The TR Podcast 20: The biggest story of the year, screaming CPUs, and a $1600 chair from the 70s

Date: Oct 11, 2008

Time: 1:29:01

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski

Guest: Rich Criado

Listen now:
Download: MP3 (81.6MB) | M4A (64.0MB)

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

Show notes

As the leaves turn color, little woodland creatures prepare to hibernate, and large microprocessor companies sell their fabs, the TR Podcast continues to bring home the proverbial tech bacon. After kicking off this episode with a short listener Q&A, our editors discuss the biggest story of the year: AMD spinning off its fabrication business. We then prognosticate and pontificate over the latest Core i7 rumors from the Intel side of things.

In the middle of the episode, Jordan interviews TR regular PerfectCr (who’s also known as The Perfect Creation in the wrestling world and Rich Criado on his driver’s license). Rich gives us his insight on technology, wrestling, and gaming tattoos. To finish things up, our editors discuss our latest GPU review, Intel’s G45 Express chipset, and of course, what you can expect to see (and hear) on TR this coming week.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Listener mail:

Which drives the industry more? (0:01:54) – from Cliff (Hoser on the forums):

Which do you feel drives the industry forward more…hardware or software? It’s a see-saw battle between CPU’s and GPU’s keeping up with gaming…or is it the other way around? I want to know which side you think really pushes the industry into the future keeping things new and fresh.

Tech discussion:

That’s all, folks! Check back on October 18 for the next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • _Sigma
    • 11 years ago

    What happened to the sponsor?

    • marvelous
    • 11 years ago

    Wow techreport deleted my comment about 260 factory overclocking showing clear examples how the reloaded version is overclocked. I’ve been a long time reader but this is telling something.

    Here’s a 8 pages how the review is biased.

    §[<http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=31&threadid=2235970&enterthread=y<]§

      • PerfectCr
      • 11 years ago

      Looks like you got smacked down over there too. See a pattern?

      Remember one important thing. You are arguing, on the internet, about video cards. Sit back and say it out loud. “I am arguing, on the internet, about video cards.”

      See how stupid it sounds?

        • marvelous
        • 11 years ago

        I’m not the thread starter. If a guy like *wreckage* links to techreport to praise then obviously there is something wrong.

        Computer is my hobby. It’s what I’m into. If you don’t care then you shouldn’t even be here at all.

          • PerfectCr
          • 11 years ago

          How does his (alleged) Nvidia bias effect my daily life? Or anyone else here for that matter?

            • marvelous
            • 11 years ago

            It seems you are biased towards whatever techreport says like a mindless zombie. 🙁

            • PerfectCr
            • 11 years ago

            Wow, everyone is “biased” in your little world huh? Run for the hills!

            • marvelous
            • 11 years ago

            There are fanboys of all kinds and you are obviously committed to techreport. Nothing wrong with that but when techreport is trying to stand by how Zotac reloaded isn’t overclocked there are bound to be discrepancies. I’m sorry i’ve been in tech scene long as Scott or anyone here. I don’t blindly believe whatever he says just because he has a tech review site.

      • Damage
      • 11 years ago

      If your comment was deleted or modded down, it was for one of the following reasons:

      1) Profanity. Against the rules, man.

      2) Making a personal attack against another user.

      3) It was part of a nested thread in which a higher comment was deleted for reasons one or two.

      We certainly didn’t delete anything just because we disagreed or because your post might have been technically inaccurate or misguided or anything like that. You are free to disagree with us and to be wrong, just not to break the rules.

      If the comment was modded down, you’ll be able to see it by setting your options so you can see all comment types. However, we do nuke for profanity and personal attacks, so it may not be visible.

    • Pax-UX
    • 11 years ago

    I would say on the overclock topic. G/CPU have a reference or rated clock speed considered the standard (stock) Hz. If a GPU manufacture goes below this, IMO, its an underclocked card. While if they go over it then it’s a overclocked card. Just because it ships that way doesn’t change the fact it’s not the normal vanilla card. A lot of this comes down to the the cooling solution provided.

      • marvelous
      • 11 years ago

      It’s like a computer reseller selling E6600 @ 3.6ghz and giving them warranty doesn’t mean it isn’t overclocked.

    • Prototyped
    • 11 years ago

    Re Core i7: Chinese site PC Online has another set of benchmarks [1] (in Chinese) comparing a Core i7 940 at 2.93 GHz with a Core 2 Extreme QX9770 at 3.2 GHz as well as downclocked to 2.93 GHz.

