Cooler Master’s Cosmos 1000 enclosure

Manufacturer Cooler Master
Model Cosmos 1000
Price (Street)
Availability Now

Today’s enthusiast systems look quite a bit different from the old-school rigs I cut my teeth on back in the day. Years ago, it seemed like everyone was running full tower cases loaded with enough fans for lift-off. These systems were as loud as they were imposing, and they were probably a little bit vulgar. Looking back on them now, it’s a wonder no one ever accused us of overcompensating. Or maybe they did, and we just couldn’t hear them over the drone of system fans and the piercing whine of the classic Alpha.

Way back when, we tuned for performance and little else. Our priorities have shifted over the years, though. These days, noise levels and power consumption are just as important as frames per second, part of a larger and more mature measure of overall goodness. We still want to blow your doors off, of course, but now we don’t want you to hear it coming. And we’d prefer not to burn through a tank of gas in the process.

I’ve seen this trend play out with my own personal systems. They used to live in monolithic towers that proudly trumpeted their presence with a turbine-like howl, but today they sit quietly in the corner and blend in with the furniture. Perhaps that’s why I was so taken aback by Cooler Master’s new Cosmos 1000 enclosure. This is a full-tower case that harkens back to the days of old, offering plenty of room for Extended ATX motherboards, loads of drive bays, and enough fans to power a small wind tunnel. Unlike the enclosures of my misspent youth, though, the Cosmos has an air of sophistication. It’s all grown up, and more importantly, nearly silent.

Has Cooler Master created the ultimate full-tower enclosure for the evolved sensibilities of seasoned enthusiasts? Read on to find out.

The Cosmos

Full tower enclosures tend to be rather large, and the Cosmos is no exception. The case may only be about 10 inches wide, but it’s nearly two feet tall and extends just beyond two feet deep. Those gargantuan proportions cut an imposing profile, allowing the Cosmos to lord its size over mere mid towers like a big Mercedes SUV peering down on a puny hatchback. Next to it, my Sonata feels more than just a little inadequate. And to be honest, so do I.

Of course, like a big SUV, the Cosmos also weighs a ton. When empty, it tips the scales at a portly 37 pounds. That bulk comes courtesy of the case’s largely steel construction, which at least ensures a sturdy chassis. It also requires a lot of heft to lug around, particularly when loaded with system components.

Fortunately, Cooler Master has been wise enough to include firmly-anchored handles that run along the top and bottom of the case. The case actually sits on its bottom rails, so there are no little rubber feet to fall off eventually and get lost. Rails make it easy to slide the case around—more specifically, under a desk—on carpeted surfaces, but you’ll want to be careful with hardwood or other fine finishes.

Speaking of finishes, Cooler Master has done a good job with the Cosmos’ exterior. Brushed metal side panels add a touch of industrial class, and the glossy black strip that runs up the middle of the enclosure’s face is polished to a near-mirror finish. Those contrasting materials look particularly good set against each other; however, there’s also a lot of silver plastic filler between them. The silver plastic cheapens the aesthetic a little for me, in part because it looks so dull next to the mirrored gloss and textured metal. There’s no accounting for taste, though.

Cooler Master has been able to keep dull plastics away from the case’s drive bay door. The door itself has an oddly satisfying action, swinging its ample weight smoothly and closing with a satisfying thud. Magnets hold the door in place when it’s closed, and it can easily be configured to swing left-to-right or right-to-left, depending on your preference.

Lurking behind the drive bay door are five external 5.25″ drive bays faced with black metal mesh. One of the 5.25″ bays can also be converted to accommodate external 3.5″ drives, should you wish to install a memory card reader or floppy drive.

Integrating a memory card reader directly into the case would’ve been a nice touch. It might have fit well on the case’s top panel, which includes all the goodies you’d expect to find on the front. Just above the requisite power and reset buttons you’ll find a flurry of connectivity, including HD-compatible analog audio jacks, a whopping four USB ports, and even an external Serial ATA interface. Just beyond the port cluster lies a recessed tray that’s perfect for holding an MP3 player, cell phone, digital camera, or other gadgets you might have plugged into the system.

I tend to stuff my PCs under my desk, so having the Cosmos’ expansion ports and buttons on the top of the case is perfect. However, this arrangement is obviously less than ideal if you prefer to have a full tower looking down on you from atop your desk.

