The TR Podcast 15: Of conferences, cores, case reviews, and cannabis


Date: Aug 30, 2008

Time: 1:35:30

File size: 74MB (AAC) – 87.5MB (MP3)

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski, Joshua Buss

Listen now:

Download the episodeMP3M4A

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

Show notes

After a two-week absence, the TR staff has lots to talk about in the latest episode of The Tech Report Podcast. Conference news dominates the discussion as Scott and the gang discuss the announcements coming from IDF and Nvision 08: Nvidia to allow SLI on the X58 chipset, Lucid’s exciting new take on multi-GPU load balancing, and Nehalem’s turbo mode and power saving features. During the intermission, Joshua Buss talks about his first case review for TR, the Hiper Osiris, and his background in the enclosure world, trends he sees in the case market, and more. Finally, our editors cover AMD’s digital TV sale to Broadcom and doping among pro-gamers.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

We’re still looking for a sponsor! Hook us up! – adam@techreport.com

We know there are problems with podcast files not playing through the whole way. Please make sure you’ve downloaded the entire file (compare to the file size listing at the top of the page), and let us know when you do have problems by posting in the comments. We’re working to fix the issue and appreciate your help and patience

Listener mail:

Dual core or quad core? (0:03:16) – from Peter (Aphasia on the forums):

“This question really springs from the last week when I built a new comp for myself. I read reviews, searched forums, had a few forum discussions. And one subject that is pretty controversial for some, not so much for others is the Dual vs. Quad core. In my case Intel. A good example of this is the Intels E8500 vs. say the Q9450 and Q9300 that was discussion in the TR review of the Q9300. The benchmarks for these is certainly depending on which application that is tested, but the Quads isn’t that bad, even less then what their per-core disadvantage in clockspeed would suggest. Although it might be that the extra cache manages to alleviate the clockspeed difference somewhat. So my question is really if you could do a piece with something of the following.

-Dual vs. Quad, when, if ever, will Quads be able to really be on par with duals even in non-optimized applications.

-How are the overclockability between the two technologies?”

Tech discussion:

    Nvidia to enable native SLI on certified X58 motherboards (0:19:15)- Read more

    Lucid’s GPU load-balancer storms IDF (0:29:07)- Read more

    Hiper Osiris enclosure review with Joshua Buss (0:43:21)- Read more

    Nehalem updates – Turbo mode and power-saving features (1:05:58)- Read more

    AMD sells its digital TV unit to Broadcom (1:17:53)- Read more

    Is doping popular among pro gamers? (1:22:16)- Read more

That’s all, folks! Check back on September 6th for the next TR Podcast.

Comments closed
    • clone
    • 12 years ago

    I suspect after this episode any chance of a Biostar sponsor or whoever is affiliated with Biostar has gone out the window.

    just figured I’d make mention it’s not a great idea to bite the hand that could be feeding you in the future.

    other than that it was an ok broadcast good job…. just surprised you decided to openly bash a potential sponsor.

      • Saribro
      • 12 years ago

      Or, they could be extra motivated to prove the critics wrong :).

      • Usacomp2k3
      • 12 years ago

      I like the fact they they play it straight. Pandering achieves nothing.

      • Hance
      • 12 years ago

      Biostar is junk get over it.

      I loved the part where scoot talks about beating down a certain famous gamer LOL

    • steelcity_ballin
    • 12 years ago

    Audio Needs normalized, lots of peaks and valleys making it less enjoyable than normal, only 8 minutes in!

    • Aphasia
    • 12 years ago

    Scott – Thank you for the decently elaborate piece on my question.

    ————————————

    #4 – Prototyped
    1. There really isnt anything remotely like a pricematch here in Sweden with regards to matching clockspeed. But both the 9450+- 1 model and the 8500 are really the sweetspots in each of its release trains. While the much more expensive E8600 is actually the same as the Q9300. While the 8400 is about half the price. So beyond what the extra chip/cores inside the package costs , i consider the E8500 and Q9450 equal in terms of sweetspot.
    3. Good writeup. I’ve had some of my own speculations go in a somewhat parallel way to some of yours.

