Brazos comes to Acer’s Aspire One 522 netbook

Manufacturer Acer
Model Aspire One 522
Price (Street)
$329.99
Availability Now

The impending death of netbooks has, I believe, been greatly overstated. Of course, the class of computing devices spawned by Asus’ seminal Eee PC is still being assaulted on multiple fronts. In the PC world, ultraportable notebooks based on “real” CPUs have plunged in price to near-netbook levels. This new breed of budget ultraportable typically offers more capable hardware with snappier performance, a higher display resolution stretched across a larger screen, and pretty good battery life for around $500-700. I’ve been using one for more than a year now, and it’s fantastic.

Tablets are coming at netbooks from an entirely different direction. They’re the hot new thing, and while the iPad has been an unquestionable success, we’re still waiting for the market to fill out with alternatives. Even when more competition arrives, finding a tablet that costs less than Apple’s entry-level iPad may be difficult. You’re looking at $500 for the base iPad, which lacks modern conveniences like HDMI output, USB ports, and a memory card slot. Competing tablets are likely to be better equipped, but they won’t necessarily be any cheaper. Motorola’s Honeycomb-powered Xoom, for example, is slated to cost $800. Ouch.

The whole point behind netbooks is getting ultraportable Windows computing on the cheap, so it’s hard to see tablets as a direct substitute. Not only are they more expensive, they can’t run Windows applications. Slates might be slimmer and lighter, but that’s in part because they lack physical keyboards. Good luck composing anything longer than a 140-character tweet. I guess that’s why a lot of the iPads I see are attached to keyboard docks—that’ll be another $80, please.

Tablets and budget ultraportables would have a better shot at killing off netbooks if we were stuck with underpowered Atom-based systems with low-res displays, suspect HD video playback, and questionable gaming chops. However, AMD’s Brazos platform is spawning a new generation of netbooks that looks poised to raise the bar by quite a bit. Take Acer’s Aspire One 522, for example. This fresh 10-incher has a 720p display resolution, a Fusion APU with integrated Radeon graphics, an HDMI output, more USB ports than a MacBook Air, plus Windows 7 and all the accoutrements one might expect from a netbook. Total cost: just $330 at Newegg. In Canada, you’ll pay only $300, making this new netbook substantially cheaper than any tablet or budget ultraportable that might be gunning to take its place.

The first thing you’ll notice about the Aspire is that it very much looks like any other netbook, right down to the glossy finish that covers the lid. Ugh. We think polished plastics are a poor choice for devices that are handled constantly because they easily pick up unsightly fingerprints and smudges. You can buff those out with a cleaning cloth and little effort, but be prepared for constant wiping if you want to keep the Aspire looking pristine. Or, you could resort to a scouring pad.

Glossy plastic also infects the system’s screen bezel, ensuring that you’ll leave behind fingerprints each and every time you tilt the screen. Mercifully, Acer has gone with a mix of matte finishes for the system’s palm rest and underbelly. The matte plastics may not look as fancy as freshly polished gloss, but they should wear much better in the real world.

Although the Aspire One 522 may look like the average netbook, its underlying hardware is anything but typical. At long last, this is Fusion in the flesh—the first mobile system we’ve used based on AMD’s Brazos platform. Fusion, of course, refers to AMD’s longstanding plan to fuse CPU and GPU elements on a single die otherwise known as an Accelerated Processing Unit, or APU. In this systems’s Ontario APU, the CPU component offers dual Bobcat cores designed from the ground up to take on Intel’s Atom processor. Like Atom, these cores are optimized for low power consumption and support 64-bit extensions. While Atom must rely on in-order execution, Bobcat can execute instructions out of order, which should allow it to process more instructions per clock cycle. Bobcat also includes hardware support for virtualization, a feature that Atom CPUs can’t match.

On the graphics front, Ontario incorporates a DirectX 11-class Radeon with 80 shader ALUs. This honest-to-goodness GPU represents a significant boost in 3D horsepower over the GMA 3150 integrated graphics built into recent Atom CPUs. More importantly, it offers a HD video decoding engine that the GMA lacks. Ontario’s third-generation UVD video acceleration hardware is capable of handling the heavy lifting associated with most popular video formats, including standard-definition DivX/Xvid content and hi-def H.264. The UVD block also supports Flash video acceleration, so HD YouTube clips should play smoothly.

Both the Ontario and Zacate flavors of this APU are fashioned from the same 40-nano silicon. The Aspire uses the C-50 APU, an Ontario part with two cores and a 9W thermal envelope. Each core offers 512KB of L2 cache and a 1GHz clock speed, while the integrated Radeon HD 6250 ticks along at 280MHz. Higher clock speeds are available with Zacate, which has an 18W thermal envelope and looks to be destined for 11.6″ and larger systems.

In addition to rippling with multiple display outputs and a handful of PCI Express lanes, the Ontario APU has a UMI interconnect that runs to an associated Hudson Fusion Controller Hub, or FCH. The FCH provides extra PCIe lanes alongside USB and Serial ATA connectivity. The resulting two-chip solution looks very similar to Intel’s Pine Trail Atom platform, with the obvious exception being that Brazos should have a much more potent GPU. To get that with Atom, you need to add an auxiliary graphics chip like Nvidia’s Ion GPU.