Moving aft, and scrolling past what is possibly the tallest picture we’ve ever had on TR, we get a good view of the Cosmos’ rear panel. At the top, you can see a couple of small holes designed to allow the tubing used in water-cooled systems to enter and exit the case cleanly. Flanking those holes on either side are a couple of latches that, when lifted, release the case’s side panels.

At the bottom of the rear panel, you can see a gaping hole meant for the system’s power supply. The Cosmos is one of those new-fangled upside-down cases, and putting the PSU at the bottom makes a lot of sense. First, it gives the Cosmos a lower center of gravity, which is, um, essential for something that’ll sit under a desk and probably never move. More importantly, putting the PSU at the bottom moves it away from a hot spot around the processor.

Moving the power supply to the bottom of the case also allows it to draw cooler air from directly below. The Cosmos features venting along its bottom panel to facilitate airflow, with a filter ensuring that dust, crumbs, and the unsuspecting insects feeding on them aren’t sucked up into the case.

This lower vent should be particularly effective with newer power supplies that feature bottom-facing cooling fans. Traditional PSU designs that use fans mounted at the rear aren’t likely to benefit as much.

Peeling away the panels

With Cooler Master’s clever latches at the rear, it’s easy to pop off the Cosmos’ left and right side panels to get at the case’s internals. Before diving inside, though, it’s worth spending a moment on the side panels themselves.

A testament to Cooler Master’s desire to lower noise levels, the panels feature a layer of foam to absorb noise generated inside the system. The foam also adds a measure of insulation, but given the Cosmos’ array of cooling fans and vents, that shouldn’t be a problem.

There isn’t much action over on the right-hand side of the case, but a few features demand our attention. Note that all the cables for the top panel’s expansion ports and connectors snake down this side of the case, nicely out of the way. A couple of long vertical holes—whose sharp edges are neatly draped in protective plastic—provide access to the other side of the case. In addition to front-panel connectors, hard drive cabling also needs to be run through these holes to get at the motherboard.

Note that there are also a couple of holes cut into the top and bottom of the motherboard tray. Ideally, these would allow you to stealthily run power cables from the PSU at the bottom of the case to motherboard power connectors located at the top. Unfortunately, this doesn’t work out so well in practice. See that horizontal strut running across the inside of the case near the top? It contains the latching mechanism that holds the side panel in place, requiring a tight fit that doesn’t play well with cables running across it.

Around the other side of the system, we get a better look at the Cosmos’ internals, including the plastic ducting that runs across the middle of the case. Cooler Master calls this the case’s “wind tunnel,” and it’s meant to provide increased airflow for graphics cards. However, it doesn’t actually contain any active cooling elements. Wind, in this case, is caused by the negative pressure generated by the case’s fan layout.

“Negative pressure” sounds like marketing-speak, but it’s a simple concept. The Cosmos comes with four 120mm fans, only one of which actually sucks air into the system. The rest serve as exhaust outlets, and for the airflow to balance out, air is drawn into the case through a number of vents. One of those vents just happens to sit alongside the wind tunnel.

Another sits in the case’s bottom panel just below the power supply, with additional venting found below the hard drives bays. The case’s bottom panel also contains its sole intake fan, which is covered by a plastic grill to protect it from stray cables.

The bottom-mounted intake faces a pair of exhaust fans located at the top of the system. With the power supply tucked out of the way at the bottom of the case, these exhaust ports should have no problem exhausting hot air from around the CPU socket. If the stock 120mm units that come with the Cosmos don’t move enough air for your needs, the case is also drilled to accept larger 140mm units along its top panel.

Out of the box, the Cosmos uses the same 120mm fans throughout. They’re quiet models, spinning at just 1200 RPM when plugged into a standard four-pin molex connector. The molex plugs ensure compatibility with standard ATX power supplies, and the fans will even benefit from speed control on PSUs that offer fan-specific molex headers. However, those who prefer to govern system fan speeds via three-pin motherboard connectors will need adapters for the Cosmos.

The Cosmos’ final exhaust fan is predictably found at the rear of the case, sitting just next to the I/O shield above an array of expansion slots. There are seven slots in total, with brackets conveniently held in place by thumbscrews. Just below the thumbscrews in the picture above, you can see the venting for the case’s graphics card ducting.

Drive bays and extras

Peering deeper into the Cosmos reveals the case’s hard drive rack. Located along the bottom of the case, the rack contains six 3.5″ bays, each of which is held in place by a single thumb screw.

The individual drive cages slide out with ease thanks to little handles that neatly snap into plastic holders when not in use. These clips prevent the handles from rattling around when the hard drives spin up. Rubberized dampers also isolate the cages from drive-level vibrations to keep noise levels low.

