The TR Podcast 17: Moore’s Law versus whatchamacallit’s law and the fight for the future

Date: Sept 13, 2008

Time: 1:08:19

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski

Listen now:
Download: MP3 (62.6MB) | M4A (55.9MB)

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

Sponsored by TheJewelStore.com, your online source for unbeatable diamond, gemstone and wedding jewelry with expert personal service.

Show notes

This week’s episode kicks off with the last bit of news we could squeeze out of Nvision 08. Scott, prompted by a listener question, discusses 3D display technology he saw at Nvidia’s event and its headache-inducing properties. Our editors then talk about the new sub-$100 Radeons, Microsoft’s bizarre (but possibly brilliant) ad campaign, gaming news, and more. To finish things up, Scott and Geoff chat about Intel’s latest SSD offering, the laws that govern the growth of the industry, and what the future might look like.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

We know some folks are experiencing intermittent problems with podcast files not playing through the whole way. Please make sure you’ve downloaded the entire file (using the file size listings next to the download links), and let us know when you do have problems by posting in the comments. Thanks.

Listener mail:

3D Glasses? (0:02:17) – from Fighterpilot:

“I’d like to suggest that TR look into the 3D Glasses being advertised around the Net from time to time. I’m sure many people would like to know whether: 1.They do indeed work. 2.What difference/advantage do they give you in FPS gaming? 3. Is the technology really mature enough to bother with? 4. Are they usable on a standard monitor or will we have to wait for 120Mhz monitors (so I’ve heard)? 5.How do they effect your vision after wearing a pair for a while?”

Tech discussion:

    Scott buys the Eee PC 1000H (0:08:13)- Read more

    New Radeons pack a punch at under $100 (0:16:56)- Read more

    Shareholder sues Nvidia over GPU failure cover-up (0:22:32)- Read more

    The editors discuss the new Microsoft ads (0:29:06)- First adSecond ad

    TR’s gaming poll (0:36:51)- Read more

    Crysis Warhead PC to cost $699 (0:40:20)- Read more

    Scott and Geoff review the X25-M SSD from Intel (0:49:13)- Read more

That’s all, folks! Check back on September 20 for the next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • Pax-UX
    • 12 years ago

    Good podcast guys!

    With the amount of negative press Vista gets, it’s eventually going to have the reverse effect. It’s kind of like an OK movie that gets lots of really bad reviews, people go in with such low expectation they end up impressed. I can see that happening to Vista the way things are going. I’m using Vista now on my two main PCs have don’t have a problem with it. A lot of the initial issues are mostly resolved, I’ve a fully working 64bit PC and the only problem I have are ATI driver crashes, which number about 1 for every 12 hours of gaming. While my Laptop on 32bit Vista has yet to crash and that’s been running for months.

    • masaki
    • 12 years ago

    I love the last few 10 seconds of the show!! That’s very interesting Jordan with Scott!! So glad that I didn’t miss that!

      • fpsduck
      • 12 years ago

      I lol @ outtake

    • Prototyped
    • 12 years ago

    Re: the Eee PC 1000H: You know, at $450, the Eee PC 1000H sounds much, much more interesting than it was when it was nearly $600. So it’s a pretty good contender for the Acer Aspire One, especially given that with a 6-cell battery the Aspire One costs at least as much. I guess Asus finally decided to compete.

    Re: the Radeon HD 46×0: Ooooh, a bargain hunt! I look forward to it. Also, two of the 4*[<6<]*70s? (You said 4870 in the podcast.) Re: SSDs, I think the sheer value of mechanical storage still means it doesn't compete directly with SSDs. There's too much of a price-quantity-performance tradeoff, and I think mechanical storage will stay mainstream even without increasing notebook drive speeds for a while yet. Oh man, I sure hope Intel don't make SSDs a standard part of their branded platforms until you can get, say, 128 GB for less than $100.

    • marvelous
    • 12 years ago

    The free space was dragging a bit but I thought it made the Crysis more epic as the story folds.

    • indeego
    • 12 years ago

    AWESOME PHOTOSHOP PICTURE EXPLAINING PODCAST CONTENTg{<.<}g

    • Fighterpilot
    • 12 years ago

    These have been out for ages but has anyone tried them?
    ยง[<http://edimensional.com/product_info.php?cPath=21&products_id=28<]ยง

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 12 years ago

    In regards to -[

    • dragmor
    • 12 years ago

    The show still sounds like Americas top 40 from the 90s crossed with community radio, but its daggy enough to grow on me.

    Please normalise your mics and voice levels. It would also help to do a little work on mic technigue. Its a bit muffled and has a few pops in places (probably due to skype and a headset mic).

    • Fighterpilot
    • 12 years ago

    The girlfriends and wives of TR members salute your choice of sponsor ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for the discussion about the 3D glasses,hope to see a review of some of the stuff that’s coming out.

    • Krogoth
    • 12 years ago

    Moore’s law is not even a law. XD

    It is just a good observation that happens to correlate with laws of exponential growth.

      • clone
      • 12 years ago

      r[

        • Anomymous Gerbil
        • 12 years ago

        Maybe, but it’s still not a “law” in the generally-accepted sense of the word.

        And even Krogoth’s statement should be revised to say something like: “It is just an observation of past density growth that has continued to be relatively accurate over an extended period of time.”

        The “law” originally referred to a doubling of transistors every year, but was later revised to a doubling 24 months – in order to better fit the “law” with what was actually happening.

          • Krogoth
          • 12 years ago

          q[<"It is just an observation of past density growth that has continued to be relatively accurate over an extended period of time."<]q a.k.a exponential growth over a certain period of time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • ucisilentbob
    • 12 years ago

    Yay, you guys got a sponsor!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This