Processor AMD C-50 1.0GHz
Memory 1GB DDR3-1066 (1 DIMM)
Chipset AMD Hudson FCH
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6250
Display 10.1″ TFT with 720p (1280×720) resolution and LED backlight
Storage Toshiba MK2565GSX 250GB 2.5″ 5,400 RPM hard drive
Audio Stereo HD audio via Conexant codec
Ports 3 USB 2.0

1 HDMI

1 VGA

1 RJ45 10/100 Ethernet via Atheros AR8152

1 analog headphone output

1 analog microphone input

Expansion slots 1 MMC/SDHC
Communications 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi via Broadcomm controller
Input devices Chiclet keyboard

Synaptics capacitive touchpad

Internal microphone

Camera 1.3-megapixel webcam
Dimensions 10.2″ x 7.3″ x 1.0″ (258 x 185 x 26 mm)
Weight 2.87 lbs (1.3 kg)
Battery 6-cell Li-ion 4400 mAh, 49 Wh

Looking at the rest of the Aspire’s hardware, it’s tempting to call the system an HD netbook. The GPU offers HD video decode acceleration, the screen has enough pixels to display 720p HD video in all its glory, and even the webcam has a higher resolution than is common for this class of system. There are still plenty of clues that this a decidedly budget build, though. The wired networking tops out at 100Mbps, there’s only 250GB of mechanical storage, and Bluetooth isn’t included.

A gig of RAM is to be expected in a system this cheap. However, because a chunk of that memory is occupied by the integrated Radeon, Windows is only working with 747MB of RAM. Speaking of Windows, you’re limited to a 32-bit Starter version of the OS that lacks features like advanced Aero eye candy, Windows Media Center, XP virtualization, and multi-monitor support. At least it’s not XP, I guess.

Obviously, building such a small and inexpensive system involves a number of trade-offs. I’m still amazed at what Acer has squeezed into the Aspire’s compact package. With dimensions of 10.2″ x 7.3″ x 1.0″, the Aspire has a much smaller footprint than the average 13.3″ thin-and-light notebook. There isn’t much of an advantage in the thickness department, though.

Netbooks do tend to be a bit lighter than their notebook counterparts, and the Aspire is no exception. With the 6-cell battery onboard, the system weighs in at less than three pounds.

The view from the cockpit

Netbooks quickly outgrew the 7″ screens of the original Eee PC. These days, 10.1″ panels are typical for the genre. The Aspire features a screen of that size, but it’s hardly typical. Rather than the more common 1024×600 display resolution, this panel goes up to 1280×720. The resolution otherwise known as 720p offers 22% more pixels than the average netbook display, and you’ll see the difference immediately.

You’ll also notice plenty of reflections in the screen’s glossy top coat. Sadly, matte displays are rare in the mobile world. Cranking the screen’s brightness overpowers much of its reflectivity, but light sources still remain plainly visible, perhaps because the LED backlight feels a little weaker than what we’ve seen from some netbooks. When set to full blast, whites fall a little short of blinding and are instead pleasantly pure.

The screen’s color reproduction is pretty good when you’re directly across from it. There seems to be a little extra warmth to the default color profile, but colors look decent considering this is a TN panel. Ignore the vertical lines in the image above; they’re an artifact of my digital camera rather than something you can see when looking at the screen in person.

Poor viewing angles are a staple of the sort of cheap TN panels that tend to make their way into netbooks. In the picture above, the screen is leaning back about 10 degrees, with the system rotated counter-clockwise by the same amount. As you can see, everything looks pretty washed out. The screen’s horizontal viewing angles are more forgiving than the vertical ones, so it’s a good thing there’s plenty of hinge travel to facilitate a nice recline.

We bought this Aspire up in Canada, so it has a different keyboard layout than models selling in the US. I suppose this must be some sort of concession to language laws tied to country’s French Canadian heritage. As someone who was born in Montreal, I apologize. Deeply. There is simply no good reason to move the backslash key down a row to where the left side of the enter key should be. Making the enter key a double-height affair doesn’t remedy the fact that my pinkie finger is programmed to reach just to the right of the apostrophe key when I want to hit enter. Instead of dropping down a line, I get an unwanted backslash. Thankfully, the keyboard selling on US versions of the Aspire has a standard layout.

Total keyboard area Alpha keys
Width Height Area Width Height Rough area
Size 245 mm 95 mm 23,275 mm² 158 mm 49 mm 7,742 mm²
Versus full size 85% 86% 74% 92% 86% 79%

Having even one key out of place can make typing difficult when you’re squeezed onto a keyboard that’s smaller than usual. Like the chiclet arrays on most 10″ netbooks, this one feels a little cramped. There’s just enough room for my oversized mitts to type comfortably, but getting up to speed requires more concentration than when I’m using the larger keyboard on my 11.6″ notebook.

