The TR Podcast: Episode 1


Date: February 9, 2008

Time: 1:09:38

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Cyril Kowaliski, Geoff Gasior

Listen now:

Download the episodeMP3M4A

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

Show Notes

Our debut episode features all of your favorite staffers from The Tech Report! Scott starts of by introducing Geoff, Cyril, and Jordan (a new member of the team and host of The TR Podcast). Our editors talk about the latest tech news, including Nvidia’s buyout of Ageia, Microsoft’s bid for Yahoo and more. Geoff and Scott talk about the latest PSU roundup and Skulltrail, and Cyril explains the pricing between AMD’s Radeon HD 3870 and Nvidia’s GeForce 8800 GT. Future episodes will be released every other Saturday right here on the front page.

Send in listener mail and we’ll answer on the podcast! – jdrake@techreport.com

Tech News:

Tech Topics:

Comments closed
    • Hoser
    • 12 years ago

    I finally got around to listening to this and I am impressed. Very well done. It helped make the bus ride into work less monotonous.

    • glynor
    • 12 years ago

    I’m so excited I can’t even handle it… Thanks a LOT!!

    • kevleviathan
    • 12 years ago

    I added this to the Zune software by entering the RSS feed address. It worked fine but only the first 15 minutes of the show are actually downloaded and it loops those first 15 minutes for about an hour. If i transfer it to the Zune, it plays for about 28 minutes and then stops.
    Weird?

      • jdrake
      • 12 years ago

      I just took the zune feed down – I’m going to work on it a bit.

        • kevleviathan
        • 12 years ago

        Roger, appreciate the hard work. What I heard sounded great!

    • just brew it!
    • 12 years ago

    Listened to it on the way to/from work yesterday. Very cool.

    Already looking forward to the next one!

    • Hance
    • 12 years ago

    I never thought I would ever download a podcast but this changed my mind. I spend a huge amount of time behind the steering wheel because of my job. This is a good change from listening to Sirius Octane 20 non stop everyday all day.

    • FroBozz_Inc
    • 12 years ago

    Great work everyone! I’m digging my first ever listened to podcast.

    Downloaded it yesterday at a remote site while at work, burned to CD, and listened to on my way home from there (1.5 hour drive). Duration was perfect.

    Interesting stuff, great to hear from the staff members in this new format.
    Looking forward to future podcasts! I like the lighter tone the discussions have and hearing opinions from the reviewers and Damage.

    Can iTunes (what I have at work) burn .m4a files? Maybe that way chapters would work in the car.

    FroBozz

      • just brew it!
      • 12 years ago

      q[

        • jdrake
        • 12 years ago

        Yup! Skype is the limitation as far as audio quality is concerned. I use joint-stereo because the intro has some cool R and L effects… and then of course we have the mono voices.

    • SlyFerret
    • 12 years ago

    Nice looking logo for the show guys! I look forward to listening to your premiere episode. I’m adding it to my subscriptions right now!

    -SF

    • Ricardo Dawkins
    • 12 years ago

    where is my Zune feed ?

      • jdrake
      • 12 years ago

      Working on it!

      • isaacg
      • 12 years ago

      I’m pretty sure Zune lets you add any RSS URL…

    • DrDillyBar
    • 12 years ago

    Absolutely fantastic. This was perfect for a casual Sat/Sun. Great to hear everyone timidly speaking into their mic’s for the first few min’s while they grew accustomed to it.
    The length of the podcast is fine in my books. Not sure if you can break it into chapters, and zip it all together or not for those that want to seek easily through the topics, but I’m good either way.

    On Ageia, I think one point of note is that their API is also fully licensed by Sony for use on the PS3, so is available to any developer if they choose as part of the toolset. They just don’t I suppose, should show them some of the early CellFactor videos…. Ageia also originally claimed that they could move more of thier API into hardware when they chose, as if they were holding onto that until they had market penetration (that my be hearsay tho). Lots of good discussions around here in early 2006 about physics.

