The TR Podcast 10: The dark barbecue headband fantasy


Date: July 19, 2008

Time: 1:16:32

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott
Wasson, Cyril Kowaliski, Geoff Gasior

Guests: Kevin, idchafee, Dustin Sklavos

Listen now:

Download the episodeMP3M4A

Subscribe to the PodcastRSS (MP3) | RSS (m4a) | iTunes (Enhanced) | iTunes (MP3)

Show Notes

This episode is the most jam-packed to date! We start off by chatting with TR community members Kevin and idchafee. Kevin talks about administrating the forums, and idchafee discusses fantasy sports, as well as the upcoming TR BBQ. Tech topics include the OCZ Neural Impulse Actuator, our mobile hard drive roundup, and the AMD Radeon HD 4870 X2 preview. Finally, Scott and Jordan review The Dark Knight.

Send in listener mail and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

We’re still looking for a sponsor! Hook us up! – adam@techreport.com

TR Forum Spotlight:

Tech Topics:

    OCZ’s Neural Impulse Actuator (0:26:30) – Read more

    Notes from Intel’s Centrino 2 launch (0:31:40) – Read more

    Seven 2.5-inch mobile drives compared (0:41:33) – Read more

    An early peek at the Radeon HD 4870 X2 (props to Wingless for predicting the secret review!) (0:51:24) – Read more

Movie Review:

    The Dark Knight (1:00:34) – Website

That’s all, folks! Check back on July 26 for the next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • Xylker
    • 12 years ago

    Yay, recognition! 🙂

    • onlycodered
    • 12 years ago

    At first I thought you guys were saying profane things when you bleeped out a lot of stuff. lol

    • Pax-UX
    • 12 years ago

    I loved the laptop HD reviews, but there was no talk about how much heat is generated, I think this is important for a laptop. As I like to have it running as cool as possible.

    Do the SSD run cooler?

      • eitje
      • 12 years ago

      it can’t be greater than the amount of energy consumed by the drive.

    • Nitrodist
    • 12 years ago

    There was some interference or something in the form of a tone at minute 71. It recurred a couple times in the next minute or 2.

    • PRIME1
    • 12 years ago

    Maybe next year we can have TR Fantasy Cornhole…..

    §[<http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cornhole_%28game%29<]§

      • zgirl
      • 12 years ago

      I really hate that version of the game. I should get off my butt and write up the rules for the bean bag game. Since it is even better then that.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 12 years ago

    Lmao @ the spoiler-bleeping. Way to think that through! (hilarious)

    Edit:Scott, they *did* crash that Semi:

    §[<http://www.dailyherald.com/story/?id=221369<]§

      • willyolio
      • 12 years ago

      my god that was the longest swear i’ve ever not heard!

      lol.

        • ssidbroadcast
        • 12 years ago

        Yeah eventually it sounds like Scott and Drake just get into a cussing fight worthy of a Springer episode.

    • NarwhaleAu
    • 12 years ago

    I am hoping for a review on one or more of the following:

    4850 1GB
    4850 512MB with aftermarket cooler
    4870 1GB

    • wingless
    • 12 years ago

    Props to Wingless? Who, me? All I did was make a whole bunch of guesses that were in line with near future hardware releases. I’ll still accept your “props” and ask that you all refer to me as the Hardware Prophet for now on. Next, do a Nehalem or Deneb Preview, so I can “predict” it HAHAHAHAHA!

    Great podcast TR! I’m really pleased that it will be released weekly. The TR podcast will probably grow to be known across the interwebs like TWIT or other really popular podcasts because of it. Is there any chance of getting a weekly tech interview with somebody in the industry?

    EDIT: After finishing the podcast I see I have been issued a CHALLENGE! I now must guess what secret hardware Scott is reviewing this upcoming week. My list of guesses aka “predictions” will follow later this afternoon.

    EDIT #2: Wingless’s Secret Tech Guesses for next week

    1) SB750 motherboard preview
    2) OCZ Core Series SSD review
    3) Deneb preview
    4) Nehalem preview
    5) Novint Falcon review

    Yes, most of my list is from last week’s list. If its not a product from Intel or AMD then I can’t think of who else would hand deliver new tech to TR. Maybe Nvidia? Maybe OCZ? Either way I encourage the rest of you to try guessing as to what it could be. I would like to know what the rest of you think should/could be reviewed next.

    • Prototyped
    • 12 years ago

    About time you guys covered the nForce 750a. 😉 Now when are we going to see a review of the 750i?

    Re: /[

      • Darkmage
      • 12 years ago

      Along those lines, I note that Scott and Jordan are concerned that the next Batman movie has… well, run out of villains that are as scary/dangerous/intense as the Joker. Thinking back on the Batman Begins movie, they took a fairly laughable villain (the Scarecrow) and made him fairly freaky. I think that if the current creative team puts their heads together long enough, they could make a serious badass out of some of the B-listers in the Batman universe.

      Okay, maybe not Mr. Freeze. But Bane as he was originally created (intelligent, crafty, patient, etc.) would be easy material to work with.

        • jdrake
        • 12 years ago

        That’s a good point – hadn’t thought of Bane!

          • clone
          • 12 years ago

          I’m going to see the movie tomorrow.

          as for future villians I believe the series will need to follow the last Batman cartoon, the gotham universe will have to be established with all the villians playing their part, Penguin should not be a super villian btw but a tool within the verse much like his role in the previous cartoon an upscale loan shark, brainier than most with some credibility who facilitates those that no one else will deal with.

          Bane has potential if taken seriously, Riddler is forgettable but Sandman from the Batman cartoon would have tonnes of potential not the piece of crap from the Spider Man 3 movie, … they still have room to maneuver it’s a shame Ledger died in real life.

          Mr Freeze would be a tough sell, Arnold ruined the character completely but again if re invented along the lines of the cartoon’s last version you never know.

          most certainly the villians will need to be established with a certain amount of time dedicated to them and not just “well here he is were going with Villian “c” and he’s bad because he is.” …. they will have to give the character credibility even if it takes 40 minutes to do so.

          all that said I thought this edition of the audio tech reports was the weakest… not terrible but I wound up skipping most of it due to lack of interesting topics…… I can see why interviews were done with forum admins but waste of time for most, fantasy football, the TR barbeque are only worth 5 minutes after that it’s indulgent.

          not meaning to offend but I’d recommend more substance…. overall decent edition but the weakest to be sure.

    • Fighterpilot
    • 12 years ago

    Yes, quite possibly its the upmteenth NVidia release this year he was hinting at….the GTX+ was promised July 16th but appears to be -[

    • rodidas
    • 12 years ago

    I believe he is hinting at either the 9800gt or the 9800gtx+, which are meant to come out soon.

    @#1 Creating lists, like on IMDB is unhealthy, as it is not possible to list the greatest of something based on a system of bias and opinion.

    Furthermore, who is to decide what is the greatest movie ever?

    I might add that when people place a rating on a movie @ IMDB, they do it based on how much they liked a movie, not on how it compares to other movies. TDK being at no1 only shows that the movie is very well received amongst the majority of the public, and very few people have fault with it, hence it is at the no1 spot.

    • Fighterpilot
    • 12 years ago

    Nice episode guys,any chance there’s a Nehalem arriving at the Damage labs tomorrow morning?

    • pikaporeon
    • 12 years ago

    First!

    Anyone else notice how dark night is currently rated higher than… everything… on imdb? silly fanboys.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This