The TR Podcast 28: Graphical eye candy, the nettablet, and congratulations, it’s a boy!

Date: Dec 13th, 2008

Time: 1:26:54

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski

Listen now:
Download: MP3 (59.7MB) | M4A (70.5MB)

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

 

Show notes

Scott starts off the discussion this week with a scathing technical review of the recently released EA survival-horror game, Dead Space. After a brief cool down period, we deliver the news that TR’s marketing maestro Adam Eiberger is the proud father of a newborn baby boy. (Daniel Micah Eiberger weighs in at 8 lbs, is in good health, and is consistently scoring 240 in WorldBench.)

Before taking time off to prepare for the new baby gerbil, Adam and Scott worked to put together TR’s 2008 Christmas Giveaway. Scott fills us in on the impressive specs of the giveaway PC, and he says he expects to post an article very soon with details on how to enter. The rest of our episode covers this past week’s helping of TR news and articles. Our editors discuss SSD speeds in Windows 2000, the advancement of physics technology in games, the recent release of OpenCL 1.0, Gigabyte’s new ‘nettablet,’ Intel’s Core i7-940, and more.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer it on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Tech discussion:

    ‘Dead Space’ refers to area around my mouse (00:01:54)- Read more

    It’s a boy! Welcoming Daniel Micah Eiberger (0:08:26)

    Announcing the 2008 TR Christmas giveaway (0:09:38)

    SSDs run best on Windows 2000, Patriot claims (0:14:43)- Read more

    AMD talks down PhysX, discusses its GPU physics plans (0:23:53)- Read more

    2K Games, EA hop on the PhysX bandwagon (0:33:08)- Read more

    OpenCL 1.0 spec released, AMD and Nvidia are on board (0:38:35)- Read moreUpdate

    Rumor roundup: GeForce GTX 285 and 295 (0:50:06)- GTX 285GTX 295

    Gigabyte’s M912 nettablet (0:56:38)- Read more

    A closer look at the Core i7-940 (1:14:26)- Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on December 20 for our next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • MaxTheLimit
    • 11 years ago

    Firstly. Congrats on the baby!

    I have the same problems with Dead Space, and thought it was in the game on purpose. Drives me right nuts.

    I can’t wait for the give away! I’d really love that system. It’s too bad about the politics getting in the way of such a good gesture.

    I wonder if there is going to be a game in the near future where PhysX is going to be a big part of the gameplay? In the PhysX demo there is a liquid demo, that could possibly be implemented into games, and there is a ball bearing shooting through cloth that causes the bottom to fall off. Would make some interesting mini games. Would the fact that the physics can’t really be interacted with prevent some of these being put towards something usefull, and if added would folks running AMD card be hung out to dry? I’d think that would be something to push game developers away from such a tech. After all the market share who run AMD video cards can’t really be ignored.

      • moose17145
      • 11 years ago

      I have been exclusively using ATI cards since the 9800 pro… and the way it looks i am not about to change now. Don’t take it as me being a fanboy.. i have recommended NVidia cards when they are of better value. Every time i need a new videocard though it always just seems to happen that ATI is on top… Not that it has been bad considering i get an improved driver once a month, unlike many of my NVidia friends… 😉

    • Pax-UX
    • 11 years ago

    Another great show guys!

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    So uh, how ’bout that giveaway? Eh? Eh?

    • toyota
    • 11 years ago

    wow you guys are nuts because the mouse works perfect in the game with the games vsync off. aim mode just tightens up the feel of the mouse which does seem odd right at first. Im picky as hell about controls and this is NOT a crappy console port as you call it.

    • wingless
    • 11 years ago

    My motherboard failed a couple of days ago too. I lost my Opteron 185 with the failure as well so I’m going to put together a new Christmas rig. I’m enthusiastically planning a Core i7 920 build with a pair of OCZ Vertex SSDs. I really hope I see REAL WORLD performance gains with those SSDs in RAID-0. With my previous systems it always seemed like the HDDs were the limiting factor when experiencing the /[

    • xzelence
    • 11 years ago

    Does anyone else think that the ending of the background song at the end of the podcast sounds like Dynasty Warriors or some SEGA arcade shooter? Haha, just wondering.

