol at people that turn the controller when they turn haha. It shows how fun games can be.

      • lethal
      • 13 years ago

      I just wonder how the ps3 would handle that since the controller is tilt sensitive you could make a “wrong” movement and screw up the action on the screen….

      • just brew it!
      • 13 years ago

      I remember the first time I did that… F-Zero on the original SNES… ahh, the memories. ๐Ÿ˜€

        • 5150
        • 13 years ago

        That’s funny, my friend’s sister did that with the same game and I don’t know if she ever lived it down.

    • Bensam123
    • 13 years ago

    Lies Geoff just wanted to show off his g/f and go ‘look what I have’, so he just grabbed the bean bag chair sitting around the house ๐Ÿ˜›

    Seriously you would be suprised how close furniture and computers are to each other. Not logically but you spend SO much time in one chair infront of a computer it really ruins things if you have a crappy one.

    You guys should consider throwing in a piece of office furniture every once in awhile. When I had to go out and buy a new chair I had really nothing to compare it to besides a couple crappy websites, so I was limited to chairs in the store. In the end I bought one off the net that is amazing.

    • Dposcorp
    • 13 years ago

    Nice review, good pics, clean beat, and I can dance to it.

    Thanks for brightening up a raining saturday in my part of Michigan.

    • d0g_p00p
    • 13 years ago

    And this is what makes TR reign supreme for tech news and general nerd/geek life! Awesome review Geoff!

    • Fighterpilot
    • 13 years ago

    y[

      • lethal
      • 13 years ago

      that’s mrs diss IIRC….

    • alex666
    • 13 years ago

    Is that a young Katie Couric on the left?

    • Anomymous Gerbil
    • 13 years ago

    Someone needs to learn how to use the flash and/or adjust the white balance on his camera! Blurry first photo, and what got in the way on the left of the second photo? Tsk tsk!

    • indeego
    • 13 years ago

    Where is the “digg this” link… g{

      • DrDillyBar
      • 13 years ago

      Thought that too.

    • albundy
    • 13 years ago

    damm yo! what a looker! and the bean bag looks good too.

    • gratuitous
    • 13 years ago
      • derFunkenstein
      • 13 years ago

      Noone will pepper anything on this post, as it’ll disappear in a little while. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • Vrock
        • 13 years ago

        HS. Maybe he’s turning over a new leaf. That’s like 5 posts he’s made that haven’t disappeared yet.

    • kvndoom
    • 13 years ago

    WTF? Diss has his own personal supply of booth babes? I’m in the wrong line of work…

    • LoneWolf15
    • 13 years ago

    I need to know if it’s cat-proof. This is the ultimate test of any furniture in one’s house.

    A 4-month old kitten (they can’t be front declawed until six months) is the ultimate destroyer of furniture unless it’s extremely durable (the furniture, that is).

      • jobodaho
      • 13 years ago

      My parents have one of those in their basement, it’s extremely comfortable but sometimes a pain to get out of. Sometimes you have to role off the side just to get up.

      • derFunkenstein
      • 13 years ago

      Heck yeah! I love your sac.

    • Krogoth
    • 13 years ago

    This review has made my day for doing something different.

    Kudos to Geoff. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Vrock
      • 13 years ago

      Interesting chair. It looks like a giant pillow, yet seats two attractive females comfortably. I assume there’s a mail-away offer for the ladies in the box, right?

        • Krogoth
        • 13 years ago

        Two chicks at the same time eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

          • Vrock
          • 13 years ago

          A empty bean bag chair is furniture. A bean bag chair with two attractive women sitting in it is art.

    • Damage
    • 13 years ago

    Ack!! It’s a breach in the gerbil run! How should we react? Geeky semi-autistic instincts tell us to panic.

    Don’t worry, folks. The TR collective will remain intact. We just want to have something lighter to write about every now and then. There is a certain economy to being a writer, and the mobo and CPU reviews do get repetitive otherwise.

      • My Johnson
      • 13 years ago

      Much better than an un-affordable FX or EE review.

      • MrJP
      • 13 years ago

      But there’s no graphs!! No overclocking, power measurements, or noise results!!!

      But nice job Geoff, and more of the same to break up the routine can only be a good thing.

        • Smurfer2
        • 13 years ago

        I’m sure we could get noise results…….. Anyways, good way to change things up. ๐Ÿ™‚

          • jobodaho
          • 13 years ago

          Exactly what I thought after reading his post ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Joobers
      • 13 years ago

      I like this – give us more reviews like this. All things that relate to tech geekiness is good.

        • FroBozz_Inc
        • 13 years ago

        Agreed, this is good stuff.
        Yay for Diss’s girlfriends, they make good models ๐Ÿ™‚
        I’ve been a fan since the Zalman Reservator review.
        Looks like they are having fun.
        Keep up the good work, and these offbeat reviews are entertaining! thanks.

    • Debacle
    • 13 years ago

    Hmmm… Single page “review” of a bean bag chair? I give it 2 out of 5 snakes on a plane.

      • steelcity_ballin
      • 13 years ago

      Id give 4 out of 5 snakes, mainly because he included his hubbie and another piece o’ eye candy. Good work Dissy.

        • Vrock
        • 13 years ago

        His hubbie? Did I miss something?

          • indeego
          • 13 years ago

          I missed it too. Believe me I lookedg{<.<}g

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This