The TR Podcast 60: OS X gaming, a six-core monster and the cake is a lie…. again

The Tech Report Podcast Date: March 14, 2010

Time: 1:20:56

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior

Download: MP3 (58MB) m4a (79.8MB)

Subscribe: RSS | iTunes

Listen now:
Sponsored by Gigabyte. Check out Gigabyte’s selection of USB 3.0 motherboards, including the X58A-UD5.

 

Show notes

Join us this week for a classic TR Podcast episode—sans our lovable French news jockey Cyril. Scott, Geoff and Jordan kick off the episode with a follow-up to our recent “.5” episode, which discussed AMD’s Eyefinity and the new Radeon HD 5870. Scott gives us his updated take on day-to-day Eyefinity gameplay after tweaking the monstrous six-display rig. Moving across the graphic aisle, Nvidia brings us both good and bad news as the next-gen Ion takes flight amid reports that the latest ForceWare graphics drivers are causing GPU overheating. And there’s more from the snafu department; Newegg has dropped a major supplier following the recent fake Core i7-920 debacle. Our news roundup concludes with a flurry of gaming stories, including some sexy Crysis 2 screenshots, Portal 2 goodness, and much to Jordan’s delight, the news that Steam is coming to the Mac.

This episode’s hardware reviews start with the crazy-fast Intel Core i7-980X Extreme CPU, a chip that has it all: headroom, value, efficiency, and speed. Geoff gives us the scoop on AMD’s new 890GX integrated graphics chipset, and Scott gives the shortest GPU review we’ve every aired, succinctly summing up the disappointing Radeon HD 5830. Finally, Scott gives his thoughts on the issue of ad blockers, and the harm they do to publications like TR.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter – ScottJordanThe Tech Report

Tech discussion:

    Podcast follow-up; Six-display Eyefinity rig lands in Damage Labs (0:01:43)- Read more

    Nvidia pulls 196.75 drivers after overheating complaints (0:05:00)- Read more

    Next-generation Nvidia Ion takes flight (0:06:07)- Read more

    Newegg ditches distributor over Core i7-920 ‘demo units’ (0:15:11)- Read more

    Epic brings 3D to Unreal Engine… wait, what? (0:19:40)- Read more

    Steam, Valve games will hit Macs next month (0:23:41)- Read more

    Valve announces Portal 2 (0:29:52)- Read more

    First official Crysis 2 screenshots released (0:32:24)- Read more

    Intel’s Core i7-980X Extreme processor (0:35:45)- Read more

    AMD’s 890GX integrated graphics chipset (0:52:27)- Read more

    AMD’s Radeon HD 5830 graphics card (1:05:57)- Read more

    Scott talks about adblockers (1:06:58)- Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • kamikaziechameleon
    • 10 years ago

    microsoft really has screwed their own platform with basic neglect.

    • pdjblum
    • 10 years ago

    This time I have something nice to say about Scott. Last time you heard from me I gave you a hard time about twitter. Just to mention, I detest all social networking sites.

    Anyhow, how can the ads on tech report be any less intrusive or bothersome. If you can make the business work with these kinds of ads, you are obviously doing a great job.

    The real stars in the US are not actors but entrepreneurs. They make a living so to support their family and they create jobs for all the other people who do not have what it takes to be an entrepreneur. If you enjoy what you are doing, supporting your family doing it, doing it with honesty and integrity, and providing a service or product that people value, you are a star. In that you are able to do this with unobtrusive advertising is quite impressive and appreciated.

    Next time I will find something critical to say so I can see all the ass wipes jump to your defense.

    • pdjblum
    • 10 years ago

    Not too long ago, I was critical of the show, and Jordan in particular. I stopped listening for quite a while, but I decided to give it another go a few weeks ago. I am glad I did. Jordan has throttled back his inane comments to almost none. He is doing a great job getting discussions started and staying quietly in the background until he decides it is an appropriate time to move on to the next topic.

    I still can’t stand that Jordan is a an apple fanboy, but he is my reality check when I scratch my head as to why apple is doing so ridiculously well and is the third highest valued company in the US.

    Well done, apple fanboy.

    • codedivine
    • 10 years ago

    Cyril, welcome to Canada!

    • d0g_p00p
    • 10 years ago

    As for ad blocking I would hope that people white list the free sites they read like TR. I mean honestly TR has the least obtrusive ad system in place. I very rarely even notice it when browsing the site. I think a lot of people expect these sites to be there for their enjoyment without thinking of the back end cost to run the site and the time the owners put into the site. Ad blocking software should be used selectively to block those annoying ads (like the ones with sounds and the seizure inducing flashing ones) but blocking a entire site with the software is a disservice to the sites you read on a regular basis.

