The TR Podcast 31: Liberated music, faster for less, and clicky keyboards

Date: Jan 17, 2009

Time: 1:17:42

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski

Listen now:
Download: MP3 (53.4MB) | M4A (61.7MB)

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

 

Show notes

In our first regular podcast of the year, we cover everything from the fastest single video card on the planet to our love of clicky keyboards (which goes hand-in-hand with our love of expensive office chairs).

The podcast team starts with some CES and Macworld news: Steve Job’s medical leave at Apple, the end of the DRM music war, and two huge hardware releases from Nvidia and AMD. Scott is hopeful that AMD’s Phenom II processors can compete with similarly priced Intel CPUs, and he shares his feelings on not only the new GeForce GTX 285 and 295 from Nvidia, but also the crazy card designs from AMD graphics card makers.

Not to be outdone by high 3DMark scores and FPS testing, the infamous IBM Model M vintage keyboard makes a showing in this episode, attempting to keep its place on Cyril’s desk despite the clicky onslaught of the new Das Keyboard. Listen to the episode for all this and a whole lot more, including the Windows 7 beta, cheaper X58 motherboards, and the latest storage news.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer it on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Tech discussion:

    Steve Jobs to take medical leave until late June (00:03:29)- Read more

    iTunes is finally DRM free (0:11:22)- Read more

    Windows 7 Beta released to the public (0:18:54)- Read more

    Cheap(er) X58 motherboards (0:28:08)- Read more

    AMD’s Phenom II processors (0:31:05)- Read more

    Core 2 Quad price cuts coming next Monday? (0:36:20)- Read more

    Das Keyboard review (0:40:06)- Read moreTR keyboard poll

    Hitachi’s Deskstar E7K1000 hard drive (0:53:21)- Read more

    Seagate offers fix, free data recovery for bricked Barracudas (0:56:05)- Read more

    Nvidia’s GeForce GTX 285 and 295 graphics cards (0:57:13)- Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on January 24 for our next TR podcast.

Comments closed
    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    I liked the stinger at the end, esp. since when I was listening to the Podcast for the 1st time I did indeed think, “Hm, jordan just said 2009 kindof robotically. I wonder if that was inserted…” so I literally lol’d when the stinger confirmed my suspicions.

    • _Sigma
    • 11 years ago

    I literally LOL’d at Jordan’s “Ad” spot with Cyril. The people on the bus ride to university looked at me funny 🙁

      • Usacomp2k3
      • 11 years ago

      A great touch. Reminds me of Sesame Street. I personally haven’t heard the typing in other podcasts, but I’m just now slowly making my way through them.

    • Saribro
    • 11 years ago

    To get your data out of the default user-folder in Vista:
    Open home folder, rightclick “Documents” folder (or whichever), click “Location”-tab, change it to wherever you feel like. (I have all my documents, pictures, videos,… on a different partition like that)
    Everything will still be directly accessible from the start-menu items the way you’re used to.

    • axeman
    • 11 years ago

    “Bill Gates is a rich man because changes in copyright law didn’t keep up with changes in technology”

    Ouch. But I agree. Way to distill the whole Microsoft corporate culture into one sentence.

    Oh, and on the subject of Windows 7, try to find out where to change the workgroup name in the control panel. I didn’t manage to find it without right clicking on “My Computer” and properties. And “advanced settings” for the system control panel is still the Windows 2000 applet, so I don’t see how much has changed.

    • Usacomp2k3
    • 11 years ago

    I’m really digging the podcasts. Thanks guys. (I’ve stolen my wife’s zune for the last week so that I can listen to stuff at work).

    • Prodeous
    • 11 years ago

    Can’t wait for the review of the menioned 5-1/4″ bay Dual Sata DDRII RAM Drive. I’m quite eager of getting it. about $350us for the drive it self.

    Gigabyte had a good idea, I’m quite disapointed that they didn’t release a DDRII model (outside of the few samples that were on ebay some time ago) .

