The TR Podcast 48: Windows 7, old-man rants, and luxury SSDs

The Tech Report Podcast Date: August 9, 2009

Time: 1:29:49

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski

Special guest: Mike Graf and Ton Khowdee

Listen now:

Download: MP3 (82.4MB) | M4A (84MB)

Subscribe with RSS | Subscribe with iTunes

Sponsored by MSI’s Master Overclocking Arena 2009. Congratulations to the Phase 2 winners!. Visit the official website or follow TR’s sponsored coverage for more.

Show notes

In the wake of the Windows 7 RTM rollout, our panel shares their impressions of the new operating system, from the new, OS X-esque taskbar to the departure of Windows Mail. Later, a listener question prompts some display discussion, while upcoming Left 4 Dead bonus content suggests Valve isn’t neglecting fans of the original game, after all.

Moving on, MSI’s upcoming Wind U200 laptop prompts an “old-man rant” from Scott, after which Geoff briefs us on the pros and cons of AMD’s 785G integrated graphics chipset. Finally, we share our thoughts on OCZ’s upcoming terabyte SSD (and its rumored $2,500 price tag).

Also in this episode: two cool interviews with contestants from MSI’s Master Overclocking Arena 2009. First-place winner Mike Graf tells us about his practical uses for overclocking on a day-to-day basis, while acclaimed case modder Ton Khowdee talks pro modding, overclocking, and more.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Listener mail:

Display upgrade questions – from Jonathan (Pax-Ux) – (0:30:08):

“I’m planning on upgrading my Samsung SyncMaster 244T (24”) which I picked up in ’06 for something in the 30” range. My main two options are either a Dell or Apple both of which ship for about €1,800; would that money be better spent on something like high quality HDTV with DVI support? What do you guys thing of using a HDTV instead of a dedicated monitor when you start going over the 24 inch mark as it incurs quite a cost premium.”

Tech discussion:

    Windows 7 panel discussion (0:02:36)

    New Left 4 Dead campaign coming next month (0:39:53)- Read more

    Interview with 1st place MSI overclocker Mike Graf (0:44:41)- Read more

    MSI’s Wind U200 is not a netbook, is coming soon (0:53:08)- Read more

    AMD’s 785G integrated graphics chipset (1:03:39)- Read more

    Interview with 3rd place MSI overclocker Ton Khowdee (1:12:18)- IronMods.comThe “War Machine”TF2 Sentry

    Report: OCZ’s 1TB solid-state drive prepped for mid-August (1:20:31)- Read more

    Fix for 34-nm Intel SSDs should be ready this week (1:26:04)- Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • a_non_moose
    • 10 years ago

    Agree with the “prospector voice” of use Thunderbird, because I like you have a huge archive of spam just to make filters easier to train:

    Gmail’s spam filtering is good, but for your/my purposes I have TB download to a local folder and if you are training your ‘pop server’ you can just use the “copy mail” function to/from the pop server.

    TB’s spam filter: point to Gmail/POP proxy folder and have marked spam (“J” key) copied to local folder as a second archive.

    When done “compact folders” in the file menu to save space and/or the “Duplicate detector” to get rid of exact dupes and shove them into a deep archive folder (either move the folder with TB closed, or whatever).

    TB has been trained since .X versions over the past several years, and today from 2 Gmail and 1 .edu account.

    • ShadowTiger
    • 10 years ago

    I have a few questions/comments.

    1) Did you actually find the folder where your emails are stored and look for a folder on your HDD that contains them? It makes sense that if you manually copy paste your email folder from the storage to one of your inboxes you could get around the Windows Live Program’s mail restriction on dragging folders. Edit – I the wikipedia article on microsoft exchange says that 2010 edition gets rid of storage folders and integrates them a different way. Maybe that or a new live update will change this issue (not necessarily fix it it, maybe it will get worse)

    2) Starting with XP or perhaps earlier, you have the ability to map your C:\ Drive or any folder to your task bar, and hovering over it allows you to expand subfolders as many times as you want. This allows you to find and execute any program on your HDD without opening the start menu. Just right click the taskbar… go to toolbars-> add new toolbar and choose any folder on your computer.

