Announcing TR’s Christmas Giveaway 2008

The holiday season is upon us, and it’s time once again for our annual TR Christmas giveaway. This time around, we’re giving away a gratuitously awesome bundle of components that will allow our winner to assemble one of the most powerful custom-built PCs in the land, complete with a Core i7 processor and dual Radeon HD 4870 graphics cards.

Since I’m sure you’re curious to know exactly what the prize package includes, let’s get that part out of the way up front. Many of these parts have been hand-picked by the TR staff, and you’ll see why as you browse through the list. Here’s what our lucky winner will receive:

  • Intel Core i7-920 quad-core processor — Yep, it’s Intel’s brand-new microarchitecture, a native quad-core processor with a clock speed that ranges between 2.66GHz and 2.93GHz via its Turbo Mode mechanism, making it one of the fastest processors on the planet. This puppy is primed for overclocking, too.
  • Asus P6T Deluxe motherboard — Based on Intel’s X58 chipset and ready for both SLI and CrossFire multi-GPU configurations, the P6T Deluxe allowed us to take an early sample of the Core i7-920 to 3.3GHz, and the mobo itself was ready to go even higher. Stuffed to the gills with all of the latest high-end goodies, the P6T Deluxe came away from our review with a TR Recommended award.
  • Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600MHz DIMMs — Specifically tailored for the Core i7, these are some of the choicest DIMMs we’ve seen yet. They’re rated to reach 1600MHz with 8-8-8-24 timings at only 1.65V, and they should offer tremendous overclocking headroom in this system. The three-pack config takes full advantage of the Core i7’s triple-channel memory controller.
  • Dual Asus Radeon HD 4870 512MB Dark Knight TOP edition graphics cards — Asus’ amped-up version of the Radeon HD 4870 runs at clock speeds 9% higher than stock cards, and it features a gorgeous custom cooler with heat pipes and a single, large fan. And, of course, it’s a Radeon HD 4870, one of the fastest GPUs anywhere. We’re throwing in two of these bad boys for some CrossFire action.
  • Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB, 10K-RPM hard drive — WD’s latest Raptor is one of the fastest SATA hard drives ever, and this latest revision doubles the Raptor’s capacity while substantially reducing its acoustic profile and power consumption.
  • Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB hard drive — Sporting a terabyte of capacity, the Caviar Green is the perfect complement to the VelociRaptor. It’s also one of the quietest, most power efficient mechanical hard drives we’ve ever tested. Oh, and yeah: a terabyte, people.
  • Thermaltake V1 AX CPU cooler — With a wicked dual “fan of fins” design and a cooling fan sandwiched in between, the V1 AX is a work of art. Fortunately, it’s also an effective and quiet cooler, which is why it’s the Core i7 CPU cooler of choice in Damage Labs.
  • Cooler Master Cosmos full-tower case — This TR Editor’s Choice winner should need no introduction. The Cosmos should easily swallow all of the gear we’re throwing at you and keep it cool without breaking a fan-speed threshold. And it should offer ample room for expansion, too. The handsome design and smart USB/eSATA/Firewire port placement up front doesn’t hurt, either.
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 power supply unit — This two-time TR Editor’s Choice winner has been pretty much our favorite PSU for quite some time now, and it will easily power all of these components without whining about it—literally. The Silencer’s cable reach is longer than most, too, so it should fit nicely into the Cosmos.
  • Enermax Caesar KB005U keyboard — This unique, mesh-wrapped USB keyboard takes its design inspiration from our awesome but obscure Cash-versus-Vader meme, and its substantial 3.2-pound weight should keep it firmly anchored on your desk as you pound away furiously at a lengthy comment explaining why our latest blog post totally misses the point.
  • Windows Vista Home Premium and a $150 gift card courtesy of NCIX and NCIXUS — You can round out your system with a copy of Windows Vista Home Premium and a $150 shopping spree courtesy of the folks at NCIX. This is your chance to buy that last bit of hardware you need to finish off this build or to buy a few games to play on it. Take your pick!

Wow, so. Yeah. Nice. Check out this image gallery for pictures of the goods.

Nearly all of these excellent products came from their manufacturers, who agreed to help sponsor this year’s giveaway. Many thanks to Intel, Asus, Corsair, WD, Thermaltake, Cooler Master, OCZ/PC Power & Cooling, Enermax, and NCIX for their participation and support.

