The TR Podcast 7: Of chicks and chips


Date: May 31, 2008

Time: 1:25:32

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Cyril Kowaliski, Geoff Gasior

Listen now:

Download the episodeMP3M4A

Subscribe to the PodcastRSS (MP3) | RSS (m4a) | iTunes (Enhanced) | iTunes (MP3)

Show Notes

Episode 7 returns to our classic podcast format. Listener mail takes us all the way from portable media to geeks looking for a spouse or partner. In tech news, we take a look at the ultraportable market, as well as a cornucopia of the latest Nvidia news, direct from Santa Clara. We wrap things up with discussions of our CPU and GPU value articles and the P45 chipset from Intel.

Send in listener mail and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Listener Mail:

The Office (0:02:28) – from Garrett:

“Please tell Scott I have watched “The Office” twice and I find it totally stupid. I have tried to enjoy it…there is really nothing to enjoy in my opinion. HAHA!”

Where’s my media? (0:03:58) – From Garrett:

“Why on earth can I still not easily get “media” of the Television kind on the devices I want to watch them on? MP3 players, PC, etc. Sure there are some services attempting to resolve some of these consumer voids like Hulu.com, Joost.com and others but the selection of shows is down right pitiful. What do you guys think of the idea of companies including a copy of the movie on your DVD that is in a portable format (wmv, mov, avi or something) I think if I buy the first series of the new Battlestar Galactica on DVD I think I should be able to drag and drop a copy to my ZEN…is this to much to ask?”

What does a geek look for in a spouse or partner? (0:12:10) – From Garrett:

“I have been married for 16 years to my High School Sweetheart, we have four kids and these are some of the attributes of my wonderful spouse: Independent – funny – patient – beautiful – creative – caring – gives me space”

Tech News:

    The ultraportable market: Eee PC updates, new tech from VIA, and a line of Eee PC killers (0:21:07) – Read more234

    Nvidia editor’s day: GPU optimization for Photoshop, a folding client for GeForce and more (0:37:29) – Read more2

Tech Topics:

    Our CPU and GPU value articles (0:56:51) – CPUsGPUs

    Asus P45 Motherboard reviews and a trip to Taiwan (1:10:10) – ReviewsTaiwan

That’s all, folks! Check back on June 14 for the next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • A_Pickle
    • 13 years ago

    So uh…

    …not trying to complain or anything, but… since there’s an .m4a file out for iTunes users… can we get some .wma love?

    • Pax-UX
    • 13 years ago

    Great podcast, best one yet.

    • axeman
    • 13 years ago

    I’ll add 2 cents on the “Media Center PC”… I don’t think this idea will ever gain much traction, and therefore become a mature market as long as it is encumbered by greed and DRM. Not to mention, many DVD players and TVs have a pretty terrible interface, we have lightyears to go to get to a point where a computer is easily remote controlled. On the other hand, good interface or not, people are COMFORTABLE with PCs. With LCD TVs being the norm, an ordinary PC and regular OS of your choice with a cordless keyboard and mouse is more than usable enough, and you don’t have to learn a new interface, plus it works as a regular PC just fine. The resolution versus size of most TVs doesn’t make font size and readability a problem whatsoever. As far as transferring movies to your ipod/portable, there are plenty of pretty easy tools to do it yourself and get better results than the Hollywood cartels will ever give you anyways. I’d mention a few, but it’d probably be against the rules.

      • A_Pickle
      • 13 years ago

      I dunno. Media Center PC’s could be the death of consoles, and the death of modern, stupid, home theater setups. With one desktop box, I’m able to do things that /[

        • totoro
        • 13 years ago

        I can do all of those things with my PS3.

    • BoBzeBuilder
    • 13 years ago

    Instigate the podcast in the company of some heavy metal tunes please. May I advocate Megadeth?

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 13 years ago

    Okay after a full listen, I got a couple of things:

    – That Synthetic Motion concept sounds *extremely* cool. Hand-animation is really expensive, and the animators behind that are in-turn quite expensive as well.