Drive cables are all run on the other side of the case, keeping everything nice and clean around the cages. Cooler Master also offers an optional hard drive fan to provide the rack with additional cooling should the venting directly below the drives provide insufficient airflow for larger disk arrays.

Just above the hard drive rack, we find an array of internal 5.25″ drive bays. Rather than requiring pesky screws, these bays hold optical drives in place with plastic tabs activated by large buttons on one side of each bay. It’s a neat little retention system, and it holds drives surprisingly tightly.

So far, the Cosmos is looking pretty stacked, with loads of quiet fans, tool-free drive bays, and fancy panels. However, the case is missing one feature commonly found in high-end enclosures: a removable motherboard tray. This omission isn’t a deal-breaker, particularly because the case’s generous dimensions leave plenty of room for poking around. However, you may miss it if you like being able to pull the guts of your system out on a single, convenient platter.

You may not get a motherboard tray, but the Cosmos a few other extras that we’d be remiss not to point out. Many of these goodies come in a fancy little box buried within the enclosure.

The box contains a packet of screws, motherboard mounting posts, and other hardware required for system assembly. Also included are a couple of tiny screwdrivers to help you put everything together and a fistful of zip ties to clean up the cabling once you’re finished. The zip ties are particularly useful, but they’re not the only cable management accessories in the box.

Cooler Master also throws in a handful of larger cable binders that can be affixed to the case’s internal walls. These reusable binders are much larger than the zip ties, giving users two ways to neatly route and hide cables within the Cosmos.

The last little extra we find will be the most important, at least for some users. Upside-down cases like the Cosmos aren’t compatible with all motherboard and power supply combos because some PSU auxiliary power cables aren’t quite long enough to reach some motherboard connectors. To alleviate this issue, Cooler Master throws in an eight-pin ATX 12V extension cable to bridge the gap. The extension cable won’t help if your primary 24-pin power connector is too short, but we’ve yet to encounter a power supply and motherboard combo where that was the case.

Conclusions

With retailers selling the Cosmos 1000 for less than $200, this grown-up full-tower enclosure clearly comes at a price. Not an exorbitant one, though. Full tower cases have always cost a little more than their mid-tower counterparts, but they do things smaller cases can’t, like accommodate Extended ATX motherboards. Even when used with a standard ATX mobo, the Cosmos leaves loads of room for multi-GPU graphics configurations, internal water-cooling kits, and massive RAID arrays.

In addition to its ample size, the Cosmos comes with plenty of thoughtful touches that should appeal to discerning enthusiasts, including largely tool-free internals, generous connectivity options, and everything you’ll need to clean up cabling in a complete system. Combine those features with insulated side panels and a quartet of low-RPM 120mm fans that generate plenty of airflow, and you have an enclosure primed for mature enthusiast systems that shroud their immense power behind a veil of silence.

The Cosmos doesn’t look half-bad, either. Painted plastics mar the industrial look a little for me, but Cooler Master has succeeded in building a handsome tower whose subtle design cues soften its otherwise imposing frame.

Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
October 2007

Weight is really the Cosmos’ only problem. At 37 pounds empty, the case requires more muscle than competing solutions wrapped in lightweight aluminum, but that’s only a problem if you plan on lugging your system around. If it’s just going to sit under your desk, the weight should keep it nicely anchored at your feet.

In the end, then, Cooler Master has created a fantastic full tower in the Cosmos 1000. A few rough edges prevent it from being the ultimate enclosure for evolved enthusiast sensibilities, but it comes close enough to win Editor’s Choice distinction.

Comments closed
    • shiftless
    • 10 years ago

    do i still have an account on here?

    • provoko
    • 12 years ago

    Thank you TR for posting another review, but why didn’t you guys put hardware in and take pictures like every other site? I was expecting to read and see how easy the process would be and look. Just taking pictures of an empty case isn’t enough. I could go to coolermaster website or newegg for those type of pictures.

    Does anyone else agree?

    I read some of the comments, Dissonance (TR staff) said they had no other case to compare results. Well maybe this would have been a good opportunity to test another case… Or just submit pictures and explain how easy it is to install hardware in this case.