    As for Skulltrail, I miss the dual CPU days. I just wish I didn’t have to buy a Xeon to get 4+ channels of ULV FB-DIMM… (I’m usually quite alone in that assertion)

    Listening to that live would require an IRC channel for people to comment for fear of their heads exploding for the need to add to the conversation. πŸ˜€ *chuckle*

    Jordan needs to do a bit of back reading on key concepts me thinks, or eash episode will sound like you’re explaining it to him, not talking to us. lol. You do need a media guy for this though. (the fanboy thing made me laugh)

    All in all, good stuff.

      • jdrake
      • 12 years ago

      Although I’ve been in the tech world for quite a while now (IT support – working as a technician etc.) I’m still not quite the geek that the other guys are:-). This will obviously change as I spend more time with these guys. Also, we kinda decided that I ask the dumb questions (even if I knew the answers… which I do) for the sake of those who aren’t as technically adept. As we get feedback from the listeners, we might take a more advanced tone. For now, we want to appeal to a wider audience. Scott mentioned that in the intro segment I believe.

      On Ageia – we did talk a LOT about this topic (covered most of what you said) but I cut it down for sake of time.

      On the process – Yes… we’re using skype – I use software that records the skype audio – the team all bought high end headsets – which really helped the quality

      This is our first episode, so you can expect a lot of growth in both the presentation style and content of the podcast – many of your ideas are things we are already working on… so this will get better and better!

      Keep the ideas coming guys!

      • Kraft75
      • 12 years ago

      They have chapters, and they actually have different pictures for each chapter. Maybe you only downloaded the mp3 file, but the podcast rss that points to the m4a has this feature.

    • Kraft75
    • 12 years ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed this podcast. Great show! I think having a host is a good idea, you need someone to ask questions and keep it rollin’. About the lenght, I don’t have any issue. I listen between one and two Coast To Coast AM shows daily, and each show is 2 hours and a half without commercials. Your podcast to me is like an entree compare to what I’m used to, especially if you’re going to do it once every two weeks.

    I really enjoyed the efforts put into making chapters, and I noticed you have different pictures for each chapters, way cool! I want more of those, and when you guys were discussing justbrewit’s flux capacitor, I would have liked to have looked at my ipod to see that pictured.

    Keep it up guys, good stuff!

    Kraft75

    EDIT: Oh yeah, next time have some reader mail for sure… it’s fun to hear from you, but it’s great to hear about fellow contributors.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 12 years ago

    Coming from a guy who listens to downloaded runs of “old” Loveline (1hour, 40min w/out commercials) : It’s not too long. Don’t worry about length.

    The actual TR guys were great. Not sure if I like the host (sorry). Sounds too much like DJ Stryker or his ilk. Also obviously not a guy with a tech background. Broadcasting degree, maybe? Nice guy, just a little grating on the nerves.

    • Dposcorp
    • 12 years ago

    Nice job guys.
    Great to put some voices with the names, and the few faces we have seen now and then.

    Just a few comments:

    *Not every time, but once in a while, can this be done live, with questions phoneed, IM’d, emailed in near the end?

    I know not everyone, everywhere will be awake, but depending on what time you guys do it, for those who are around, it might be cool to send a specific question in on a article or anything really.

    *Can some thought be put in to including extra stuff that didn’t make it to a review, or thoughts or opinions that you maybe didn’t want to include online? Any extras to make the podcast more appealing would be cool.

    *I thought I heard that you guys used Skype, but not sure, so I am just wondering about the technical aspect of what it takes to do this.
    Hardware, software, etc…?

    Everyone sounded very clear.

    *Lastly, I had the same problem as #4, q[

    • Majiir Paktu
    • 12 years ago

    I liked it, it was fun and entertaining and all, but… it was nothing new. For any of the TR regulars who will listen to this anyway, it was all the same old stuff we’ve been reading about for the last week or two. Keep in mind you’re running a community here, not just a newsreel; you /[

      • emi25
      • 12 years ago

      hey, this is the first, let them think, I am sure they will get used to this.