As you may know, we have in years past included a charity tie-in with our Christmas giveaway. We had hoped to continue that tradition this year, but a number of factors intervened. Most notably, we are still working away on the project made possible by our Tech Share project from last Christmas. Turns out that transferring an entire computer lab worth of equipment to a school in Uganda involves some tricky logistics.

Back in September, we finally cleared most of the initial administrative barriers, configured our lab-in-a-box, and shipped it to Uganda. At present, the computers are still in the bowels of the Ugandan customs department, awaiting their second assessment for taxation. (That’s right: they were assessed, we wired money to the school to pay the fee, and then customs officials decided to look more closely at what they could tax. Ugh.) We’re still optimistic that we’ll get the computers to the school and achieve our goals—including getting the school wired for Internet access—before all is said and done. But frankly, thanks to the various delays, we haven’t yet exhausted our funds, and we don’t think it’s time yet to raise more money for this project. Instead, we’d like to hold back and reserve the option of doing a second fund raiser at some point in 2009, once we’re confident we’ve achieved our initial goals.

So this Christmas, we’re just going to give away a bitchin’ computer.

The rules and regs

Entering the giveaway is easy. You just have to fill out a form and correctly answer three easy questions about the latest PC hardware. The answers for these questions are readily found by reading through several of TR’s recent—and always enthralling—articles.

Please note, however, that you may only enter once. Multiple entries per person are not permitted, and please don’t try gaming the system by entering your girlfriend, wife, and kids. We’ll probably decide to disqualify you if you do. We’re wise to such things.

We will be accepting giveaway entries between now and December 31st at noon CST. We’ll then choose our winner in a random drawing. The winner will be announced on the site and will also be notified via e-mail. The winner must claim his prize by the end of the day on January 7, 2009, or he will forfeit his prize and we will draw a new winner.

You must include your full name and a shipping address with your entry. We will not share your address or other information with any of our sponsors. In fact, we won’t disclose your personal information to anyone. Incomplete entries will be disqualified. TR also reserves the right to disqualify entries that appear to be attempts to game the system or circumvent the rules in any way.

The staff of The Tech Report and their immediate families may not enter the giveaway and are not eligible to win.

Unfortunately, we’ve had to limit entrants this time to residents of the U.S. and Canada. We’ve found that paying for shipping and customs taxes on a complete system can be prohibitively expensive in many locations, and customs agents often like to hold and flag computer hardware for additional bureaucratic irritation, as we’ve so vividly learned. To heck with that. Sorry, folks.

Of course, this whole thing is void where prohibited by law. TR is not responsible for damage in shipping, damage caused by installing these parts in your computer, or damage to your self-esteem—and neither are our sponsors. We will answer questions and offer clarifications of the rules in the comments.

Now, here are our three questions:

1. What is the proper “uncore” (memory controller and L3 cache) clock speed—in GHz—of the Core i7-940?

2. How many “stream processors” does the Radeon HD 4870 have?

3. What is the name of the most expensive system config from our most recent system guide?

The giveaway has ended. We announced the winner here.

Comments closed
    • ol blue
    • 11 years ago

    who is teh winnarz?!

    • damtachoa
    • 11 years ago

    who is the winner? I didn’t see any announcement.

      • ol blue
      • 11 years ago

      winnar?

    • Clint Torres
    • 11 years ago

    Hey Damage, you forgot to email me to tell me I won.

    I need that computer so I can do my homework and make some money so my quintuplets can finally have their operation.

    • Forge
    • 11 years ago

    Has a winner been chosen/emailed?

    • uknowit90
    • 11 years ago

    Just wanted to add that if I win, you can all be happy, as my home page has been set to TR for the past year… I just never had any questions so I hadn’t bothered to register. I use your reviews and articles all the time; you guys rock!!!

    Oh and good luck to everyone!!

    • xxgg
    • 11 years ago

    Hope one of us Canadians will win!*

      • Jon
      • 11 years ago

      Here here! If I win I will NOT blame Canada!

    • Fighthouse
    • 11 years ago

    Did I win yet?

    • slugbug
    • 11 years ago

    Awesome contest, count me in for sure.

    • MLGameFreak2011
    • 11 years ago

    WOW!!! I want to build a computer sooooooo bad but if i could win one thats probably a million times better than the one i want to build that would be awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love technology and i hope to make it my profession in the future!!!!!!!!!! F.Y.I. Cosomos if the Sh**!!!!!!!!!!

      • Damage
      • 11 years ago

      No go, guys. U.S. and Canada only. Sorry.

