The TR Podcast 9: The big announcement


Date: July 12, 2008

Time: 1:25:32

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Cyril Kowaliski, Geoff Gasior

Listen now:

Download the episodeMP3M4A

Subscribe to the PodcastRSS (MP3) | RSS (m4a) | iTunes (Enhanced) | iTunes (MP3)

Show Notes

Since the last episode, the graphics industry has seen major GPU introductions from both Nvidia and AMD. This time around, we consider the pros and cons of the GeForce GTX 260 and 280 and the Radeon HD 4850 and 4870. In the tech news section, the editors cover the iPhone release, financial troubles for Nvidia, and the latest iteration of the Eee PC from Asus. Also, as a bonus, Jordan makes a big podcast announcement.

Send in listener mail and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Tech News:

    Apple rolls out the iPhone 3G (0:03:58) – Read more

    Bad financial forecast for Nvidia (0:22:42) – Read more

    Atom-based Eee PCs arrive in North America (0:33:24) – Read more

Tech Topics:

    Nvidia’s GeForce GTX 280 graphics processor (0:36:35) – Read more

    PR shenanigans from Nvidia and AMD (0:48:59) – Read more

    AMD’s Radeon 4870 and 4850 GPUs (0:58:17) – Read more

That’s all, folks! Check back on July 19th for the next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • ssidbroadcast
    • 12 years ago

    Hey jdrake, thanks for the shout-out. Really made my day : ) !

    Edit: Hey I’d like to add /[

      • ThorAxe
      • 12 years ago

      Amen to that.

      • A_Pickle
      • 12 years ago

      Alright, this is in part true — graphics don’t make everything in a game.

      But, Crysis /[

        • ssidbroadcast
        • 12 years ago

        q[< for instance, why do I need to be rendering volumetric clouds? They're 30,000 feet above me. There are no cloud levels in Crysis. There is absolutely no need to render that. Even if you have the system to do it, there are much, much cheaper ways to render realistic clouds that you will never get a close-up glimpse of.<]q Perhaps you're not looking close enough, or noticing. Yeah, the clouds up in the sky make use of volumetric lighting--you might be angry at that--but meanwhile you're forgetting that the rays under the surface of the water are based off that same system, or the smoke trail from a launched rocket, or even steam emitted from a pipe (/[

          • A_Pickle
          • 12 years ago

          g[

            • ssidbroadcast
            • 12 years ago

            If by X you mean 4 GPUs… other than finding a way to fit them in there, I don’t see why not.

    • ThorAxe
    • 12 years ago

    Great news about the podcast.

    • A_Pickle
    • 12 years ago

    I dunno — I agree with the comment about how C|Net takes these “iPhone killers” seriously, and refers to them as “iPhone killers” seriously. You’re quite right, the Instinct and the Voyager aren’t even close — they simply are your typical, proprietary, dumb phones (with no flash/javascript/entire internet support, no software/firmware updates, no application support, and no PC sync support) with touchscreens. That’s all they are.

    Now, I will defend Windows Mobile/Palm/Blackberry phones, simply because they’ve been around for quite awhile, and they’ve been able to do what the iPhone was capable of doing for quite awhile. I’ll admit — they’re not as elegant or as Apple-pretty as the iPhone, but as far as capabilities go, the only thing that the iPhone REALLY brings to the table is that it is the first phone that could honestly replace a good MP3 player. It has a good amount of built-in storage which, prior to the introduction of the iPhone, was simply unmatchable even with expandable storage. That’s it. Push e-mail, web surfing, software updates, browsers with flash support and an application library?

    Oooh, and the iPhone has a GOOD voicemail system. I’ll give it that. Mad props there. 😀

      • d0g_p00p
      • 12 years ago

      The thing I hate about the Visual Voicemail is that every phone on AT&T’s network can use that feature. AT&T spent a *huge* amount of money building that infrastructure but only Apple and the iPhone can use it? it’s a really crappy tacit to make the iPhone seem superior and I hope AT&T wakes up and enables this for all the phones on their network.

        • A_Pickle
        • 12 years ago

        Yeah, I’m inclined to agree with that one. And I think that’s something that will, again, relegate the Apple product into the elite niche of phones as competing companies come out with products to rival the iPhone.