    • Prototyped
    • 12 years ago

    Good podcast. I especially enjoyed Damage’s veteran insight.

    It’d be nice if one of you could write some “meeting minutes” or “highlights” for those of us who are debating whether or not to spend over an hour listening to the podcast. Indeed, I imagine that if the highlights appeal to readers, you’ll end up with /[

    • ReAp3r-G
    • 12 years ago

    loving every nanosecond of this podcast…been waiting for such a thing for a long time now

    good job guys and you guys rock! XD

    • Smurfer2
    • 12 years ago

    Just finished listening. At first I thought it might be a little long, but as I passed the hour mark I didn’t want it to end. πŸ™ So my vote is to not change the length.

    • indeego
    • 12 years ago

    My only concern is it takes away from your probably overburdened schedules reviewing products. I imagine you’ve thought about this and weighed the options. Podcasts aren’t really my thing, I’m one of the rare birds that doesn’t really like background or foreground noise/music/sound and silence is Kingg{.}g

    • Fighterpilot
    • 12 years ago

    Yes,heaven forbid any consideration being given to the “presentation”.
    Perhaps a download in binary code would be much better suited to an ubergeek like yourself. ________>-[

    • danny e.
    • 12 years ago

    Overall, I enjoyed it. The length didn’t bother me since its the weekend and I was at my desk anyways. However, I think it could be trimmed down a little.

    Personally, I think if you’re going to review past articles then there should be segments or “tracks” so that those of us who read the articles can skip that stuff. .. unless you’re going to be sharing additional informative material that did not make it into the article..

    What I’d like to see more of is whats coming down the road.. what articles are in the works (as much as you can share anyways), some of your own personal purchases (computer gear, games.. even electronic gadgets) and how those items worked out.

    I disagree very much with the comment that we need more “personality” to make it interesting. I’m a geek and what interests me are knowledgable people giving me their opinions & insights in the manner in which they are comfortable.. so, please dont try to change yourselfs to be more “interesting” in audio. I thought everyone did very well.

    • gerbilspy
    • 12 years ago

    The TR podcast is a good idea. Geat logo!
    I’m looking forward to the next one.
    Oh yea, and the music….:)

    • Gnerma
    • 12 years ago

    I’m very glad you guys have decided to step up to the podcasting plate. I’m also very happy with the approach you’re taking.

    Some of the other comments are suggesting a looser more lighthearted atmosphere. I’m going to chime in and say that I prefer the “pure meat” approach. I listen to a lot of podcasts and it’s really a shame when ego’s get a little out of control and they do more joking around and going off on tangents than actually discussing the intended topic. Some good examples of this on the gaming front are 1UP Yours (good), GameSpy Debriefings (happy medium), IGN’s Podcast Beyond (bad).

    I don’t read a motherboard review because I want it to make me laugh and I feel the same way about a hardware podcast.

    • bdwilcox
    • 12 years ago

    Scott mentioned boot magazine. *sniff* Oh, boot, how I miss thee! And Andrew Sanchez, may he rest in peace.

    • Flying Fox
    • 12 years ago

    Obviously I haven’t listened to it yet, but did Damage get a new mic? πŸ˜‰

      • danny e.
      • 12 years ago

      yes, at the very end he says “and now to put on my new mic.” after that the sound is more more clear.

    • Nitrodist
    • 12 years ago

    You guys sound like nerds when you laugh πŸ˜€

      • Plinth
      • 12 years ago

      I was actually surprised by how un-nerdy they all sounded. Except when they laughed πŸ˜›

    • BenBasson
    • 12 years ago

    Really not bad at all for a first podcast.I’ve added this to my list of subscriptions and eagerly await future editions. Neat Flash player too. Oh, and congratulations on having literally the first podcast I’ve ever downloaded that is well tagged.