    • coobs
    • 11 years ago

    January 7th, 200*[<9<]* is a Wednesday. January 7th, 200*[<8<]* is a Monday. I'm assuming you meant January 5th, 2009 right? just wondering.

    • pot
    • 11 years ago

    Good luck to all entrees! I threw my name in the hat!

    • mnemonick
    • 11 years ago

    Just registered (finally) to post my thanks here – I’ve lurked at TR on and off for a while now, and have been reading and recommending The Tech Report to anyone who’d listen ever since I clicked on sTeve Gibson’s front page link from ShackNews many years ago! (you’ve also been one of my home tabs for quite a while now…)

    Anyhow, I just wanted to thank you guys for the uniformly excellent reviews and articles – I can’t count the number of times I’ve posted links to your reviews over at the Shack in answer to questions (actually I can thanks to the search function – it’s an embarassingly large number. ;D)

    Thanks for this contest, and Good Luck to everyone who entered!

    • pdjblum
    • 11 years ago

    Scott thank you for the chance to win such an awesome rig and thanks for all the great reviews this year. Happy new year to you and all my fellow readers. Just remember we are all in this together and we should treat one another with respect and compassion.

    I’m sorry for annoying you folks with my “Another Month’s Delay” thing, but Ruiniz and what he did to amd is something I can’t let go of, at least not till Ruiniz gets what he deserves.

    • MaxTheLimit
    • 11 years ago

    What is the close date for the contest, and when would the winner be announced?

    I imagine it would take no small time to sift through the results.

      • indeego
      • 11 years ago

      computers can parse text nowg{<.<}g

        • PRIME1
        • 11 years ago

        Ugh one of my least favorite programming classes. Data Structures in C++

        Sooo boring.

      • MaxTheLimit
      • 11 years ago

      Great now my entry is subject to my crappy touch typing an lack of checking what I typed.

        • derFunkenstein
        • 11 years ago

        well if you can’t spell, you have it coming.

          • tfp
          • 11 years ago

          yeah considering on PCs, copy paste is an option.

            • MaxTheLimit
            • 11 years ago

            True TR Gerbils can recall points like that from memory. :p

            • tfp
            • 11 years ago

            but can they spell?

            • crazybus
            • 11 years ago

            True gerbils use browsers with in-line spell checking.

            • MaxTheLimit
            • 11 years ago

            They would if they were allowed by their stupid work who develops utilities that only function properly in IE, that is locked preventing any add-ons!

          • MaxTheLimit
          • 11 years ago

          I can spell. I just can’t touch type all that well. :p

          I guess I’d still have it coming…

          • Scrotos
          • 11 years ago

          Probably they will have something randomly pick the person, then eyeball the entry to make sure it looks correct. Else, pick a different person and repeat until they find one that has the right info listed.

          At least, makes sense to me!

    • gohan
    • 11 years ago

    Is it just me being picky or did no one notice the typo in GPU name “4780” instead of “4870” ???

      • Forge
      • 11 years ago

      I’d be terrified that Damage was being tricksy again, but luckily there is no 4780. Not yet anyways, and I doubt Damage is evil enough to ask questions about unannounced/nonexistent hardware.

    • Kurlon
    • 11 years ago

    Wha, no instant gratification after submission telling me I at least got the answers right? Now I’m doubly anxious.

    So much for getting any work done between now and New Years. ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Gerbil Jedidiah
      • 11 years ago

      Yeah, maybe if we got an email saying you’ve been entered, or sorry, you got the answers wrong, try again!

    • khands
    • 11 years ago

    Funny thing is, if I won this, I’d probably end up gifting some of the parts to my more needy friends (IGP isn’t fun to game on :’s)

    • d0g_p00p
    • 11 years ago

    This is a amazing system giveaway. Early congratulations to who ever will win this.

    • AKing
    • 11 years ago

    Too bad you dont ship to Europe ๐Ÿ™ .

    Good luck to the rest of you.

    • Farting Bob
    • 11 years ago

    Because TR hates europe i once again cant enter one of their giveaways.
    Come on guys, id be happy to pay for all the shipping, taxes and deal with the spawn-of-satan customs officers to get this thing!

      • ludi
      • 11 years ago

      Customs is only the tip of the problem. Every country has its own ideas about how prize contests should be conducted, who is eligible and under what circumstances they can enter, how the winner can be selected, how the winnings can or cannot be distributed, tarriffed and taxed, etc. Moreover, the primary burden of conforming to these rules is based on the entity hosting the contest (although once the winner is holding something, s/he will be held accountable to pay up, too).

