The TR Podcast 61: Apple vs. Google, broken DRM, and AMD’s gaming manifesto

The Tech Report Podcast Date: March 28, 2010

Time: 0:53:10

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Cyril Kowaliski, Geoff Gasior

Download: MP3 (36.7MB) | M4A (50.1MB)

Subscribe: RSS | iTunes

Listen now:
Sponsored by Gigabyte. Check out Gigabyte’s selection of USB 3.0 motherboards, including the X58A-UD5.

Show notes

While Scott is hard at work finishing his Nvidia GF100 review, Cyril and Geoff join Jordan for this short and sweet episode. We start with a roundup of gaming-related topics: the size of the market for top-of-the-line PC gaming hardware, EA’s broken DRM being assaulted from within, and Valve’s Gabe Newell speaking his mind about Ubisoft’s equally dysfunctional copy protection.

Moving on, Geoff has the scoop about AMD’s new gaming manifesto, and rumor has it cheaper DirectX 11 GeForce graphics cards could be coming out this summer. We wrap things up by going over our latest poll, which reveals the IT roots of a surprising portion of our readership, and by examining Google’s souring relationships with both Apple and the Chinese government.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter – ScottJordanThe Tech Report

Tech discussion:

    JPR: Enthusiast gaming PC hardware is a $9.5 billion market (0:01:44)- Read more

    EA.com editor in chief rails against company’s DRM (0:13:08)- Read more

    Gabe Newell speaks out against Ubisoft DRM (0:17:22)- Read more

    Cheaper DX11 GeForces could be out this summer (0:21:26)- Read more

    AMD outlines its Gamers Manifesto (0:22:59)- Read more

    Poll: Enterprise IT hardware and you (0:23:41)- Read more

    Apple’s relationship with Google more tenuous than ever (0:32:27)- Read more

    Google China starts serving uncensored content through Hong Kong (0:45:26)- Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • barleyguy
    • 10 years ago

    I just want to point out that the phrase “broken DRM” is redundant. All DRM is broken.

    • Bauxite
    • 10 years ago

    BTW, explosives only have to be “near” if you are having trouble aiming or controlling your fire.

    The various RPG are a lot less picky about killing, and still quite accurate even at long ranges…just have to learn the arc.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 10 years ago

    Geoff: You sure Valve is still private? I thought maybe they were under the ATVI umbrella…

    • d0g_p00p
    • 10 years ago

    I was wondering what was going on with the Fermi review. Glad Scott is putting it through the paces. I cannot wait for the review.

    • pjladyfox
    • 10 years ago

    1. Bad Company 2 “everything is like play-doh” – I’m not going to assume what servers you are playing on but it sounds as if one of the following is happening:

    a. You are not playing on a Hardcore server – The easiest way to tell this if you see the crosshairs on your screen. If you see those then you are playing on what a lot of us like to call “console mode” or “n00b mode” where all of the assists are on and the damage is decreased per hit.

    b. “Spray and Pray FTW!!” – This Battlefield game will severely punish those, regardless of game mode, who love to just hold the button down and hose their target with bullets. Just like in real-life while that looks cool you’re not going to hit often if at all. Use short bursts, usually 3 to 5 rounds, and aim just below where you wish to hit and you should see an improvement. Otherwise, rest assured, those of us who do use trigger control will bag you as a trophy.

    Bottom line, the issue is either the server you are playing on or your playstyle that makes “everything is like play-doh” and not the game itself. This has been the same since BF2 and will continue to be so which is why Battlefield has been as popular as it has been until Modern Warfare was released. Modern Warfare 2 this is not and I’m greatly thankful for it.

    2. Is PhysX important over DX11 and Eyefinity – My own take is that I get a better “WOW” factor from better graphics than any physics. This is especially important considering that I should not have to by some widget from someone just to get physics when before NVIDIA did their thing there was physics available using only my CPU. Want me to care about it more, make it more open so I can see it on my Xbox 360 AND PC and not on a particular piece of hardware.

    • Philldoe
    • 10 years ago

    Bad Company 2

    An entire clip to kill some one? Learn to aim yo. 3 body shots from an XM8 Prototype will kill.

    You may be mistaking low gun damage with a more realistic gun accuracy model. You can’t expect to get a kill when you just hold down the trigger, recoil is going to totaly screw your aim. Use short controlled bursts

      • glynor
      • 10 years ago

      PS. I totally agree with you guys that competition (as opposed to collaboration) will likely provide better results for the consumer. I don’t know if we need the two companies to “hate” each other, but a little good-spirited competition is absolutely a good thing. Both of them still could learn a lot from each other.

      • d0g_p00p
      • 10 years ago

      When you are worth billions of dollars each it does. Not that I agree. I wish the media (and the public) would just let the ultra rich alone. If I had my wish, hacks like Paris Hilton would never be in the limelight.

    • alphacheez
    • 10 years ago

    Looking forward to reviews from Cyril. Too bad Scott wasn’t available to give a bit of a scoop on Fermi; look forward to that review tomorrow (I hope).

    I think DRM needs to be wrapped in something that adds value for the customer like the way Steam allows you to redownload games, backup games, organize games that weren’t even purchased through Steam etc. Valve also does a good job of running specials on games in which people are likely to be interested.

    I’m a bit concerned about Apple taking out Google-related features in future iPhone updates due to the growing animosity between the two companies but I am hopeful Google will be able to push Apple to more open behavior and less craziness like blocking apps for “duplicating functionality” of Apple apps.

    I’ll probably look into getting a new phone this Summer as my iPhone 3g will likely look quite dated compared to the offerings available then. I’ll seriously consider an Android-based phone at that point but there are some problems with OS versions being all over the place depending on the Android device you’re using; I hope that situation gets worked out. It really seems to fragment the Android platform.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This