    Anyways great podcast… can’t wait till the next one.

    • sweatshopking
    • 10 years ago

    ok, well take this as some quick constructive critisism: why the heck, did you guys do a “review” of windows 7, when it seems none of you have really used it? one guy had used it on a few test machines, and had some idea about it, but most of you had only tried it slightly! why the heck would you bother? that was probably the silliest thing you guys have done since i started listening 6 months ago. it just seemed to me, that if you were going to go and discuss something, at least 2 of you should have some idea about it, so that you could actually discuss. for example: the taskbar. it seemed like some of you guys had never used it. the way it was explained was not concise anyway. it functions 10x better than the vista one, but has a slight learning curve to get used to it. it functions at least as well as the old, only now you have all kinds of new abilities. as for developers changing stuff, sure, if they want bonuses, but it works just fine without. and some developers are doing stuff

    §[< http://download.cnet.com/8301-2007_4-10306679-12.html<]§ but it is still much better in everyway, in my opinion significantly better than the osx dock as well. anyway, usually i enjoy the podcasts, and i did, but i thought it was kinda dumb to chat about win 7 when you havent used it. for the record i have been running it as my main OS for about 7 months, beta to rc. thanks josh

    • Freon
    • 10 years ago

    I run a 25.5″ Acer, paid $300 for it. You can get similar for ~$250-300 on the deal sites on a regular basis. Not really much more than a 24″. Sure, you don’t get extra pixels. I went slightly larger purely so I could push the monitor further back and lengthen the focal length and give my eyes a change of pace. At the time I only paid about a $50 premium for the extra 1.5″.

    I prefer the Ultrasharp displays, but cheaped out and instead so I can save my pennies for a nice 30″ later. This Acer is definitely TN, and has the drawbacks which are especially noticeable sitting next to my 2001FP.

    Never got into L4D. It never seemed like a full game to start. Short, not a lot of content. I think that’s why people are less than impressed. I waited until it was on sale for $25, but still have only played it for about 3-4 hours total. I’ll be passing on L4D2, especially since the community will almost certainly move over leaving little left for L4D1. It’s like the map pack dilemma. If you don’t buy it, good luck finding people to play with online.

    • Pax-UX
    • 10 years ago

    Thanks guys for discussing my question. Guess I need to figure out if I want 30″ of screen or a higher resolution. Will keep an eye out for that 3007WFP-HC versions on the Dell.ie site. Also looked up those 27″ and they’re going for €970! Think the those chaps in dell have the currency convert calculation the wrong way round.

    26:30, LoL who’s eating the chips!

    Great show as always.

    • Skrying
    • 10 years ago

    You can still get Details view in Windows 7. You can sort by name, date, size, etc, etc, etc without using right click. Using the columns at top. I’m not sure what Cyril is talking about with regard to that aspect of Explorer.

    Another note: Gmail is awesome. I have all of my email addresses forwarded to Gmail. It simply works, it is available no matter where I go. On line, off line, my computer, your computer, my phone, your phone, whatever. It is every where I would ever need it. It is awesome.

      • Cyril
      • 10 years ago

      I was talking about the List view, where icons are the same size as in the Details view, but they fill multiple columns side-by-side without details.

      Visa’s List view gives you the same headers as the Details view, so you can choose your sorting mode by just clicking on them. Windows 7 hides the headers away, so you have to go into the contextual menu to do the same thing. No big deal; just a minor inconvenience for me.

        • Skrying
        • 10 years ago

        Ahh. My mistake then. I’ve always used Details view so I didn’t make the connection.

      • Meadows
      • 10 years ago

      The problem is, the sorting bar was there for /[

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 10 years ago

    Ehhehh *[

    • flip-mode
    • 10 years ago

    Thunderbird mail accounts are sooooo easy to deal with. Moving to a new computer – just copy the “Thunderbird” folder and all accounts, settings, filters, etc. stays intact.

      • Usacomp2k3
      • 10 years ago

      /2
      You don’t have to run games at the native resolution. I have a 24″ and don’t always run at 1920×1200. Scaling works great for almost any game.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This