      The US and Canada have very similar legal systems, and all of their laws are formally available in English, so it’s not too onerous to host a contest spanning both (although even then there can be problems, since states/provinces have a certain amount of autonomy from their respective federal systems). But a contest open to Europe, or even a significant chunk of it, could require tens of thousands of dollars in legal consulting to make kosher.

        • rechicero
        • 11 years ago

        I think you’re mistaken. If that were right, the online commerce would be impossible for the same reason, and it’s not. The only things they’d need to know are: postage and taxes. That’s all. The laws are not relevant unless you’re sending (or receiving) illegal goods like, for example, sending the rig to Iran or receiving pork meat in Israel.

        In fact, I don’t understand why we Europeans are out of the contest. We should have the option to pay the additional postage and customs (in fact, the receiver always pays the local custom&taxes)

        Anyway, good luck!!

          • Kurlon
          • 11 years ago

          Online commerce is a different animal than a contest.

    • willyolio
    • 11 years ago

    i’ll be honest. if i won this, i’d attempt oil-immersion cooling with this gear.

    • cygnus1
    • 11 years ago

    If my brother and I both enter from the same computer, is that going to be considered gaming the system?

    • neon
    • 11 years ago

    Here’s hoping that last year’s donations will make it through Ugandan customs and the Ugandan post to the school.

    • SomeOtherGeek
    • 11 years ago

    Is this the Jr version of question #3?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ This is one hotness of a system, so hot that it might make my wife jealous, but then maybe I’ll just give it to her…

      • Forge
      • 11 years ago

      Question #3’s answer actually has very little in common with the prize package. You’re thinking of That Other Build.

    • martyj125
    • 11 years ago

    im all drooly now

      • ssidbroadcast
      • 11 years ago

      That was a funny read. Does TR still run off an Athlon ?

      • SomeOtherGeek
      • 11 years ago

      If you are not sure what to do with it, I can take it off your hands? Whatcha say?

      But yea, that was a awesome read – laughed and had good memories of the good ol’ days!

    • Chryx
    • 11 years ago

    What if we’re outside the US but want to have it shipped to a US address? ๐Ÿ™

      • yehuda
      • 11 years ago

      Same here; Damage, can you clarify please?

        • silent ninjah
        • 11 years ago

        What if you’re outside the US but will pay for the shipping? =P

          • Damage
          • 11 years ago

          No go, guys. U.S. and Canada only. Sorry.

    • SecretMaster
    • 11 years ago

    Okay the first two questions I found I could answer without reading the necessary articles (hooray for me being somewhat knowledgeable!). However, I got stuck on the last question. I know what the most expensive system configuration is, however when I first read the question I instantly thought of the system configuration with the badass name (which isn’t the most expensive). A curveball no doubt!

      • crazybus
      • 11 years ago

      QFT. I had to double check that.

      Man, this system is epic. Can’t say that I’ve every won anything of significant value but this would suffice ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks TR

      • mnemonick
      • 11 years ago

      I nearly did the same thing. ๐Ÿ™‚ If I actually win, I hereby promise to use that name for the system, and rip some appropriate Futurama sounds to use for event notifications. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Skyline57GTR
    • 11 years ago

    Awesome….let hope that if I win. These prizes are great!

    • matic
    • 11 years ago

    In this news I’ve spotted two facts. The minor one is that there is a giveaway on a far continent, the most important one is that the Tech Report is very serious at handling the raised funds.

    • gtoulouzas
    • 11 years ago

    Good luck to the us/canada entrants. As a European, I’m afraid I will not be able to try my luck ๐Ÿ™

    • Usacomp2k3
    • 11 years ago

    Haven’t had a desktop for most of a year now. Don’t really have that much of a need for it, apart from the seldom LAN parties. That said, I could definitely find a use for it were I to win in… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Fighterpilot
    • 11 years ago

    The rest of the world looks on with envy at the badass machine headed for you lucky US/Canada gerbils.
    What a great rig that will be for Christmas…good luck dudes!

    • 2cans
    • 11 years ago

    i just wanna build it and clockit

    • phredp
    • 11 years ago

    I NEED a new rocket! This would help the cause!

    • `oz
    • 11 years ago

    Baby don’t be so mean!