    • marvelous
    • 11 years ago

    Christmas giveaway. Make the questions a little harder about techreport articles. Make the readers dig deep and no clues. This would make it more interesting than everyone having the answers.

      • SomeOtherGeek
      • 11 years ago

      Yes, and no podcast too! I wanna participate and be part of the TR team!!

    • HurgyMcGurgyGurg
    • 11 years ago

    Scott,

    About Dead Space, have you tried forcing VSynch in ATI or Nvidia’s control centers? It works perfectly for me after I did that.

    I have mouse sensitivity on less than half and am using a pretty cheap mouse and can use the aim mode and regular controls and its only slightly awkward in aim mode after 3 hours of play I don’t seem to have any difficulty?

    Maybe its just your play style (Not to say its wrong), I only go into aim mode once I’m facing the Nechromorph. If I hear a noise behind me I whirl around and then go in aim mode and fine tune shots, after all aim mode takes a tenth of a second to go into, its just an extra mouse click.

    And about in-game menus, if you are referring to how you have to use five or six mouse clicks to switch weapons, that I know is at least on purpose by the developers.

    I have a much longer comment about it in your blog you might want to check it about Fallout 3, joysticks, and your doubt as to whether or not you will benchmark Dead Space.

    And if you are considering benchmarking, good luck forcing AA. The game engine doesn’t seem to allow AA, and the built in AA option is just a edge blur effect for only Isaac.

    Besides that, I won’t argue the port was less than spectacular. The rest of the game if you do get used to controls is a treat as almost all reviews show. Its a start and as my post on your blog show EA was surprised by how well it sold on the PC, suggesting they will focus more on it and the sequel should fix these issues.

    • Prototyped
    • 11 years ago

    The Inspiron Mini 12 uses a different chipset compared to most netbooks, namely the US15W /[

      • eitje
      • 11 years ago

      i agree. the Mini 12 is really, really weird.

      but i think what’s ALSO weird is that, now that Poulsbo is available… why aren’t more manufacturer’s using it?

        • Prototyped
        • 11 years ago

        Mostly because:

        1. It’s more expensive, as are the /[

          • eitje
          • 11 years ago

          i guess the part that makes me sad is that everyone thought Poulsbo would arrive and fix the 945 chipset’s power issues, but now it looks like the cost/benefit of making the switch is too great.

            • Prototyped
            • 11 years ago

            That’s because “everyone” didn’t realize that not only did Poulsbo + Atom Z5xx launch quite a while ago, they target a different market segment (handhelds) than the 945GSE + N270 (notebook computers). That’s the ignorant hype machine for you.

    • Fighterpilot
    • 11 years ago

    The adjustment and re examination of the Core i7 940 performance numbers demonstrates clearly(once again) to the tech community that The Tech Report is the premiere hardware site on the Net.
    It might be a little redundant to conduct such testing but the net gain to TR’s reputation is considerable.
    Good one guys.

      • _Sigma
      • 11 years ago

      +1
      I really appreciate the time it takes to perfect a review!

      • SomeOtherGeek
      • 11 years ago

      A1! Keep up the good work, guys!

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    Wow! You just referenced /[

      • SomeOtherGeek
      • 11 years ago

      LOL!! Don’t people think better in the bathroom?

    • Pachyuromys
    • 11 years ago

    q[<(Daniel Micah Eiberger weighs in at 8 lbs, is in good health, and is consistently scoring 240 in WorldBench.)<]q Congrats! Have a cigar! Now that that's taken care of, down to business. Specifically, is that worldbench score stock or overclocked? How much "juice" are you feeding him. What kind of mother (bored) is it sitting on? What kind of volume levels are we talking about? Is he scalable? Expandable? Upgradable? And most importantly... how long before the next newer model, um, comes out? 🙂

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This