    There are so many unanswered questions and you don’t even need another case to test them:

    -How does it look with all the hardware installed?
    -Does the “wind tunnel” actually work? Test with it on and off.
    -Does the “wind tunnel” even come off?
    -How easy is it to put in hardware?
    -How easy is it to put in hard drive cables from the other side? Is that the only way?
    -Do sata cables reach from the far bottom right of the case to the motherboard?
    -Do the hard drive clips actually work to prevent rattling of the handle or was it a poor design choice?
    -Does the retention system actually work or is it a clumsy toolless setup?
    -You mention the PSU cables can run along the back “requiring a tight fit.” How long of a cable would you need for it to work and can it actually be done?

    Please respond TR, thank you.

      • Damage
      • 12 years ago

      provoko, you always seem to push for us to measure more, tell you every little detail about everything, and assume nothing if it’s not explicitly in the text. I like that!

      But that’s sometimes a little unrealistic and seems forced. Not sure why that happens. As Geoff stated, he did build a system in this case as part of his evaluation of the product. He didn’t produce a step-by-step pictorial of the build process, in part due to limited time and in part because we didn’t see it as necessary.

      You can derive some information for which you asked directly from the review, if you will read it a little more carefully and be willing to extract it. For instance, Geoff did say the case is very quiet, so I’m pretty well certain the handles don’t rattle. Also, he talked about the installation process, its downsides and general ease, throughout the review. When he says there’s room for the mobo installation even without a removable tray, that’s experience talking. When he says the mostly tool-less setup is a plus, that means it’s well executed and functions as intended. Go ahead and take that info away from the review; it’s in there.

      As for the empirical testing you wanted, well, we’d love to do that, too–and we do at nearly every opportunity. But we just didn’t have time to do it this time around. The choice was not having a review vs. having the one we produced. I suppose that means we fall short of perfection, but at some point, you’ve gotta realize that the perfect mustn’t be the enemy of the good.

      I’m replying in Geoff’s stead, BTW, because he’s out today working on another assignment. He really is busy with other things, as you’ll see and understand after the coming months’ series of reviews unfolds.

        • provoko
        • 12 years ago

        l[<"perfect mustn't be the enemy of the good"<]l I don't think Sun Tzu would say that, haha. I can understand. I'll give it another read. Looking forward to more reviews. =)

    • Hance
    • 12 years ago

    Nice looking case. I really like the design of it. I would really like to get it side by side with one of the p180 series cases to compare them. Quiet is my goal above all else and the p180 makes that easy to do. The one thing that I dont like about the case is the hard drive trays. From the looks of it you have to remove both sides of the case if you want to swap a hard drive out which sucks. The p180 isnt much better though. I pulled the lower drive cage out with out watching close one day and heard something snap. When I got looking the SATA cable had snagged the fan when I pulled the cage out. The snap I heard was the SATA connector breaking off my Raptor. The plastic part of the connector snapped off clean leaving it inside of the cable. The four little brass/gold/whatever contacts were still attached to the drive. I slid the cable back over the contacts on the drive and it worked fine. I am still using it like that almost a year later. I am way more careful when i work on SATA now though.

    • PRIME1
    • 12 years ago

    Heavy and no MB tray ๐Ÿ™

    Not that either of those stop me from wanting one.

    Very nice solid looking case.

    • albundy
    • 12 years ago

    see my post on top cases:
    ยง[<http://www.techreport.com/discussions.x/13448<]ยง its the best for a good reason.

    • paulWTAMU
    • 12 years ago

    I WANT! Now taking donations via check or money order! I can’t justify the cost but good god i like how it looks, and i like the psu on the bottom.

    My wife’s blocking newegg with parental controls again ๐Ÿ™ And she changed my admin passwords ! Mean wife! And so I can’t buyt his case.call me sad. and drunk.

    • SuperSpy
    • 12 years ago

    Gorgeous case, I just wish it didn’t cost 200$.

    Great review, as always, and as others have said, it is a nice break from graph city (not that gobs of graphs are bad.)

    What happened to the digg link?

    • newbie_of_jan0502
    • 12 years ago

    I like it when you guys do case reviews I wish there where more. I guess you could say I’m a case fan. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • NeronetFi
      • 12 years ago

      80mm or 120mm?

        • eitje
        • 12 years ago

        probably closer to 1800mm. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

        he’s a big case fan. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Gungir
    • 12 years ago

    I’m still fine with my generation-one CM Stacker. I don’t plan to buy another case at any point in the future, though one of my hare-brained projects may give it a premature death. If that does happen, the Cosmos would make the short list of possible replacements.

    • Rakhmaninov3
    • 12 years ago

    Right now I’m loving my NZXT Zero full tower. It came with 7 slow-spinning, ultra-quiet 120mm fans, it’s all aluminum with a great shiny finish (I was amazed at how light it was compared to my old steel Chieftech-style tower), and has plenty of room for everything. Cool lights on the front, too.

