The TR Podcast 66: Computex, hybrid hard drives, and iPhone 4

The Tech Report Podcast Date: June 13, 2010

Time: 1:26:43

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Cyril Kowaliski, Geoff Gasior

Download: MP3 (59.8MB) | M4A (81.4MB)

Subscribe: RSS | iTunes

Listen now:

Show notes

With Cyril fresh from Computex, Scott and Geoff primed with new reviews, and Jordan armed with lame jokes… there’s plenty going on in this episode of the podcast. After a few listener mail shoutouts, we kick things off with a slice of Computex, relaying the experience of one of the world’s largest tech tradeshows and looking at the highlights. Dovetailing with the discussion of Asus’s Eee Pad, Geoff explains what he believes makes the perfect tablet.

Now that the iPhone 4 is finally here, our panelists all have something to say about Apple’s newest smartphone. To wrap things up, Scott and Geoff detail their findings in their latest reviews. Scott has been overclocking Intel’s new unlocked Core i5-655K and i7-875K processors, while Geoff has put a hybrid hard drive from Seagate to the test.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter – ScottJordanGeoffCyrilThe Tech Report

Tech discussion:

    We take a closer look at Asus’ 10” Eee Pad (0:03:00)- Read more

    Windows 7 run out of Moorestown, heads down Oak Trail (0:19:43)- Read more

    Hot for tablet (0:25:19)- Read more

    Gigabyte expects laptops to decline in popularity (0:31:16)- Read more

    Apple intros fourth-generation iPhone at WWDC (0:41:13)- Read more

    Intel’s Core i7-875K and i5-655K processors (0:57:06)- Read more

    Seagate’s Momentus XT hard drive (1:07:04)- Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • kamikaziechameleon
    • 9 years ago

    I agree with gigabyte I don’t want to cary a camera, a laptop, a smart phone, a tablet, DS, 3DS, PSP, pad of sticky notes, etc…

    I as a consumer want maybe two mobile devices one for utility, a smart phone or tablet and one for leisure or games (camera 3DS) while my desire for a laptop has dramatically wanned I have lost no love for my desktop.

      • indeego
      • 9 years ago

      It is amusing that desktops give us the most power and flexibility in computing while also chaining us to a desk. Mobile devices give us maximum flexibility on where to do our computing, but they limit what we can actually do with them. Laptops are the best of both worlds, a tad limiting in desktop power, a tad less flexible in mobility.

      Other than games on my desktop, I’d use a laptop all the time.
      Other than not being able to answer phone calls conveniently like on a smartphone, I’d use a laptop all the time.

      Laptop wins, and the numbers prove that they are the most popular form factor currentlyg{<.<}g

    • ChangWang
    • 9 years ago

    I have an EVO and I like it alot. Android is definitly more of a geeks OS though. The learning curve hasn’t been too bad though. As for battery life, I get about time I got out of my iPhone 3G

    • PenGun
    • 9 years ago

    Some prices. You may not have known.

    Telus in BC no subsidy, all CAN prices:

    iPhone 3GS 32 $799
    iPhone 3GS 16 $699

    The refurbished 3G needs a plan but the price
    would be $549

    I have no idea what an iPhone 4 will cost.

    Nexus One is $545

    • dragmor
    • 9 years ago

    I just picked up an updated version of Baldur’s Gate series (original and all 3 expansions) updated to play on XP, Vista and Win7. Time for some pen interface gaming.

    I can see alot of older games making a comeback for tablet play.

    • 5150
    • 9 years ago

    I stayed at work today as I rode my bike and enjoyed listening to this during my lunch hour. I’ll have to make this a habit.

    • adisor19
    • 9 years ago

    Aah the iPhone 4 🙂

    Scott, when can we have a review of that ?

    I really do think TR should review Smartphones.

    Adi

      • Fighterpilot
      • 9 years ago

      Try The Phone Report…I don’t want to read about Apple consumer toys here.

      • ssidbroadcast
      • 9 years ago

      That might happen someday.

    • thill9
    • 9 years ago

    Where was this podcast when I needed something to listen to while I mowed the yard yesterday?

      • Buzzard44
      • 9 years ago

      What headphones do you have? I just have a cheap pair, but I really have to deafen myself to hear over the sound of the lawn mower. Also, I have an LT133 mower.

        • thill9
        • 9 years ago

        I bought them a few years back, Shure e3c. What you need to find are some good ear buds that have removable/replaceable flanges for noise isolation. I’m sure that my hearing has gotten worse since I’ve started using them (not due to listening and mowing). When I first started using them, I could start the player at a comfortable volume, then when I started the mower, I did not need to adjust the volume. That’s how well they blocked out the noise. I think a good set of ear buds will work well as ear plugs if the fitment is done properly. I’m using my iphone currently, so I’ve been looking at the SE115m+ (now that you’ve asked, I’m jonesing for some new ones 😉 )

        The con to all of this is that you probably shouldn’t use these in situations that you need to listen to traffic, say running, biking, or driving, as they do a good job of blocking out everything.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This