    • NeronetFi
    • 11 years ago

    Good Luck everyone ๐Ÿ™‚ This would make for a great christmas/holiday present ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Shinare
    • 11 years ago

    Here’s to keeping my fingers crossed! Have a great Holiday everyone.

    • Krogoth
    • 11 years ago

    I have pitched in.

    The odds are not favorable though.

    It be would awesome if I win though.

    PS Forge, you better not attempt to raid me if I were the winner. XD

      • Forge
      • 11 years ago

      Raid? No, you’ll just die mysteriously and the loot will be missing.

    • DancinJack
    • 11 years ago

    Man, TR is by far the best tech site of all. You guys are incredibly knowledgeable , as non-biased as you can be, and extremely entertaining with your stuff. Great giveaway. TR ftw!

      • aleckermit
      • 11 years ago

      Brown-Noser ;p

      • Dysthymia
      • 11 years ago

      TR is definitely in my top 3, of 12+ tech sites I look at every day. I do prefer the system building guides here over all others. I even copy the way they’re formatted in HTML tables with NewEgg links when speculating on system builds myself. ( :

    • Forge
    • 11 years ago

    I would be so freaking blown away if I could finally win one of these contests. I’ve entered nearly all of them, and this is the one I think I’ve wanted most to win.

      • ChronoReverse
      • 11 years ago

      Haha, I feel the same way. I never win these things even though it would rock so hard (for me =) if I did.

    • Clint Torres
    • 11 years ago

    Muchas Grassyass, TR guys!

    • marvelous
    • 11 years ago

    Thanks techreport team. I lost my job and have nothing to eat. If I win at least I can play awesome game while starving. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • gbcrush
    • 11 years ago

    RAWK. This is quite nice of you guys.

    Now my only question: Is this “totally awesome”, or “totally awesome*3”?

    You mentioned chosing three winners in the regs, and “our lucky winner” (singular) up in the prize description.

    You guys aren’t giving away 3 whole systems worth of components are you? ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Forge
      • 11 years ago

      That’s a really good question. In the past it was one mega-pile’o’loot and two lesser but looty piles. I’d guess the same, but that’s only a guess.

      • Damage
      • 11 years ago

      Just one winner. I’ve fixed the errant text. Thanks.

        • willyolio
        • 11 years ago

        could the other two get t-shirts or something?

          • Damage
          • 11 years ago

          Only one winner. No soup for you!

            • eitje
            • 11 years ago

            There’s at least one Damage that TR *[

    • BoBzeBuilder
    • 11 years ago

    I hope Santa Wasson sends me 2×4870’s this christmass.

    • Klopsik206
    • 11 years ago

    Oh! Very nice prizes!
    Too bad it’s US only… Sniff… ๐Ÿ™

      • axeman
      • 11 years ago

      Hey, Canada too! I’m in Canada but actually so lazy I won’t even enter.

      edit: okay, I entered, because the questions were pretty easy this time, at least I hope so. I won’t win though. ๐Ÿ™ I’ve never won ANYTHING. In my entire life. Zip. Nada.

        • MadManOriginal
        • 11 years ago

        And that streak will continue with such a poor attitude mister!

          • willyolio
          • 11 years ago

          wishing makes ANYTHING come true.

            • odizzido
            • 11 years ago

            I wish I had a delicious pizza RIGHT NOW!

            WIIIIIIIIIIIISSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

            nothing ๐Ÿ™

            • willyolio
            • 11 years ago

            you didn’t wish hard enough.

        • zer0
        • 11 years ago

        i won a refrigerator in a raffle one time…

          • aleckermit
          • 11 years ago

          I won some brownies once…

    • MaxTheLimit
    • 11 years ago

    C’mon lucky 7!
    Daddy needs a new pair of GPUs!

    • reli4nt
    • 11 years ago

    Mighty generous of you TR

    • DreadCthulhu
    • 11 years ago

    Very nice prize, glad the questions were pretty easy.

      • 5150
      • 11 years ago

      or were they?

    • aleckermit
    • 11 years ago

    Thanks TR ๐Ÿ™‚

    • GFC
    • 11 years ago

    Whoa, nice prizes! o.O

    • PRIME1
    • 11 years ago

    Kwanzaarific!

    • Skrying
    • 11 years ago

    You feel like a geek when you know the answers off the top of your head. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck to all.

      • TurtlePerson2
      • 11 years ago

      I knew all but one, but CPUs aren’t really my thing anyway.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This