    • HammerSandwich
    • 12 years ago

    Does TR intend to install hardware in this case and report results?

      • Dissonance
      • 12 years ago

      We assembled a system in the case as part of our evaluation process. However, without running the same hardware in similar cases, any reported results would have dubious value.

    • elmopuddy
    • 12 years ago

    Not a bad case, but I have doubts about the cooling the drives will receive.. I prefer to have at least *some* air flowing over them (I have a very quiet 92mm in the front of my Solo)

    Good review, although I’d like to see how it looks with a motherboard installed.. just a nitpick really

      • insulin_junkie72
      • 12 years ago

      l[< Not a bad case, but I have doubts about the cooling the drives will receive<]l The month or two this case has been out, that does seem to be the one problem that's cropped up with this case. Gorgeous case otherwise (although my far cheaper Centurion5 does suit my needs - although it takes more work to quiet that model because of the whole front being an intake - I have been admiring the Cosmos since it was released. $170 is a -[

    • Missile Maker
    • 12 years ago

    This case will be available in an all Aluminum version in December or January. Think I’d wait….’cept love my modded Lian-Li V1100 too much.
    Looks like the Cosmos (at least lighter aluminum version) would be a nice case for H20 set up!
    Good review, like that your doing PSUs, cases, and other items. Coolers next? Also, excellent photos!!

    • Vrock
    • 12 years ago

    Thank you for this review. All too often we only see the latest reviews of the fastest $600 graphics card or newest $1000 CPU. It’s nice to see something different.

      • flip-mode
      • 12 years ago

      Agreed, though the target audience for this item is, unsurprisingly, the same audience that buys $600 video cards and $1000 CPUs, heh.

        • Vrock
        • 12 years ago

        True, but this case also has appeal to those who want a full-featured budget overclocking rig that’s spacious and quiet.

        Honestly when it comes down to it I’m more inclined to spend $192 on an enclosure I can use for years than $600 for a video card that’s obsolete in less than two years.

          • flip-mode
          • 12 years ago

          True that.

    • flip-mode
    • 12 years ago

    Nice quality case, but, HELL NO. I’ll take a slim mATX, thank you. I’m done with cases so big they need their own street address.

      • Vrock
      • 12 years ago

      Address hell. This case needs its own ZIP code. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Spotpuff
    • 12 years ago

    I like the idea of the 12v aux extension because I know from owning an Antec P180 that this is a huge problem; routing the cable to that one stupid connector is a pain in the ass and in some cases just plain does not work. I had to do some massive cable finagling to get it to work on my Gigabyte 965P-DS3.

    But one issue I see is that the connector looks like it’s an 8 pin connector that can’t be broken apart into two 4 pin connectors, and in some cases, motherboards have the extra 4 pin connector “blocked” off by a plug, or by heatpipes from heatsinks around the socket and surface mounted VRMs.

    It’d be nice to get two separate 4 pin extenders which gives you the option of running just one of them to the appropriate plug.

    • KalieMa
    • 12 years ago

    Wow, I’m impressed. It’s like a modern SC-750A. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • SnowboardingTobi
      • 12 years ago

      I’ve still got my SC 750 case!

    • rbattle
    • 12 years ago

    Can anyone explain why this case is better than an Antec P182? I feel like this CM would be louder, though I have no data to prove that. However, given all those fans I could guess it is. I have a P182 that I put some fancy and slightly undervolted fans in and you can not hear it at all with the HDs suspended with bungy cord. (My CPU cooler is super quiet and my GPU is cooled by an undervolted fan on a “fanless” designed heatsink.) But back to the point, why spend more on this CM when the P182 is likely quieter and is certainly cheaper?

      • ssidbroadcast
      • 12 years ago

      Wait, HDs suspended by /[

        • mortifiedPenguin
        • 12 years ago

        I think its a vibration reduction technique, the HD is hanging from the case somewhere using bungee cord. If the HD isn’t touching any metal, no vibration to produce sound. How safe it is for the HD on the other hand, I can’t really say other than it sounds hazardus.

          • indeego
          • 12 years ago

          They do make rubber spacers nows… and have for a whileg{<...<}g I like the idea of my HDD doing a trapeze act while I workg{<.<}g

        • elmopuddy
        • 12 years ago

        Have a look at the Antec Solo case, it has that feature built it.. its amazing how much it reduces noise..