Large key caps make the keyboard easier to use than one might expect from something this size. We’d prefer to see slightly contoured caps to help keep one’s fingers centered, though. The gaps between the existing caps are difficult to detect until your finger has drifted far off course.

Keyboard feel is incredibly important to those of us who type for a living. The Aspire scores well on this front, offering good tactile feedback and enough key travel for a punchy feel. Some flex is visible under heavy-handed typing, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say that the keyboard feels mushy. Among cheap netbook keyboards, it’s pretty good overall.

South of the keyboard sits the touchpad, whose tracking surface is nice and smooth, with no break-in period required. Netbooks of this size don’t leave much room for generous touchpads, but the Aspire’s is wider than usual at 3″ x 1.5″. At first, I was tempted to chide Acer for walling off the touchpad area with a subtle border that’s difficult to detect. However, after using it for a while, I’m convinced that the touchpad is too wide to easily venture out of bounds. Additional vertical area would be appreciated, and Acer could reclaim some by moving the see-saw touchpad button down to the edge of the system. In its current location, the button is too difficult to activate when one’s thumb is resting on the bottom edge of the chassis.

Synaptics is responsible for the touchpad’s hardware, and the associated drivers brim with a broad array of multi-touch goodness. All the usual gestures are supported, including pinch zooming, multi-finger flicks, programmable tap zones, and both one- and two-finger scrolling. The dual scrolling options are further compounded by chiral scrolling, coasting, and edge modifiers that make it easier to scroll through long documents or web pages.

Connectivity and expansion

Acer manages to pack a decent assortment of connectivity options into its latest Aspire One. Before we get into them, I have to poke fun at the “HD Internet” logo emblazoned with AMD’s name. Seriously? The system’s networking is handled by third-party controllers, for which AMD only provides PCI Express lanes. I suppose the ability to watch hardware-accelerated Flash video could be interpreted as a hi-def Internet experience, but that’s an awfully tight focus for a Fusion platform capable of so much more.

At least the Aspire has proper HD credentials. An HDMI port fueled by the integrated Radeon can output 1080p video alongside a multi-channel audio stream if you want to enjoy movies on the big-screen TV in your living room. There’s also a VGA output that should come in handy for those who need to connect to older projectors.

Although there’s no love for USB 3.0, the Aspire has three USB 2.0 ports. You also get an integrated card reader and analog headphone and microphone jacks.

Most notebooks provide access panels that allow for easy memory and hard drive upgrades. This particular Aspire does not. After a little Googling, I stumbled upon this video (complete with a cute girl and Tori Amos in the background) that explains the upgrade process for what’s supposed to be a similar Aspire One 533 chassis. The same keyboard retention tabs are on the 522, but unfortunately, following the video’s instructions didn’t cause the keyboard tray to pop out when I applied the full amount of force I was willing to use. I wasn’t so keen on following one forum post’s suggestion that a corner of the bottom panel can be bent up just far enough to access the RAM slot with needle-nose pliers, either. Complex surgery shouldn’t be required; Acer could have provided users with a convenient access panel like the one on my Aspire 1810TZ.

Pint-sized power

Battery life is a traditional strength of Atom-based netbooks, but the run times of AMD-based ultraportables have generally been rather weak. Part of the battery life equation comes down to the power consumption of the computing platform and other system components. The rest comes down to just how much energy the battery can store.

In its latest Aspire, Acer is using a 6-cell unit rated for 49 Wh. We’ve seen a few 6-cell batteries with 56 Wh capacities, so the Aspire is a little behind the curve. In a moment, we’ll see just how long the battery holds up in the real world.

Before we get into that, I should direct your attention to the system’s tiny power adapter. Users can rotate the plug’s orientation by 90 degrees to avoid clearance conflicts with adjacent sockets. You’ll need those sockets to be pretty widely spaced, though. Regardless of the body’s position, the circular ring around the plug is large enough to block the adjacent sockets on a couple of the power bars I have kicking around the Benchmarking Sweatshop. This is a great idea whose implementation could use just a little more refinement.

Our testing methods

Over the last little while, we’ve tested a number of different mobile systems ranging from an Ion-equipped Eee PC to a massive laptop with a quad-core Sandy Bridge CPU. The Aspire One 522 may be our first look at a Fusion-based netbook, but we do have some results from an early Brazos benchmarking platform based on a Zacate engineering sample that closely resembles the E-350 APU featured in ultraportables from HP and Lenovo. That benchmarking rig didn’t run off of a battery, so we won’t get a sense of how Zacate’s 18W TDP affects battery life.

To make the graphs easier to read, the test results have been color-coded by manufacturer, with the Aspire appearing in a different shade of green than the other Acer systems. You’ll want to keep an eye on how the Aspire One 522 compares to its most direct competition: the Eee PC 1015PN, which has a dual-core Atom CPU and a discrete Ion GPU. Ultraportables like the Aspire 1810TZ and 1830TZ, plus the Toshiba Satellite represent the next step up from netbook territory. Theoretically, so does the Zacate benchmarking rig. Those four systems are worth tracking, too.