    They’ve compared single-channel operation with dual- and triple-channel, and it appears that there isn’t that much difference between dual- and triple-channel memory performance, and in a significant fraction of the benchmarks, the Core 2 Extreme beat the Core i7 /[http://diy.pconline.com.cn/cpu/reviews/0810/1438115.html<]§ [2] §[<http://www.google.com/translate_c?hl=en&sl=zh-CN&tl=en&u=http://diy.pconline.com.cn/cpu/reviews/0810/1438115.html<]§ Re the G45 chipset: I'm looking forward to seeing how NVIDIA'S MCP7A-S chipset (GeForce 9300 or 9400) fares. If I recall correctly, it /[

    • robspierre6
    • 11 years ago

    I have to address some points about the 216core vs the 4870 review.

    Firstly,It is unfair to compare a about 15% overclocked 216gtx to a stock clocked 4870.

    Secondly, the so “mentioned” 4870 “1GB” acted like the 512Mb version at both 1920 and 2560 resolutions which makes me wonder whether a real 4870 1GB has been used cuz @ anandtech the 4870 1GB beat the 280gtx in 4 out of 6 games at 2560 res. and almost matched the 280gtx in the fifth one at 1920 res.So probably, AMD has sent a 512MbB version of the 4870 to TR cuz there is no reference 4870 1GB.And that explains why the 4870 beat both the 216gtx and the280gtx in all the tested games “except for cryshis”at 1680 res and loses at higher resolutions.

    Thirdly,claiming that an overclocked 4870 would’t have done a difference is inaccurate,cuz 10% overclocking brings 8 fps over 80 and 7 fps over 70 and that would let the overclocked 4870 surpass the 280gtx in all the tested games at all resolutions.

      • Prototyped
      • 11 years ago

      As Scott and the rest noted, what matters is performance for price. So it doesn’t matter what the reference clock speeds from NVIDIA and ATI are. What matters is what you can get for a certain amount of money (in this case, $300). It turns out you can get a 216-SP super-clocked GeForce GTX 260 for that much money, and a reference-clocked Radeon HD 4870 1 GiB.

      That’s the bottom line.

      Now whether the 4870 1 GiB will or will not decisively beat a GeForce GTX 260 with 216 SPs at their reference clocks is relevant only if the super-clocked versions cost a whole lot more, which they don’t.

      • MaxTheLimit
      • 11 years ago

      Well it seems there is only one game in the tests where the 1GB came into play. In grid there is an average of 40FPS difference between the two cards. I also don’t think it’s actually a given that a 10% increase in clock speeds will result in exactly 10% performance increase. You might only see 2-3FPS increase in some occasions. I’m betting they would have compared overclocked versions of both if they had found them both for the same price for the test. But it was mentioned in the podcast that they didn’t notice an overclocked 48701GB until after. They could have simulated it manually, but as it stood at the time there was no card at the time so they didn’t. Seems pretty logical to me, and after all the cards are remarkably close, and that’s what they concluded. That’s what most reviews are concluding so in the end it’s really just bragging rights and semantics being argued over isn’t it?

        • robspierre6
        • 11 years ago

        Well, Im gonna give an example of how the performance improves by the same ratio of overclocking if not slightly better.

        My powercolor 4870 gets in crysis, “the original crysis”, in the flying bench @ 1680×1050 res. with all the setts set to Very-High … DX10…no filters:
        when clocked at 750/900 about 27 fps.
        when clocked at 825/900 “which is 10% overclocking for the gpu core”
        30.6+ fps” more than 10% increase in performance”.

        When clocked at 928/960 “about 23% overclocking for the gpu core”, the card gets 34.7+ fps which is slightly more than 24% increase in performance.

        I tested only crysis,so Im not sure about other games.But if crysis shows constant improve in performance with overclocking then why wouldn’t other games do the same?

        .

          • MaxTheLimit
          • 11 years ago

          Well try going to 1920*1200, and see if your overclock yields more than 10% performance increase. Chances are you’ll get results in performance gain that differ noticeably.

            • robspierre6
            • 11 years ago

            My monitor is 22″,So i can’t go to that resolution.

            • Meadows
            • 11 years ago

            My monitor is 21″ and I use 1920×1440 all the time.
            You lose.

      • flip-mode
      • 11 years ago

      Ah, still trolling.

        • Meadows
        • 11 years ago

        No kidding. Somebody needs to throw a brick at him now or something.

    • Hance
    • 11 years ago

    The podcast is about the community that is TR. I don’t remember people bitching when the podcast talked about the BBQ, Fantasy sports, Darknight, or half a dozen other things that don’t relate to computer hardware. The podcast isn’t always going to fit peoples narrow views of what subject matter should be covered. Personally the stuff on folding and the movie review did nothing for me. I know that there are other people that are interested in it though so I didn’t go whinning like a little girl about it like some people feel the need to do.