    • Xenolith
    • 12 years ago

    When are you going video?

      • Jigar
      • 12 years ago

      ditto my thoughts …

    • FireGryphon
    • 12 years ago

    Listening now…

    Excellent! I’m already looking forward to future podcasts. It’s great to see TR branching out.

    Welcome to the team, Jordan.

    I’m especially looking forward to the community involvement. Any gerbils who are using new hardware can talk about their experiences with it.

    • Convert
    • 12 years ago

    I didn’t mind the length, what else am I going to listen to while I work other than the nagging thought that this 9700 zalman has become much louder over time?

    One question, when you guys were talking about the PS’s and you mention having to use a higher end one for the SLI testing because of connector load issues, the conversation seems to hint towards amount of connectors but then hints towards rail draw. Did you mean a little of both? Just curious is all, the reason being that tidbits of information like this that you learn from being hands on with hardware is invaluable. I know it’s kind of a “no duh” moment to think a system can draw too much power but one would think these high end units would be able to stand up to it and perhaps there can be a reason for a 1kw+ ps even if the system doesn’t draw close to that. Just as you mention in the podcast.

    So basically the nuggets of information that don’t make it into the reviews are great.

    • Forge
    • 12 years ago

    Whointhehellis Jordan Drake?

    I feel old. At this rate I’ll predate almost the entire TR staff in another year or two. πŸ™

    Podcast. Cool. I’ll listen Monday at work. 70+ minutes? Rock.

      • emi25
      • 12 years ago

      Oh, no, not you Forge, do NOT leave.

    • TurtlePerson2
    • 12 years ago

    This podcast is excellent for your first to be released. I agree with the earlier suggestion about user mail. Maybe it shouldn’t be done all at once, but between each story you could read a question and answer it.

    • shermanradio
    • 12 years ago

    I just listened to the whole thing. It was horrible. Recap:

    Tech Report shitty podcast

    7:46 – when they finally moved past the fucking intros and got the program started

    7:47 – first topic: nvidia buys ageia…no more ppu hardware??

    15:05 – next topic: microsoft! offers! to! buy! a! company! with! an! exclamation point! failure!

    19:45 – ends on microsoft’s bid being “cheap” (offer is 50/50 cash/stock)

    21:21 – Silverthorne x86: Intel says in order, low power chips are better (hyperthreading makes a comeback??)

    24:48 – X48 intel chipset, coming to >$200 motherboards soon

    26:46 – apple macbook air vs. new lenovo

    33:30 – host says “don’t go away”. hey asshole…you lost them in the first 90 seconds

    34:04 – power supplies

    45:00 – do you need more than 400 watts? wait, triple sli takes 600

    46:46 – Skulltrail platform – what’s with intel code names? do they all start with s?

    52:00 – best part: crossfire and sli on the same board BUT no 3-way

    57:00 – gpu discussion 8800gt vs 3870

    1:04:04 – dual 3 vs. quad 2.4 intel, recap of other hardware combos

    Please learn to move things along. That was the worst broadcast I’ve ever heard.

    – Sherman

      • Krogoth
      • 12 years ago

      tsk, tsk, it is hard to please everybody.

      BTW, 1/10 for trolling attempt.

        • shermanradio
        • 12 years ago

        I’m sorry, but you can’t spend almost the first 8 minutes talking about the broadcast itself. I gave the podcast a chance (having listened to the entire thing), but I didn’t like it. Is saying that a crime?

          • eitje
          • 12 years ago

          as the messenger, if you don’t want to be shot, then you need to think about your delivery.

          think about HOW you offered your “advice,” and see if there’s any way to be more constructive in the future. πŸ™‚

    • emi25
    • 12 years ago

    Ha ha ha, you managed to get over the first emotions. Nice podcast.

    • odizzido
    • 12 years ago

    TBH I am not interested in a podcast. I clicked it just to see what you guys sound like.