        Put simply, the iPhone may be the most well-done smartphone out there now, but the so-called “iPhone killers” are the beginning of what may be the end of the iPhone’s fanfare if Apple continues along it’s path of it’s typical, rigid, lock-in mentality. When smartphones become economically viable for everyone, some people won’t be willing to put forth the premium that an Apple-brand phone calls for, seeking instead to get 80% of the functionality in a phone that’s 30% the price of the iPhone.

        EDIT: Here’s a phone that, frankly, I’d go with before the iPhone in a flash:

        §[<http://www.engadget.com/2008/06/04/the-htc-touch-pro/<]§

    • wingless
    • 12 years ago

    I’m wondering what the SECRET REVIEW next Saturday will be about. I love speculation so I’ll make the first guesses:

    1) SB750 motherboard overclocking preview
    2) 45nm Deneb preview
    3) Nehalem preview
    4) 4870X2 preview
    5) Emotiv Neuro-headset preview

    Heh, more previews than reviews, but thats the only new tech that are due out sooner than later that I can think of. Any more guesses? We can make it a friendly competition to see who nails it on the head next Saturday.

    • glynor
    • 12 years ago

    Very glad to hear that it’ll be weekly. Please try to keep it regular as much as possible. You’ve been fairly hit or miss thus far, and it is pretty disappointing when one of your (near-instant favorite) podcasts doesn’t show up when it is supposed to…

    Thanks again, though. It has been great so far!

    • Moe_Szyslak
    • 12 years ago

    The enhanced feed on iTunes stops playing after about 3,5 minutes. It just stops. When I try to start playing half way through the show it simply refuses to start. This happened before in a previous episode. That time it stopped half way through. Is there an explanation for this?

      • jdrake
      • 12 years ago

      We’ve had one other report of this problem – I’m going to re-compress and re-upload the m4a file tonight.

      Thanks for the note!

        • Moe_Szyslak
        • 12 years ago

        That’s great. I’ll check it out.

        Thank you.

        Edit: It works perfectly now.

      • Hance
      • 12 years ago

      I had the same thing happen to me a couple of times. I downloaded the file again and it worked fine.

    • odizzido
    • 12 years ago

    So what was the big news?

      • Prototyped
      • 12 years ago

      That the podcast is going weekly.

        • indeego
        • 12 years ago

        This changes everythingg{.}g

          • odizzido
          • 12 years ago

          Do you feel different? better? Is it a new sensation springing out from your upper lip to every other part of your body? Is it a feeling you can’t quite describe. Is it a, is it a savy kinda feeling? A swavy kinda feeling? Kind of a…..kind of a moustache feeling?

    • rodidas
    • 12 years ago

    Great podcast guys.

    I have a suggestion; now that you will be (SPOILER ALERT!!!) running the show weekly, it would be interesting to hear you guys comment on speculative/rumour news once and a while.

    Otherwise the cast is great; although i do feel that the podcast needs a catchier name, i dont know, maybe the Super SXE Cyril Hour, something along those lines (or not). But it needs a name that is catchier and more recognisable.

    EDIT: on second thoughts, this may be difficult as you have already designed a logo; instead, you could give each episode a unique and catchy title like The TechReport Podcast: Super SXE Cyril Hour ect. =p

    • Damage
    • 12 years ago

    Doh, gigaflops not megaflops.

    • Prototyped
    • 12 years ago

    Regarding the NVIDIA G84 and G86 failures, it isn’t just Charlie Demerjian who has reported it, as your own Shortbread from today indicates:

    §[<http://channel.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=14352<]§ Looks like it is indeed all G84 and G86 chips (both mobile and desktop products) that are affected, but notebooks are affected more: "r[

    • wingless
    • 12 years ago

    Theres enough tech news out there to keep these podcasts fed. Great show guys!

    And yes, the 4870 kicks the balls off of the competition.

      • ssidbroadcast
      • 12 years ago

      Spoiler! Thanks.

    • Pachyuromys
    • 12 years ago

    THAT was the <drumroll please> big announcement??

    -.-

    It’s not even worth ruining with a spoiler.

      • Forge
      • 12 years ago

      No, really, go ahead. Some of us don’t have enough free audio time to listen in.

    • Hance
    • 12 years ago

    Man that just aint nice put a teaser in the anouncement and then make me wait until its downloaded to find out what it is.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This