The TR Podcast 26: Faith, revelations, and exploring Shanghai

Date: Nov 22, 2008

Time: 1:27:01

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski, Stephen Roylance

Listen now:
Download: MP3 (59.9MB) | M4A (63.8MB)

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

 

Show notes

If you’re in the market for a Core i7-based system, our episode starts off with some advice just for you. Geoff talks about a pair of X58 motherboards from Gigabyte and MSI and gives us his pick(s) out of the four he’s reviewed so far. Other topics of discussion include the ForceWare “Big Bang II” drivers from Nvidia, our first impressions of Left 4 Dead and Mirror’s Edge, a sneak preview of our 45nm Shanghai Opteron review (with a special guest), and the scoop on AMD’s upcoming Phenom II processors.

This episode also continues our series of editor biographies. This time, Cyril joins us on Skype to talk about his early tech influences, writing tech articles at the age of 14, playing Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata on the piano, and more.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer it on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Tech discussion:

    Gigabyte and MSI join the Core i7 motherboard crowd (00:02:50)- Read more

    ForceWare 180 ‘Big Bang II’ drivers hit the web (0:17:43)- Read more

    Mirror’s Edge – first impressions (0:24:0)

    Mirror’s Edge PC to use PhysX effects (0:26:34)- Read more

    Left 4 Dead – is it scary enough? (0:32:43)

    Cyril Kowaliski – editor biography (0:38:23)

    Phenom II, Shanghai, and server benchmarks with Scott and Stephen Roylance (0:52:42)- Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll be taking a break for Thanksgiving weekend, so we’ll see you on December 6 for our next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • TechNut
    • 11 years ago

    Damage,

    For your server benchmarks, have you considered recording the activity of your web server and database machines, and then play it back on each platform you test? There are tools that let you do this. It’s also some “real-world” testing, which would be valuable to some of your readers.

    • Pax-UX
    • 11 years ago

    Another great show guys!

    Mirrors Edge is fun, but short as I commented in the other TR Post it only took me about 9 hours to beat the same in a single gaming session. Geoff, you didn’t play enough Mario in your youth! and I agree with JD, it’s the hair!

    Left 4 Dead is great fun but not enough campaigns, 4 is ok for a start, but needs another 4. I still find getting a game going a little weird as I’m used to picking my server by Ping rating. That’s all changed now, so a couple of times we had to return to lobby to get a new server as the lag was a pain. From Friday after work till Sunday I must have clocked up close to 24 hours of game time!

    • Fastfreak39
    • 11 years ago

    Another great podcast, thanks everyone for it. I really liked hearing from Stephen Roylance about his server benchmark and all the server stuff. Maybe a good idea for a small section in the podcast would be the inner working of the Tech Report, like the process of getting an article to the website or what sort of maintenance Tech Report requires or how many servers TR has. Also, Jordan, maybe you can work something out where you update the “About us” section with your editor bios?

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    @48 min :

    Yeesh! Jordan! Don’t make that voice again!! Ever !

    • ucisilentbob
    • 11 years ago

    Yes, she totally looks like Faith. It’s the haircut i think.

    • Kulith
    • 11 years ago

    You asked the audience if we where getting tired of listening to your discussions of games…. my answer is no, acutally I kind of just skipped to your Mirrors Edge discussion because it’s the part I was most interested in.

    Sorry, don’t watch heroes.

    • esterhasz
    • 11 years ago

    Cyril, cuisses de grenouille (froglegs) taste a lot like chicken, just a little more tender and are actually really good. The Vietnamese restaurants in Belleville in Paris have very nice froglegs – so as a born French you should get yourself some frog while you’re still there…

      • Darkmage
      • 11 years ago

      Additionally, get into snails. You’re French, for FSM’s sake!

      Besides, escargot isn’t really about snails… it’s merely an excuse to consume garlic butter.

    • Skrying
    • 11 years ago

    Wonderful podcast. Covered a lot of ground.

    I want to point out the Shanghai portion of the podcast. That was some impressive geekery. I must say the reason I listen to the TR podcast on such a regular basis is because everyone involved loves their work and it shows. The Shanghai portion really highlighted this. Some genuine excitement for areas even many average tech site readers would have no clue about. It’s simply awesome!

    • Prototyped
    • 11 years ago

    Re X58 boards: Dissonance, are you aware of any boards that can take /[

      • Pax-UX
      • 11 years ago

      I concur, the company I work with Virtual Machines just about everything. All the windows boxes are running at least two VMs. Seems the approach now is to just create a new VM for each app that needs to run under Windows, so each app gets its own VM. But personally there’s something about a VM that doesn’t site right with me.

        • indeego
        • 11 years ago

        VM’s aren’t for everything. A heavy Disk I/O environment for example should look elsewhere, at least during my own testsg{<.<}g

      • UberGerbil
      • 11 years ago

      SPEC is trying to figure out a sensible VM benchmark. Expecting TR to lead the way there is a bit of a tall order.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    Dang it man, I already did most of my chores : |

    /thanks!

      • grantmeaname
      • 11 years ago

      hahaha I was just thinking the exact same thing…

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This