    • crazybus
    • 12 years ago

    I haven’t listened to the podcast but I really like the logo.

    • Convert
    • 12 years ago

    So as I said, I would pay for this. YGPP.

    Thanks again guys, I am doing remote work as I listen to this right now.

    • rodidas
    • 12 years ago

    Great Podcast Guys πŸ™‚
    It is evident that some of you guys were a little nervous but that will pass with more practise. Here are a few tips for your podcast that will improve it:
    – Dedicate the last say 20 to 15minutes to reader mail, where before your podcast each week start a thread for any questions board readers might have, whether it is about the lastest hardware or seeking advice/guidence etc.
    – Have a /[

      • Sargent Duck
      • 12 years ago

      *[<- Have a little more personality in your speach. I am not trying to take anything away from you guys, your all great and i can understand that you might not have much experience with public speaking, but dont be afraid to poke a little fun at each other and be more 'emotive' if you know what i am saying. If you do this, you will attract an audience that not only enjoys listening to the podcast because of all the great tech info, but they will also tune in because they enjoy listening to you.<]* ala Top Gear presenters? Those 3 guys could sit around a coffee table drinking tea (inconsistent isn't it?) and be talking about the Queen's breakfast and they'd still have millions of viewers. Give it time though. I'm sure after a few podcasts we'll start seeing TR's great humor and Scott/Geoff/Cyril's personalities shine through.

    • Fighterpilot
    • 12 years ago

    Just finished TRPodcast 1,not a bad effort for a first episode guys.
    It’s clear that the tone used in the written reports doesn’t carry over as well however when being presented in an audio format.
    You are going to need different people IMO to present the material,some voices and personality types just don’t translate well into an interesting, vibrant style most suitable for an entertaining broadcast.
    ie:”Not everyone can be a DJ”
    I suggest submissions in audio format or a quick Skype type “interview/demo” be solicited from the TR members first to get an idea of who has the engaging,listenable style necessary to grab and hold the audience’s attention.

    • Ragnar Dan
    • 12 years ago

    Granted, I’m using a version of Winamp from several years ago (v. 2.80), but… do you have an ID3 tag in your MP3? I don’t see any if you do. If you don’t have one, you ought to.

    • data8504
    • 12 years ago

    I might get flamed for this… but 70 minutes!?!? Too long, guys! Too long! Pruning is necessary…

    • Sargent Duck
    • 12 years ago

    I’m streaming it right from the browser, with no hiccups or issues.

    I must say this is pretty interesting getting to hear our fear-less leaders in action (ok, I’ll stop shut up now). Must say though, Love the picture.

    However is the podcast always going to be this long? Is it going to be a different length each week (depending on news items), or are you looking into setting a standard 1/2 hour or hour length? Just curious.

      • Irascible
      • 12 years ago

      As long as that nearly 8 minute intro does not become standard, I’m cool with whatever length. πŸ˜‰

        • jdrake
        • 12 years ago

        Yup… that was just something for our debut episode… future intro’s will be much shorter.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 12 years ago

    Hey when I click on “Subscribe w/ iTunes” it doesn’t work. I get a white page with a bunch of related text.

    (Using Opera 9.25 w/ Mac OS X 10.5)

      • jdrake
      • 12 years ago

      We’re waiting for iTunes to approve the podcast… then we will update that link.

        • slavik6
        • 12 years ago

        just drag the link into itunes. it’s an rss so it will just add to your podcast subscriptions.

          • Jantmass
          • 12 years ago

          Thanks! That sure makes it easy.

    • neon
    • 12 years ago

    Good listening for about 7 or 8 minutes, then abrupt stoppage. Hm…

    r[

    • GeForce6200
    • 12 years ago

    Very Nice, going to download and finish listening. Look forward to more. Thanks

    • Plinth
    • 12 years ago

    Haven’t listened, but yay!

    • Heiwashin
    • 12 years ago

    This is wonderful, i’m gonna listen as soon as i get to work.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This