We didn’t observe any difference between the Aspire One 522’s performance when running off a wall socket versus the battery, so our results should be representative of both scenarios. That’s not true for all of the notebooks we’ve tested, though. The N82Jv, U33Jc, Eee PC 1015PN, and T235D were all tested using special “battery-saving” profiles, and the N82Jv, U33Jc, and 1015PN were run in “high-performance” mode, too. With the N82Jv, we recorded our battery-saving results with Asus’ Super Hybrid Engine on, which dropped the CPU clock speed from 2.4GHz to 0.9-1GHz depending on the load. The U33Jc also has a Super Hybrid Engine mode, but we didn’t enable it for testing. On the U33Jc, the high-performance profile included by Asus raises the maximum CPU clock speed from 2.4 to 2.57GHz. On the N82Jv, the same profile leaves the CPU running at default speeds, i.e. up to 2.66GHz when Turbo Boost kicks in. Finally, with the Eee PC, the low-power profile limited the CPU to about 1GHz and disabled the Nvidia GPU, while the high-performance profile raised the CPU speed by a whole 25MHz.

With the exception of battery life, all tests were run at least three times, and we reported the median of those runs.

System AMD Zacate test system Acer Aspire 1810TZ Acer Aspire 1830TZ Acer Aspire One 522 Asus Eee PC 1015PN Asus N82Jv Asus U33Jc Intel Core i7-2820QM 17″ review notebook Toshiba Satellite T235D-S1435 Zotac Zbox HD-ND22
Processor AMD Zacate engineering sample 1.6GHz Intel Pentium SU4100 1.3GHz Intel Pentium U5400 1.2GHz AMD C-50 1.0GHz Intel Atom N550 1.5GHz Intel Core i5-450M 2.4GHz Intel Core i3-370M 2.4GHz Intel Core i7-2820QM 2.3GHz AMD Turion II Neo K625 1.5GHz Intel Celeron SU2300 1.2GHz
North bridge AMD Hudson FCH Intel GS45 Express Intel HM55 Express AMD Hudson FCH Intel NM10 Intel HM55 Express Intel HM55 Express Intel HM67 Express AMD M880G Nvidia Ion
South bridge Intel ICH9 AMD SB820
Memory size 4GB (2 DIMMs) 3GB (2 DIMMs) 3GB (2 DIMMs) 1GB (1 DIMM) 1GB (1 DIMM) 4GB (2 DIMMs) 4GB (2 DIMMs) 4GB (2 DIMMs) 4GB (2 DIMMs) 4GB (2 DIMMs)
Memory type DDR3 SDRAM DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz DDR3 SDRAM at 800MHz DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM at 667MHz DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM at 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM at 800MHz DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz
Memory timings N/A 5-5-5-15 6-6-6-15 N/A 6-5-5-12 7-7-7-20 7-7-7-20 11-11-11-30 6-6-6-15 7-7-7-20
Audio IDT codec Realtek codec with 6.0.1.869 drivers Realtek codec with 6.0.1.6043 drivers Conexant codec with 8.41.0.0 drivers Realtek codec with 6.0.1.6186 drivers Realtek codec with 6.0.1.6024 drivers Realtek codec with 6.0.1.6029 drivers Conexant codec with 4.127.0.60 drivers Realtek codec with 6.0.1.6072 drivers Realtek codec with 6.0.1.5845 drivers
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6310 Intel GMA 4500MHD with 15.17.11.2202 drivers Intel HD Graphics with 8.15.10.2057 drivers AMD Radeon HD 6250 Intel GMA 3150 with 8.14.10.2117 drivers

Nvidia Ion with 8.17.12.5912 drivers

Intel HD Graphics with 8.15.10.2189 drivers

Nvidia GeForce 335M with 8.17.12.5896 drivers

Intel HD Graphics with 8.15.10.2119 drivers

Nvidia GeForce 310M with 8.17.12.5721 drivers

Intel HD Graphics 3000 with 8.15.10.2246 drivers AMD Mobility Radeon HD 4225 with 8.723.2.1000 drivers Nvidia Ion with 8.17.12.6099 drivers
Hard drive Crucial RealSSD C300 128GB Western Digital Scorpio Blue 500GB 5,400-RPM Toshiba MK3265GSX 320GB 5,400 RPM Toshiba MK2565GSX 250GB 5,400 RPM Western Digital Scorpio Blue 500GB 5,400-RPM Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GB 7,200-RPM Seagate Momentus 5400.6 500GB 5,400-RPM Intel X25-M G2 160GB solid-state drive Toshiba MK3265GSX 320GB 5,400 RPM Western Digital Scorpio Black 500GB 5,400 RPM
Operating system Windows 7 Professional x64 Windows 7 Home Premium x64 Windows 7 Home Premium x64 Windows 7 Starter x86 Windows 7 Starter x86 Windows 7 Home Premium x64 Windows 7 Home Premium x64 Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Windows 7 Home Premium x64 Windows 7 Home Premium x64

We used the following versions of our test applications:

All the tests and methods we employed are publicly available and reproducible. If you have questions about our methods, hit our forums to talk with us about them.