      • ssidbroadcast
      • 11 years ago

      Hm. PerfectCr’s wrestling career /[

        • Hance
        • 11 years ago

        I disagree why have a very rigid set of rules you have to follow for the podcasts ? If you get to meet ( so to speak) other forum members and learn a little bit about them then I think its a good thing.

          • MaxTheLimit
          • 11 years ago

          I thought that was the point. Maybe the people in the interview don’t talk about technologically relevant stuff, but I thought it was more about introducing people who are relevant in the community. I certainly think PerfectCr has the post count and account age to warrant this.

          As an idea for a performance comparison of these two very contested cards maybe doing an overhead overclocking comparison should be in order. Show them compared with ‘stock’ clocks, show them when comparing ‘factory overclocked’, and then see how far you can actually overclock them, and what sort of final results can be seen. That last point will no doubt be scrutinized to death by proponents of each camp, but being as the 300 price point in video cards is one of the hottest contested, and most embattled I think it would make for an interesting article.

      • idchafee
      • 11 years ago

      Hance speaks truth. I enjoy learning more about other members of the community. If you want 100% tech, 100% of the time, read some of TR’s fine articles

      • fantastic
      • 11 years ago

      I’ll assume you’re talking about me. I do whine, but I’ve never whinned. I’m neither little nor a girl, but what if I was?
      §[<http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/On_the_Internet,_nobody_knows_you're_a_dog<]§ Does that make my opinion less valid than yours? They ASK for feedback all of the time during the podcast. I let them know what I thought. I now know that it can be skipped. I was thinking that wasn't possible in a single MP3 file, but I'll try it next time. Still, if I don't comment they may wander too far from the true path of technology. So, either you're wrong to criticize me or they don't want feedback. Again, I'm only assuming you're talking about my post. I feel like I'm asking the dog why the cat pissed on the wall.

        • PerfectCr
        • 11 years ago

        When you open an MP3 file in most audio programs isn’t there a display that shows the time code and a bar that you can drag to skip ahead in the file? As far as I know this is a feature in every audio playback software, is it not?

    • fantastic
    • 11 years ago

    No offense to PerfectCr, but I do not go to TR to get caught up on wrestling. Please avoid discussions of sports of any kind. There’s no relevance to technology for me. Just my opinion. Tech Report is still my favorite tech news/review site…

      • PerfectCr
      • 11 years ago

      None taken. But pro-wrestling isn’t a sport. 😉

      • idchafee
      • 11 years ago

      Then don’t listen to it. Stop shitting on other people’s likes and dislikes. You don’t like it, move the hell on.

      • jdrake
      • 11 years ago

      ….There is a reason why we put chapter markers and time codes next to each story….. if you don’t like a segment – just skip to the next one.

        • Pax-UX
        • 11 years ago

        But he does have a point. I skipped it since I know how to use such new fangled time shifting dodas.

        • jstern
        • 11 years ago

        Chapter markers, time codes? How is that used? Sorry that I don’t know, it’s probably a dumb question.

          • Jambe
          • 11 years ago

          On the main page for each podcast are three sections of text — Show Notes, Listener Mail and Tech Discussion. The Tech Discussion section chronologically lists major topics covered and notes when each section is finished.

          If you don’t like a topic, use your media player to skip past it.

            • jstern
            • 11 years ago

            Thanks, it was right under my nose. I was thinking that maybe it was a chapter file, like a chapter file from ZoomPlayer.

    • srg86
    • 11 years ago

    “probably the best thing that can happen is that AMD succeeds in its strategy of building not the best chip, but maybe the best value for the short term”

    So basically back to the K6-2 days. That imho would be sad as AMD have come a long way since then. We’d be turning the clock back almost 10 years, at least for the short term. The only real improvement is on the chipset side, not using the VIA and ALi chipsets and less than top quality motherboards that the K6-2 had.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    It doesn’t download when I hit “Update Podcast”

    (OS X 10.5 iTunes 8 )

    • MaxTheLimit
    • 11 years ago

    The end of the podcast is cut off for me. Ends at about 1:10:00 or so…

    EDIT: nevermind refreshed and full audio loaded.

    • Fighterpilot
    • 11 years ago

    Thanks for the clarifications and comments about the Battle royale card comparison.
    I was a little surprised to hear you say that “Why would anyone buy the stock clocked version of the 260 Reloaded at $289 when you can get /[

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    What? PerfectCr gets an interview, but when I ask about Ron “Shortbread” Hanaki I’m met with silence? That’s *[

      • FireGryphon
      • 11 years ago
        • ssidbroadcast
        • 11 years ago

        gratuitous?

          • FireGryphon
          • 11 years ago

          Someone explain to ssid what irony is.

            • ssidbroadcast
            • 11 years ago

            d’oh. I got served.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This