    -Overall, the CUDA platform sounds really, really promising.

    -I’d like to mention that the indexing of these podcasts is really handy, and a cool feature.

    -Thanks for sortof updating the bumpers a bit. I still think the intro/extro twangy-funk guitar is cheesy as all heck, though.

    -Question for Drake for next podcast: Since I assume you normally use an apple computer that holds your music library, what happens when you plug a Zune into the mac? Does it explode? Does your mac explode?

      • UberGerbil
      • 13 years ago

      g[

    • wingless
    • 13 years ago

    Nvidia’s CUDA will change the software world (I hope) and justify these $400 GPUs I’ve been buying all these years. Hopefully other companies will follow Adobe’s lead and get more functionality on GPU hardware. This advantage doesn’t just extend to Nvidia GPUs. ATI’s have been capable since the R500 series only this GPGPU feature had never been taken advantage of outside of Folding@Home. I’m looking forward to seeing more software development happening that will utilize the GPU.

    Maybe the days of requiring an ultra fast CPU to get the job done really is coming to an end. All we’ll need CPUs for is to get the work to the GPU in a timely manner.

      • srg86
      • 13 years ago

      GPUs are only good for tasks that are highly parallel, for the rest you still need fast CPUs. I know I’d much rather have a fast CPU than a fast GPU.

      • UberGerbil
      • 13 years ago

      g[

    • Prototyped
    • 13 years ago

    The big advantage that the MSI Wind holds over its competitors is its price. It apparently is to cost $400 (Linux), which is what the Eee PC 700 costs today, but comes with an Atom like the Eee PC 901 and 1000 will have. It also has a more comfortably-sized keyboard and is sized similarly to the 1000. Unlike the Eee PC 1000, which is to cost $550 (Linux) or $650 (Windows), for which you could probably get a Dell Vostro or similar, the Wind is to actually be a decent value.

    And this isn’t even considering the full-size 2.5″ drive, which can actually store a substantial amount of stuff (and could likely be replaced with a 7200 rpm drive if the owner so desired).

    VR-Zone even has teardown pics:

    ยง[<http://www.vr-zone.com/articles/MSI_Wind_PC_Dissection_and_Power_Consumption_Test/5802.html<]ยง Regarding the value article for the CPUs, Damage mentioned (perhaps as a response to a couple of comments -- including mine -- complaining about the lack of the Pentium Dual-core processors) that it's worth spending a bit more to go for a middle-range processor rather than a value processor. How about demonstrating this in the next value article with evidence? ;) As I commented earlier, two of the articles I've seen indicate that the Pentium Dual-core processors aren't very far behind the E4xxx and E6xxx processors at similar clock rates on desktop-type workloads, and they're very popular among budget-conscious system builders. I'd like to see TR's take on this. Especially since you included the Extreme Edition processors in the comparison (which are completely silly unless you have an Intel employee or family & friends discount).

      • Pax-UX
      • 13 years ago

      I just got an Eee PC 701 for โ‚ฌ299 and it great. For me it’s all about the price point you can use it for anything you’d normally do but it’s cheaper then most PDAs or Internet Tablets. Those other more expensive models are just over priced and you can get better value on discount Laptops with 14″/15″ screens.

    • rodidas
    • 13 years ago

    Yay, i love the podcast ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you guys had a nice vacation.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 13 years ago

    Who in the hell is /[

      • eitje
      • 13 years ago

      you’re off-point, man.

        • ssidbroadcast
        • 13 years ago

        Yeah I guess I am being a bit rough, but not off point.

        • UberGerbil
        • 13 years ago

        No he’s not. They’re legitimate questions, and they’re precisely about the topic at hand.

        However, I think he may have excessively high expectations for something that’s essentially an excuse for geeks to goof around and shoot the sh*t.

          • eitje
          • 13 years ago

          asking a legitimate question doesn’t put you on point!

          to the best of my knowledge, someone actually has to say “you’re on point” for you to be on point. ๐Ÿ˜›

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This