Application performance
SunSpider JavaScript benchmark

The SunSpider benchmark is often used to test the JavaScript performance of different web browsers. Here, we’ve pressed it into service to see how different notebooks perform with the same version of Firefox (3.6.9).

Score one for the Aspire, at least versus its Eee PC competition. The 522’s completion time is quicker than the best our Atom-powered netbook has to offer. Still, it’s considerably slower than the Zacate test system, which in turn is slower than the Intel-powered Aspire 1800s and the Turion II Neo-based Toshiba ultraportable.

7-Zip

7-Zip has a handy built-in benchmark that lets us test both compression and decompression performance.

This test makes pretty good use of multithreading, giving the dual-core, quad-thread Atom N550 in the Eee PC a distinct advantage over the Brazos-based Aspire. The only time the Aspire comes out ahead is when the Eee PC’s CPU clock speed is throttled by the system’s special power saving mode.

Once again, the 1.6GHz Zacate system has a substantial lead over the Ontario-based Aspire. That’s to be expected given Zacate’s 600MHz advantage in clock speed over the 1GHz C-50.

x264 video encoding

The x264 video encoding benchmark doesn’t call on GPU resources to accelerate the encoding process, leaving us with a good look at how the various mobile CPUs stack up.

In both passes, the Aspire once again finds itself sandwiched between Eee PC configurations. Encoding HD video isn’t something you’ll want to be doing regularly on a netbook. The Zacate test system is quite a bit faster here, as are the Intel-fueled Aspires and Nile-based Toshiba.

TrueCrypt

This latest version of TrueCrypt makes use of the AES-NI instructions built into Intel’s Westmere and Sandy Bridge CPUs.

As you can see, those instructions can have quite an impact on performance. Mercifully, none of the Aspire’s rivals offers AES-NI acceleration. The Eee PC is still faster when running in its high performance mode, though. As we’ve seen throughout our testing thus far, the budget ultraportable platforms on display in the Aspire 1800 series and Toshiba T235D offer notably better performance.

Startup and wake times

For this round of tests, we busted out a trusty stopwatch and timed how long it took for the notebooks to boot and wake from hibernation. For the startup test, we started timing as soon as the power button was hit and stopped when the Windows 7 hourglass cursor went away. For the wake-up test, we measured the time it took to bring up the log-in screen after hitting the power button.

The Aspire One 522 boots pretty quickly, but it doesn’t return from hibernation as fast as the Eee PC. The Aspire 1810TZ’s ultra-fast boot time is likely due to the fact that the system is running a freshly installed version of Windows without all the extras commonly piled onto notebooks that come straight from the manufacturer.

Gaming
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

Older titles like the original Modern Warfare have a good shot at running smoothly on the Aspire’s integrated Radeon. We tested the game by running a custom timedemo, first at 800×600 with the lowest detail options, then again at 1366×768 with everything cranked up except for v-sync, antialiasing, and anisotropic filtering, which were all left disabled. With the Eee PC and Aspire One 522, we opted for respective native resolutions of 1024×600 and 1280×720 instead of 1366×768.

The Eee PC won’t even run this game in power saving mode. When cranked up to full speed, it still lags well behind the Aspire One 522. Our AMD-powered netbook also offers much better performance than the Intel-based Aspires, which are saddled with anemic Graphics Media Accelerators. The 522 hits higher frame rates than the Toshiba notebook, too, which is built atop the AMD ultraportable platform that preceded Brazos.

Zacate is way out ahead of the other ultraportables, of course. In addition to boasting a higher CPU clock than the Brazos-based Aspire, the Zacate test system also benefits from a faster GPU clock.

Far Cry 2

This game is probably too ambitious for a netbook, but we were curious to see how something a little more recent might fare. We selected the “Action” scene from the game’s built-in benchmark and ran it in two configurations; first at 1366×768 in DirectX 10 mode with detail cranked up, then at that same resolution in DX9 mode with the lowest detail preset. Vsync and antialiasing were left disabled in both cases. Again, the Eee PC and Aspire One 522 were run at 1024×600 and 1280×720, respectively.

The Aspire One 522’s integrated Radeon offers mixed results here. When running with low detail levels, the Aspire manages to outpace the Eee PC and Toshiba systems (although the latter is running at a higher 1366×768 resolution). However, when you crank up the detail, the benchmark crashes out before reporting a final score. The visuals look good up until the game crashes, so at least things appear to be rendering correctly.

Video playback

Video decoding performance was tested using the same Iron Man 2 trailer in multiple formats. Windows Media Player was used for the H.264 QuickTime clips, while Firefox hosted the windowed YouTube test. In each case, we used Windows 7’s Performance Monitor to log CPU utilization for the duration of the trailer.

CPU utilization Result
H.264 480p 9-30% Perfect
H.264 720p 12-35% Perfect
H.264 1080p 13-69% Perfect
H.264 1080p HDMI 9-48% Perfect
YouTube 720p windowed (10.2) 67-91% Smooth, a few dropped frames
YouTube 720p windowed (10.2 AMD) 35-52% Smooth

The Aspire performed flawlessly in our local video playback tests. Frame rates were smooth with each format, and we had no problem playing the 1080p clip at full resolution on an external monitor over HDMI. I suspect the windowed 1080p test exhibited higher CPU utilization due to the scaling required to shrink the video down to size for the system’s 720p display.

