The TR Podcast 24: Core i7, where motherboards come from, and driving around Far Cry 2

Date: Nov 8, 2008

Time: 1:23:35

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski, Joshua Buss

Listen now:
Download: MP3 (57.4MB) | M4A (61.5MB)

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

Show notes

Our episode starts on a light note as Scott, Cyril, and Jordan have a round-table discussion about Ubisoft’s Far Cry 2. Has the game held Scott’s attention? Does the driving bother Cyril? And how many weapon sound effects can Jordan imitate? Scott also explains how the upcoming Steam Cloud feature, while great for the average gamer, might interfere with our benchmarking here at TR.

After that, we dive into the meat of the episode as Scott and Geoff discuss the intricate details of Intel’s Core i7 processors and their companion X58 Express chipset. We also discuss the possible rollouts of cheaper derivatives and how much you’ll have to spend to get the latest and greatest over the next few months. Finally, before our habitual teaser of upcoming TR content, Joshua Buss gives us a vocal walkthrough of his Gigabyte motherboard factory tour. This is certainly one of our most packed episodes in a long while.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer it on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Tech discussion:

    Scott, Cyril, and Jordan discuss their impressions of Far Cry 2 (0:02:08)

    What does Steam Cloud mean for TR benchmarking? (0:17:56)- Read more

    Intel’s Core i7 processors (0:23:54)- Read more

    A couple of Core i7 motherboards compared (0:47:33)- Read more

    A tour of a Gigabyte factory (1:05:15)- Read more

That’s all, folks! Check back on November 15 for the next TR podcast.
Update: The MP3 version of the podcast that went up initially had a lower bitrate than intended. We’ve uploaded a new, higher-bitrate version. The file size for the new version is 57.4MB.

Comments closed
    • toyota
    • 11 years ago

    there is no play button showing up for me in FF. its there for IE7 though.

    • masaki
    • 11 years ago

    Quick solution needed for Joshua…

    I like his part, fantastic site and case reviews but, as a non-native speaker, I found that it is quite difficult to listen to him.

    Keep on working guys.

    • Pax-UX
    • 11 years ago

    Great Podcast & review of the Core i7, love’n the detail.

    To bad for Intel the CPUs just aren’t as important a component to overall gaming performance as it once was. What would be interesting for me is the frames per second at high resolution on your performance reviews for the CPU, so what if it can do 66 fps @1024×786. At least show us what it can do at 1900×1200 or above! Is there any different between the CPUs then or is it all graphic cards limitations? It’s unquestionable that this is an awesome CPU, but is it worth the cash when I play games and you review doesn’t answer this question, a question I would say most people would be interested in.

    • slayerized
    • 11 years ago

    Excellent podcast. I was however unable to listen beyond the 49th min when I listen to it from the web page as opposed to downloading it. I am not sure why!

    • spuppy
    • 11 years ago

    Re: Far Cry 2

    Sometimes I guess you just don’t “feel” a game. I think the simplified driving mechanism worked really well, along with the maps. I also thought the hovercraft chase in Warhead was ATROCIOUS (perhaps because my FPS bogs down to under 10, while the rest of the game runs in the 50-60 range with my setup)

    Far Cry 2 is a really cool game, the one thing I agree with Scott on is that there is just too much pointless fights, as EVERYONE is hostile… Playing factions would be better IMO

    • JSchwetz
    • 11 years ago

    Very intriguing info regarding nehalem. This is the first Podcast I’ve listened to, and I can’t believe I’ve been missing these. I’ll be downloading all of the back issues and catching up since I’ve been out of the loop for quite a few months.

    Great work guys, I really like the direction this site is going.

      • jdrake
      • 11 years ago

      Glad you like the podcast!

    • dragmor
    • 11 years ago

    Why is it that TR says the i7-965 uncore runs at 3.2ghz?

    Other sites are listing 2.6ghz for uncore on the extreme model and 2.1ghz for the normal models.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    @10min, drake,

    Yeah, those stupid sedans driving faster than a /[

    • Fighterpilot
    • 11 years ago

    Interesting stuff on the Core i7.
    Could that unused QPI link be for a Larrabee graphics connection pathway?

      • UberGerbil
      • 11 years ago

      At the IDF Otellini talked about MCMs that packaged a GPU die alongside the CPU, so that’s possible. (Long term they obviously want to put the GPU right on the same die, but that’s probably not happening until 32nm at the earliest). Certainly for the HPC applications that Nehalem (and particularly Bloomfield) is best-suited for, having a bunch of additional FP units would be a boon (even if they aren’t being used for graphics).

      However, in this case I think it’s more likely that this first edition Bloomfield is essentially the same die design as they’ll be using for Gainestown, the DP server CPU that will use the second link for intersocket communication. Gainestown is even supposed to use the same LGA1366 socket, so all they’re really waiting on is validating the chipset (and fixing any bugs in the QPI implementation that turn up when it starts carrying cache coherency traffic). Using essentially the same design for workstation and DP server makes a lot of sense (and saves a lot of effort/money) and of course they’d release the workstation variant first because it requires less QA/validation.

        • Prototyped
        • 11 years ago

        Havendale /[

    • indeego
    • 11 years ago

    FC2 score: B. I can’t believe I put 50 hours into that, thoughg{<.<}g Scott, it gets no better.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This