    Speculations:
    This new drive (forgot the manufacturers name) has dual Sata out, so Raid is still performed on motherboard level. They should have made it Raid on the device level 🙂 But i guess that would limit the max speed to 300mb/s, which it should excede.

    One of the main advantages is that this device has a Memory Slot for Backup of drive. So no worries about loosing data, and a very interesting idea. have two copies, of different os and at any time just retreave any os/apps on it. with 4 dimms, per sata channel, that is 16GB per (4×4) and 32GB per device at Raid 0.

    Again, can’t wait for the review.

    • Pax-UX
    • 11 years ago

    Great show guys!

    AAC is better then MP3 at the same bitrates. I understand why people still use MP3, but it really isn’t the best.

    The G11! it’s rocks! You just need to learn a keyboard, they’re ladies and all need to be threated differently, but once you get your touch right good times are ahead. I do about 75/80, a little better then most minute men.

    • Prototyped
    • 11 years ago

    Re the mechanical keyswitch split-ergo keyboards, there’s one that Northgate also makes, but it is i[http://www.ergonomicsmadeeasy.com/store/integrated-pointing-devices/product/northgate-ergonomic-evolution-keyboard/<]§ and just like the initial Model M keyboards, it uses a full-DIN AT keyboard connector, and you'd need an active USB adapter to connect it to a USB port (as opposed to a passive adapter that would require USB functionality in the keyboard itself). I'm definitely a proponent of split-ergo design. I use an old (dilapidated :( ) Natural Keyboard Elite from 2001, and once it dies, I'll look for another Elite, which I'm told is still built better than the Natural Keyboard 4000 (although the latter has a better key layout, but then I've used the Elite long enough to be completely used to its layout).

      • Aphasia
      • 11 years ago

      You should try the Naturall Keyboard 4000, thats the one i have. I’ve used Microsoft Naturals since ’96, and the 4000 is the best of them that ive tried. Second to that is the original one. As for the other models in between, i hated them.

    • Aphasia
    • 11 years ago

    Re: Das Keyboard… i use the Microsoft Natural keyboard, and while not being a clicky keyboard, it do has a threshold for the rubber dome keys and definitely has a soft click when you type, if not the threshold metallic click the springs make. But for me, I’ve never had a problem with not getting enough feedback from that to touch type properly.

    • clone
    • 11 years ago

    in regards to the Das Keyboard article and comments…. I’ve got a biege Belkin PS2 egonomics keyboard I paid $50 for back in 1998 and I adore it….. the keys are fading it’s my second keyboard I bought an identical one that I wound up selling when I didn’t have any keyboards to bundle in with a system a customer was waiting for…… I regret selling the 2nd one for worries that my current one may eventually screw up.

    I use the keyboard for my system builds and spare while I’m composing this post on an MS ergonomics keyboard with a million multimedia keys that I rarely use if ever beyond curiousity and who’s tactile feedback sucks….

    while I agree that the “rubber dome” keyboards blow all round in truth I can buy one for $5.99 while I have to pony quite a bit more to get something with real feedback….. $50’s my limit while the Das Keyboard is interesting the price is enough to rob an end user of a 4830 512mb to put in his integrated motherboard….. that’s just too much,

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    I think the brand “iTunes Plus” should just be turned into “iTunes” and old, DRM iTunes songs should be called “iTunes (protected)”

    Reason? There are still plenty of albums that just say “iTunes” below them, and are sold for .99 … so is it DRM free? Naaaooooo!!!

    If iTunes Plus is the new norm, then take out the “plus” and brand the DRM ones.

    • bthylafh
    • 11 years ago

    The index time for the Das Keyboard review is wrong.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 11 years ago

    How long does it take for the Podcast to update with iTunes if you’re on a iPhone/iTouch ? I hit that link on my touch, but episode 30 is the latest available.

    Edit: 15 – 30 minutes later, I was able to find it after entering in a search in itunes store.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This