    ————————————

    I ended up with the Q9450 after some more reading. And due to a good bit of multitasking, all the cores see use, and windows seems to do a decent job of keeping them all used and everything is really snappy. And getting it up to 3.2GHz was a breeze with the Thermaltake Ultima 90, even with a slow 18db papst fan. Prime95 x64 runs all the tests solidly. Seems todays CPU’s have somewhat of a 20% headroom on aircooling nowdays.

    Although it seems i got bitten by some oddity p45 memory bug with my Asus p5q3(ddr3), which have me running the memory at 1333 instead of 1600 as it is speced. Which means that even if prime95 runs as a champ, as soon as i test 3dmark in the OC-state at 1600mem, it crashes intermediately. So im still fiddling with that and also voltage on the northbridge, etc. A googling on some forums gave a bunch of problems with the p5q3 in different bioses, etc. Seems to be a problem only with the p45 based boards sadly enough.But some reports about the new 130x bios seems to be decent so far. So thats the next thing I’m fiddling with. But on another windows install. Trying an upgrade to 1201 actually hosed the Vista x64 install and forced me to do a repair after having stepped down again.

    • Pax-UX
    • 12 years ago

    A little disappointing that the Tech Report podcast doesn’t want to talk about the detailed technology in Intel’s new CPU. Then again I love the detail, don’t know if that’s what the average listener wants.

    • Prototyped
    • 12 years ago

    Re: dual-core vs quad-core:

    1. There’s no quad-core processor from Intel at the same price of the E8400 (~$175 from an e-tailer) currently. The cheapest is the Q6600 at ~$200.
    2. The Core i7 processors that Intel is about to launch in October are native quad-core at 45 nm (and Nehalem processors can be built from native dual core up to native 8-core depending on market segment). However, if you’re talking about 8-core single-socket desktop processors, that’s probably going to have to wait for (or perhaps past) 32 nm Westmere, yeah.
    3. Scott’s right in that you don’t generally “optimize” for multiple cores the same way you might use compiler optimizations to target software compilation for a new processor, or use compiler autovectorization to use SIMD instructions like SSE (and in order to use SIMD instructions effectively you often have to hand-code /[http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Core_i7<]§ Re: LucidLogix's chip, I'm guessing that with the possibility of SLI certification for Intel's X58, they just lost a big chunk of their market. Now NVIDIA is expected to build LGA 1160 chipsets [2] for the mainstream Nehalem (*[http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2008/08/29/nvidia-has-a-qpi-license/1<]§ [3] §[<http://blogs.intel.com/technology/2008/08/getting_to_the_core_intels_new.php<]§ Re: Turbo Mode, it'll clock up to two speed grades higher when the other cores are idle. This tells me that *[

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 12 years ago

    Hey guys,

    No problems with my filesize, because I handle it all through iTunes. Weird sound effects at ~15 min mark, and ~15:43 mark. Also, at roughly ~20:20, Mr. Rogers rings a doorbell or somethin…

    Love you too.

    ssid.

      • Pax-UX
      • 12 years ago

      It took me two tries to get this file, same with the last one.

      Love you too. Does the Tech Podcast team what a hug?

        • ssidbroadcast
        • 12 years ago

        I’m doing it by selecting “Update Podcast” in the right-click menu of iTunes for OS X.

        Obviously you probably have a different setup and an understandable distrust of iTunes. Oh well.

        And that “love u too” is podcast-referential. I harbor nothing but dark cold hate for all of you.

          • Pax-UX
          • 12 years ago

          I’m using the standard iTunes subscription so they download automagically when I connect me iPod. Well that’s the idea, so far I’ve had to do a manual redownload.

          I still love you! 😉 and explaining a joke just makes it unfunny.

    • rodidas
    • 12 years ago

    Great podcast guys!

    Nice to see you commented on Lucid’s technology when i emailed you about it 3 weeks ago ;]

    looking forward to next week and the Case reviews.

    • Pachyuromys
    • 12 years ago

    “I knew him before he was who he is.”

    Name dropper! 🙂

    But seriously, cool, very cool. Small world. Given that previous relationship, I’m surprised he’s not given you/TR any shout-outs or exclusive interviews lately.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This