        EP

          • willyolio
          • 12 years ago

          wow. it think i’ll do this for my next build, but for my DVD drives. those make so much more noise and vibration than HDs do.

        • eitje
        • 12 years ago

        ยง[<http://www.silentpcreview.com/article8-page2.html<]ยง I did this w/ mobile drives in a Shuttle system; it's so beautiful & silent.

      • morphine
      • 12 years ago

      Ditto. Antec P182 – $140. Cosmos 100 – $170. The standard P180 goes for $114.

      The Cosmos gives you an additional fan and more screw-less systems (I liked the “tray” HDD mounts, but I think the top-facing fan on the Antec is a better choice.The P182 also has a soundproofed door, and I would guess, at least the potential to be slightly quieter (I do notice quite some difference having the front door open), and the fans are speed-adjustable if some more airflow is needed.

      Going from there, I think this is a very neat case, sure, but the P182 seems to be roughly the same, for roughly 18% less money.

    • fpsduck
    • 12 years ago

    Wow! 6-HDD drive bays is really got me.

    But why eSTAT/USB/Firewire ports on top with no cover ???
    Can’t imagine if I spilled my soft drink on it.

    BTW, to Enclosure/Chassis manufacturers
    it’s time to add more USB ports.
    New mobo has 2 or 3 USB headers on the board already.

    • evermore
    • 12 years ago

    The hard drive mounts are neat and all, with the nice looking handles, and routing the cables behind other stuff, but why in the world would they design it so that in order to touch the drive cables at all, you have to either open the other side of the case, or pull the drive entirely out of it? And unless you unplug it beforehand, you risk ripping a cable out and possibly causing damage. SATA cables aren’t hard to route, and you’re only saving a tiny bit of exposed cabling with them laid out like this. If they’d put in a backplane style board that you could just leave power and data cables plugged into, and not have to worry about them when you move a drive, that would have been awesome.

    The Antec Sonata III’s bays would have been a good fit in this case. They’re not sideways for one thing (mounting that way doesn’t affect the drive, but it leaves the data and power cables hanging on their long axis, possibly making them more likely to fall out or break I think). And you can remove the drive cables without touching the drives, they just slide out by squeezing spring clips like all Antec rails and most others I’ve seen.

    Where does the optional drive fan go? Is it a special shape for mounting only in that case, which it sounds like with the “Cooler Master also offers an optional hard drive fan”.

    Another reason for having the PSU at the bottom would be those drive cages; a PSU at the top might not be able to get its SATA power cables quite that far down and forward.

    I think my Fortron 400W PSU’s 24-pin power cable wouldn’t manage to reach from the bottom to a top-mounted mainboard plug. Seems silly that they’d make PSUs where the main cable could stretch the entire height of a full ATX tower, but the 4/8-pin auxiliary cable is only 8 inches long.

    Peel off that foam insulation, see how it affects the noise levels.

    200 bucks is a lot of money for a case with no PSU though, and one that’s so heavy. It’s even relatively low on flashiness which usually is an excuse for high prices. A hundred bucks for a nice heavy steel case would be more reasonable. It’s not like the plastic is expensive.

    • hans
    • 12 years ago

    I was considering this case just today. Then I saw the price tag. With the Antec P180 under $100, I can’t find a reason to justify the extra $100. Especially with all the cheap-looking plastic.

    I’d dig the vertically-mounted hard drives if they ran along the length of the case. Running across it seems like they’d stop airflow dead.

    In the end, what is the motivation for buying this case? It can hold a ridiculous amount of drives, if you use 5.25 to 3.5 adapters. Then you’d really need all the fans it can handle. With 500 GB & 1 TB models, how many people need 12 drives? Lately I prefer a few drives internally, with an eSATA/USB multi-bay enclosure.

    • mortifiedPenguin
    • 12 years ago

    Two thoughts:
    1) Wish I could buy one.
    2) Too bad its hernia inducing with a full build inside it (I move my computers around from my apartment to my parent’s place every so often)

      • eitje
      • 12 years ago

      just for fun? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Sargent Duck
    • 12 years ago

    Nice case. I really like the looks of it, and it’s something that I wouldn’t be embarrassed to show off.

    Nice article Geoff, and much appreciated. I very much like reading about computer stuff that isn’t “mainstream” (ie, CPU’s, GPU’s and such).

      • ssidbroadcast
      • 12 years ago

      Yeah not to knock the looks, but it looks like it could be the Transformer “Frenzy” (/[

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This