With Flash 10.2 accelerating YouTube video playback, a few dropped frames interrupted otherwise smooth sailing. CPU utilization was a little high, as you can see in the table above, so I tried a different Flash build provided to us by AMD. That plug-in cut CPU utilization almost in half without dropping a single frame. The Brazos platform certainly has the ability to deliver smooth Flash video playback. However, work still needs to be done to optimize publicly available versions of Adobe’s Flash plug-in for Brazos-based systems.

Battery life

Before testing the Aspire’s run times, we conditioned the system’s battery by cycling it two times. For the web browsing test, we used TR Browserbench 1.0, which consists of a static version of the TR home page that cycles through different text content, Flash ads, and images, all the while refreshing every 45 seconds. Then, we tested video playback in Windows Media Player by looping an episode of CSI: New York encoded with H.264 at 480p resolution (straight from an HTPC). Wi-Fi and Bluetooth were enabled for the web browsing test and disabled for movie playback.

We attempted to keep the display brightness consistent across all four systems, choosing levels corresponding to a readable brightness in indoor lighting. A 40% brightness setting was used on the Acer 1810TZ, Toshiba Satellite T235D, Asus N82Jv, and Eee PC 1015PN in its “Super Performance” mode. We used a 50% setting on the Aspire One 522, Eee PC 1015PN in “Battery Saving” mode (since disabling the Nvidia GPU seemed to reduce brightness), as well as on the U33Jc.

Finally, AMD has an ultraportable platform with great battery life. The Aspire ran our Wi-Fi web surfing test for over six and a half hours without resorting to clock-throttling techniques like the Eee PC’s power-saving mode. In the movie playback test, it managed just under five hours of run time—plenty for a double feature on a long flight.

Surface temperatures

The Aspire’s 9W Ontario APU shouldn’t run too hot, but we busted out our IR thermometer just to be sure. Surface temperatures were measured 1″ from the system after it had been running TR Browserbench 1.0 for about an hour.

27°C

81°F

25°C

76°F

26°C

78°F

27°C

80°F

23°C

73°F

25°C

77°F

32°C

89°F

28°C

83°F

24°C

76°F

28°C

82°F

The left side of the Aspire (when the keyboard is facing up) is definitely warmer than the right side. You may find it difficult to detect a difference with just your fingertips and lap, though. Overall surface temperatures are quite low.

Living with the Aspire One 522

The first thing I tend to do with a new notebook is purge the Windows installation of extraneous junk. Systems come loaded with all sorts of garbage these days—everything from vendor applications of questionable utility to trialware or otherwise free software I could have easily downloaded myself. The Aspire isn’t burdened by too much bloat, though.

Believe it or not, that’s less third-party software than we usually find installed on new notebooks. You can get rid of most of it, including McAfee Internet Security Suite and Norton Online Backup. Both are trial copies with 60- and 30-day limits, respectively.

The next thing you’ll want to do is consider whether Windows 7 Starter will impose any limitations on the sort of things you want to do with the Aspire. As this Microsoft blog post points out, even something as simple as changing the desktop background or color scheme requires a more advanced version of the operating system. Upgrades to Windows 7 Home Premium, Professional, or Ultimate can be purchased for $90, $140, and $190, respectively. However, Microsoft’s Anytime Upgrade scheme won’t allow you to jump from the Aspire’s 32-bit Starter edition to a 64-bit OS. Lame.

At least the Starter version of Windows is perfectly usable with the default configuration, even with only 747MB of RAM accessible to the OS. Like most netbooks, the system is fast enough to get things done but noticeably less responsive than budget ultraportables with more potent processors. Applications take a second to load, and multi-tabbed browsing with Flash-heavy sites is a little sluggish. Those tabs will quickly eat through the available system memory if you’re not careful. The experience feels similar to using a dual-core Atom, which is Ontario’s primary competition.

The Aspire does not, however, feel like a typical Atom-powered system. All credit goes to the screen, whose 720p resolution is a huge improvement over 1024×600. Surfing requires less scrolling, applications have more room to spread out, and the desktop doesn’t feel nearly as cramped as on the average netbook. Despite the display’s relatively high DPI, text is crisp and clear at the default Windows font size. Hours of surfing and writing on the Aspire failed to produce any unusual eye strain.

Even the Ontario version of the Brazos platform offers considerably more potent graphics hardware than you get with an Atom CPU. We’ve already seen how a couple of gaming benchmarks can benefit from this additional pixel-pushing horsepower, but I couldn’t resist sampling a larger number of titles to get a better sense of the Aspire’s gaming credentials. All games were tested at the system’s 1280×720 native resolution, and Fraps was used to monitor frame rates.