    Also I agree with Fighterpilot. I think there should be a donate button as well. TR is my home page and the first thing I read when I crack open my browser. I would definitely kick down some money and I am sure many TR regulars would as well.

    edit: I just read Scott’s etc post on ad blocking and it’s basically what I was trying to say. The comments from the dude who won that awesome machine from TR is repulsive. Talk about ungrateful, what a prick.

    • Gerbil Jedidiah
    • 10 years ago

    I don’t want to go surf through the 300+ responses on the ETC… post so I’ll just ask, who’s the gentleman that won the X-Mas giveaway? (and when I say gentleman don’t think I support his viewpoint on adblocking)

      • d0g_p00p
      • 10 years ago

      It’s designerfx.

      edit: my rant deleted.

    • d0g_p00p
    • 10 years ago

    My respect for you guys just went up 10 fold, talking about Old Man Murray. That site was epic to say the least and the “time to crate” article is legendary. Much props.

    • PRIME1
    • 10 years ago

    Well I see ads from Corsair, OCZ and Gigabyte. All companies I like and support. So I’m not sure what people are needing to block here.

      • _Sigma
      • 10 years ago

      I agree 100%. I actually bought a product based on an ad I saw.

    • glynor
    • 10 years ago

    I also wanted to say… Great podcast, as always. I noticed Jordan was doing a very good job this time of keeping the discussion moving. Good job on that. Sometimes it is great to continue to discuss things because it takes a discussion to flesh out your feelings on an issue, but you don’t want to let it go too far. Anyway, nice job…

    I was also very glad to see Gigabyte as a sponsor. If this continues, I’d really love to see you get some ad/content from them. A discussion with their rep on current or upcoming products would be great!

    Great job all around, even without Cyril. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • flip-mode
    • 10 years ago

    Good podcast. Again, I’ve never had trouble with the ads at TR except for the occasional flash ad that hogs CPU.

    Can’t believe the dude that got the computer from you guys would be a biotch.

      • ssidbroadcast
      • 10 years ago

      Seriously on point 100%. Let’s not ever give him the time of day (although he doesn’t post much anyway).

      • glynor
      • 10 years ago

      I just finished listening to the podcast on my way home from work, and I wanted to comment on it briefly regarding the ad stuff in the last section.

      I’ll start off by saying this… I agree 100% with just about everything Scott said in this section. Also, I said this a number of times in the previous threads, but I’ll repeat it here: *[

    • NarwhaleAu
    • 10 years ago

    I’ve left off installing Adblocker for Firefox on my new Windows 7 installation.

    I’ve even taken to clicking on some of the ads…

    • Freon
    • 10 years ago

    I’ve whitelisted TR and most of the sites I frequent. I certainly wouldn’t want to see any of my favorite tech (or otherwise) sites disappear due to ad blocking. I do now use adblock, flashblock, noscript, and disable cookies by default, though.

    It’s unfortunate that it has come to a warfare model in general on the web, but I really feel things like noscript drastically improve security and usability on the web. Whitelisting as I go is really quite easy for sites I trust, but I never know where a click may take me.

    I’ve been pretty happy with Shacknews’ Mercury subscription. I would definitely be up for paying a reasonable yearly subscription for an ad-free TR if you guys ever decided to do that. For reference, Mercury is ~$50/yr, though it provides several other services besides ad-free Shacknews. Maybe a bundle with employee-side Jobs board service and a TR t-shirt?

    • Fighterpilot
    • 10 years ago

    Scott, it was good to hear your views on the ad blocking thread.
    You have it correct and made a convincing case.
    *I’d like to again suggest putting a DONATE button on the front page.*
    Perhaps a TR Users project to cancel all adblocking for a week,with the aim of showing, through the revenue stream how much difference it makes?
    I’d like to think we could get a lot of geeks here to cooperate just for the sheer science of it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The Dark One
    • 10 years ago

    You will rue the day you slandered Quebec and her people.

      • glynor
      • 10 years ago

      This made me laugh *[

    • jstern
    • 10 years ago

    I will disable adblock for techreport.

    • DrDillyBar
    • 10 years ago
    • wiak
    • 10 years ago

    most macs has ATI cards atm
    btw many CS servers run on linux so basicly you can play
    mac (client) < > linux (server) < > windows (client)

    • grantmeaname
    • 10 years ago

    Also, is it like officially “don’t screw over websites you value” week or something?

    The coverage is nice though.

    • grantmeaname
    • 10 years ago

    Cyril’s still off on his mission?

    • rodidas
    • 10 years ago

    Ahh excellent timing.

    Just about to leave a Monday at the office (Australian), and will keep me company on the long trip home through traffic ^^

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This