The TR Podcast 29: 2008, a year in review

Date: Dec 20, 2008

Time: 1:30:02

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski

Listen now:
Download: MP3 (61.8MB) | M4A (72.1MB)

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

Show notes

After almost of year of vocal tech reporting, our panelists sit down with hindsight 20/20 to dissect this past year of tech. Scott starts us off with an overview of the three tech trends he believes have outlined the industry in 2008. In brief, these are the solidification of the “productivity” usage model, the stagnation of graphical requirements for games, and the inevitable collision of CPUs and GPUs.

With these three tech themes serving as an outline, our editors dive into the top news and reviews from their areas of expertise. Geoff discusses the rise of netbooks, 780G and P45 chipsets, Xonar sound cards, and the advancement of solid-state storage technology. Cyril and Scott discuss some of 2008’s biggest corporate news, including AMD’s early CEO swap and Nvidia’s acquisition of Ageia. Finally, Scott does a roundup of the CPU and GPU designs that made this year one of the busiest we’ve seen in TR’s nine-year history.

Before signing off on our last episode of 2008, Jordan asks each of the editors what they’re most looking forward to in 2009, and we all pick our favorite 2008 game.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer it on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Tech discussion:

That’s all, folks! Have a great Christmas and New Year, and we’ll see you on January 10th for our next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • flip-mode
    • 11 years ago

    Does this mean no “Best and Worst” article?

    • Willard
    • 11 years ago

    On the front page, the blurb for this article is truncated: “It’s over an hour of the best…”

    When I go to the article, the rest of the blurb is not even in the danged article!

    How come I have to go to the /[

    • Tarx
    • 11 years ago

    Thanks for the episode! Having heard the quite a few episodes, much of the middle part was a bit of a recap of course.
    For netbook displays, to keep the size of the PC small, I wonder if 1280×800 is going to be too high resolution for a 9″ or 10″ display for a netbook.
    Perhaps 1152×720 (16:10) but that would be a new type of screen.

    • themattman
    • 11 years ago

    Another listener of the Totally Rad Show ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Pax-UX
    • 11 years ago

    Good god man! 13GB of data for Audio… What quality are you storing those Skype phone calls in??? I find FLAC is the only way to store important calls… ๐Ÿ˜

      • Saribro
      • 11 years ago

      Personal guestimation: 1 episode, 4 or 5 streams, about 100 minutes of PCM (in the current recording method) => that’s nearly half a GiB right there.

    • Pax-UX
    • 11 years ago

    Very slow episode, got interesting when it hit 2009 stuff. News recap shows are like watching reruns to me.

    I’ve really enjoyed the Podcasts in 2008 and am looking forward to your 2009 season!

    • Fastfreak39
    • 11 years ago

    I got your back Jordan with Mass Effect. I love the Mass Effect universe, I highly suggest reading the books if you haven’t.

    • travbrad
    • 11 years ago

    Nice episode as usual, and cool concept for an end-of-year show. It really put into perspective just how much major stuff is happening in the PC/tech world right now. Unfortunately for you guys (and your sleeping patterns) 2009 may be just as busy.

    I think it’s been great for consumers especially, with netbooks poised to pretty much replace laptops with a bit higher res and better keyboards for the majority of users (I don’t find standard laptop keyboard to be that great anyway).

    Even in the higher-end enthusiast market, you can get a PC that will do anything you need for a pretty cheap price. $1000 right now will get you a beast of a system really, and upgrading is even cheaper (I just got a new mobo, cpu, ram, and psu for about $350). The 4800 series has a helped a lot with that too. Before the reviews came out the GTX260 was $400+ (and the 280 was $650..) This has been one of the clearest demonstrations ever of why competition is good for consumers.

    The thing I’m drooling over the most though is the SSDs. Now that they are beginning to match HDDs in capacity and vastly outperforming them, the only thing left is get to down to more reasonable prices. They won’t even need to match standard HDDs on price/GB to compete in my mind. There is only so much space most of us can use. I have about 200GB of data on my PC right now so 1.5TB drives just seem like complete overkill, but I would love a quicker/more responsive storage solution (not to mention more reliable). As we all know, doing disk intensive tasks tends to slow your entire system to a crawl with mechanical HDDs, which I imagine is largely due to the seek/access times.

    So, in short, ditto ๐Ÿ™‚

      • indeego
      • 11 years ago

      As Abrasion likes to point out quite regularly, you aren’t going to see SSD’s that meet or beat mechanical HDD’s over 200G for several years, minimum.

      X25-E 32GB $735.16

      /[

        • Fastfreak39
        • 11 years ago

        That doesn’t mean that SSD’s don’t have their place in the consumer market. A couple of OCZ’s Core V2’s are pretty nasty as a raid 0 boot set up. There’s just enough room to throw a couple application on there too but that’s for the speed freaks out there.

        • green
        • 11 years ago

        or you could go slower/cheaper/larger:
        ยง[<http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820167005<]ยง or you could go slower/cheaper/larger again: ยง[<http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220343<]ยง either way these ssd's don't compete against standard drives they should be up against the raptor/scsi drives

    • MaxTheLimit
    • 11 years ago

    Good final Podcast for the year. I liked the GT200 versus RV770 discussion. It’s been interesting to watch the power struggle between the two companies, and it’s really been great for the performance/dollar numbers.

    Do look forward to DX11 information in the new year. Hopefully some Corei7 derivatives show up on some AFFORDABLE motherboards, and hopefully DDR3 will make it’s way down in price.

    • srg86
    • 11 years ago

    I only got about half of this episide first time I downloaded it. I got to the “CUDA crazy” part and it finished.

    Update: Second time lucky.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This