My journey began with Bit.Trip Beat, which first launched on the netbook of game consoles, the Nintendo Wii. The game doesn’t offer any graphics detail settings, but there was no need for fiddling. Frame rates settled in the low 50s most of the time and only occasionally dipped into the high 40s.

Moving to a more modern console port, Geometry Wars: Retro Evolved is an Xbox 360 classic that runs very well on the Aspire. Frame rates were locked at 60 FPS most of the time and only dropped into the high 40s when things got really hectic.

Shank is the most entertaining side-scroller I’ve played in a long time. Even with the detail settings maxed, gameplay was silky smooth. According to Fraps, the game ran at 30 FPS most of the time. Frame rates dropped to the low 20s on a few occasions, but I never detected any stuttering or sluggishness in the game itself.

Interestingly, Torchlight has a special netbook mode designed explicitly for use on underpowered systems. The Aspire didn’t need it, though. With the detail levels cranked and netbook mode disabled, the game chugged along in the mid-to-low 20s, occasionally dropping into the high teens but more often reaching into the low 30s. You can easily lower the in-game detail levels to smooth things out, but dungeon crawlers like this one don’t necessarily require high frame rates.

We know how the Aspire performs when crunching a Modern Warfare timedemo, but what about the actual game? It runs OK provided you stick with the lowest detail levels. Frame rates varied between the high 20s and low 40s, and the gameplay felt pretty smooth. However, every so often, a crippling stutter froze the game for a brief moment. I’m not sure what caused these hiccups, but they were enough to taint the experience.

Call of Duty didn’t give me much faith in more demanding titles, but I tried a few anyway. Left 4 Dead 2 was incredibly choppy and completely unplayable even at 640×480 with the lowest in-game detail levels. DiRT 2 was similarly impossible. Frame rates were often in the single digits, and stuttering was rampant despite running the game with the lowest detail settings at 640×480. Deathspank: Thongs of Virtue, a casual arcade title that I expected to run reasonably well, crashed every time I tried to launch it.

Overall, the Aspire One 522 offers a comparable gaming experience to Ion-equipped netbooks based on Intel’s Atom processor. There’s enough graphics grunt to handle older and more casual titles, but the CPU isn’t fast enough to keep up with older big-name titles, let alone current ones.

Conclusions

I’ll just come out and say it: the Aspire One 522 is the best netbook we’ve ever tested. The Ontario APU offers application performance that’s competitive with a dual-core Atom alongside an integrated Radeon GPU that provides real graphics horsepower. This low-power tandem delivers more than 6.5 hours of battery life in the real world and is powerful enough to enable smooth HD video playback—Flash included. Casual and less demanding games run beautifully at the screen’s 1280×720 native resolution, and the extra pixels are a much appreciated upgrade over the 1024×600 panels that dominate the genre.

A cramped keyboard is inevitable with a 10″ system, but the Aspire’s has a nice tactile feel. The silky smooth touchpad is bigger than one might expect, and it’s made even better by a wealth of highly configurable multitouch gestures. Our reservations about glossy finishes aside, the system’s overall fit and finish appears to be excellent. Everything feels tight and solid.

There are a few serious compromises involved, of course. The default 1GB of RAM is simply too little when only 747MB is available to the OS, and there’s no way easy to pop in a higher-capacity DIMM. A lot of folks are going to be disappointed by the limitations imposed by Windows 7 Starter, especially since it’s a 32-bit version that can’t use an Anytime Upgrade to jump to 64 bits. But the more I think about the few things that the Aspire doesn’t do well, the more I have to keep reminding myself that it costs a scant $330 at Newegg and is even cheaper north of the border. That’s an incredible price for such a powerful and flexible system.

The thing is, I can gush about the Aspire’s awesomeness all day, but I still don’t want one for myself. AMD’s more powerful Zacate version of the very same silicon brings better performance and similar features to 11.6″ ultraportables that offer bigger screens with higher resolutions, full-size keyboards, more RAM, and the full Windows 7 experience, 64 bits included. HP’s Pavilion dm1z offers all of those things for $120 more than the Aspire. I’d pay the premium in a heartbeat if I were shopping for something to replace my primary notebook. However, I can also understand why some folks might balk at spending what amounts to 36% more when the Aspire does such a good job of handling the basics.

Ultraportables like the dm1z are one reason why the netbook revolution has peaked. Tablets have certainly had a hand in slowing netbook sales, as well. Because both of those alternatives are considerably more expensive, though, I expect there are still droves of users who can’t wait to get their hands on something like the Aspire One 522. The bargain price tag makes the Aspire easier to justify for those looking for something to live in the kitchen or on the coffee table, to take notes in class, to surf in coffee shops, or to enable a little gaming on the go.

The Aspire One 522 is a shining example of how netbooks are evolving into more capable machines that are definitely here to stay. I don’t love it quite enough to bestow our coveted Editor’s Choice award, but the Aspire is definitely TR Recommended.

Comments closed
    • swaaye
    • 9 years ago

    Would somebody please build a 9″ book out of this hardware? Come on.

      • odizzido
      • 9 years ago

      I actually emailed acer about that. I said that if they kept everything the same and just made it a little lighter and 9 inches I would buy it instantly.

      I wish I told them to get rid of the glossy screen though. Oh well, I would still buy it with.

      • helboy
      • 9 years ago

      On the contrary I am still waiting for someone to build a decent 14″ notebook out of ANY of the AMD chips!! Seems like only Toshiba is looking in that directn and sadly they are not available in my country.

        • swaaye
        • 9 years ago

        I don’t really care who’s hardware is in it just as long as it’s 9″ and it is a clear improvement over my Eee900.

    • yuhong
    • 9 years ago

    “However, Microsoft’s Anytime Upgrade scheme won’t allow you to jump from the Aspire’s 32-bit Starter edition to a 64-bit OS. Lame.”
    That is because it is much harder to do. In fact, I don’t think 32-bit to 64-bit in-place upgrades ever have been supported.

    • Plazmodeus
    • 9 years ago

    This article just made me love my Acer 1810TZ even more.

      • stdRaichu
      • 9 years ago

      Gonna have to add a “me too”. The market for <13″ laptops seems to have vanished and now we just get poorer performing atom-esque chips, lower battery life and more general all-round shoddiness than my beloved 1810.

      Only horrible thing about the 1810TZ is the screen, alot like the shitty one on this thing. But as others have pointed out, expecting a good screen (even a nice TN would be a godsend) on anything but the highest end laptops is utter folly.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 9 years ago

    I wouldn’t mind sometime down the road picking this thing up just to try those trimmed-down netbook OS’s like Moblin or some variation of Linux.

    • ET3D
    • 9 years ago

    Do try with more than 1GB.

    [url=http://forum.notebookreview.com/gaming-software-graphics-cards/549760-amd-c-50-cpu-6250-gpu-performance-acer-522-review-32.html<]This thread[/url<] has some tips about successfully removing the keyboard. The link is to page 32, which has some discussion of this, but the entire thread is worth reading for anyone considering buying this netbook. And thanks for the review. It was very enlightening on several fronts. I like that you posted the Canadian keyboard photo, the heat figures, and, well, everything. Well, apart from the lack of testing with more RAM. 🙂 BTW, I suppose the review wasn't done with the Catalyst 11.2 drivers recently released. Saw no mention of that.

    • Palek
    • 9 years ago

    I was under the impression that 1GB was the absolute minimum of RAM required for 32-bit versions of Windows 7.

    Edit: linky – [url<]http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/products/system-requirements[/url<] Is Starter somehow a different beast? How does it survive on 747MB? The obvious question following from this is: will Home Premium 32-bit run on this machine at all without a RAM upgrade (which may not be possible at all)?

      • ET3D
      • 9 years ago

      Windows 7 has no problem running with 512MB or even less. In the past I installed a trial of Win 7 Ultimate on my Fujitsu P1510D with 512MB (a little bit of which is taken by the integrated graphics) and it ran fine. It’s not fun running with just 512MB, but it’s not much different than XP on that hardware.

        • UberGerbil
        • 9 years ago

        You do want to strip things down as much as possible if you’re going to do that though — no Aero, no wallpaper, minimal services, etc. So the experience starts to look a bit like XP also.

          • Palek
          • 9 years ago

          Any suggestions as to which version – 32-bit or 64-bit – of Windows 7 Home Premium I should install on an Athlon X2 (2GHz) system with 1GB RAM? Microsoft suggests at least 2GB for 64-bit.

            • UberGerbil
            • 9 years ago

            The page tables do take up more space on 64bit, so there is some (small) overhead with no real benefit. If you never expect to take that system past 3GiB of RAM, you might as well stick with 32bit.

            Ultimately though it’s everything else that makes most of the difference — my Aunt had an XP machine with 512MB that ran slowly but it adequately until she bought and installed an HP all-in-one printer, which involved “drivers” that took up more space than the OS did.

            • ET3D
            • 9 years ago

            Someone on HardwareHeaven once told me that from his experience on netbooks th 64-bit version is always worth installling.

            Haven’t tried it myself (don’t have a PC with 1GB and 64-bit support), but my experience with Vista is that on 2GB the 64-bit ran more smoothly and with fewer problems than the 32-bit version, so I’m inclined to believe that this can extend to 7 and 1GB.

            • UberGerbil
            • 9 years ago

            Would be kind of interesting to test both and see, I agree. Don’t have any personal experience either way.

            • Palek
            • 9 years ago

            Thanks for the feedback, guys!

        • Palek
        • 9 years ago

        Thanks, it helps to know that. The link I posted above talks about “requirements” so I just figured Windows 7 would actually refuse to install on systems with less than 1GB.

          • FuturePastNow
          • 9 years ago

          Oh no. There are crazy people who install Windows on the slowest hardware they can, just to do it.

            • LiamC
            • 9 years ago

            Must be me. I installed Win7 Home Premium 32 bit on a K6-III/400 with 768MB of PC-100. It ran [b<]better[/b<] than Vista Basic on a Core 2 Duo laptop (1.83GHz) with 512MB of RAM

    • pja
    • 9 years ago

    Hi! I have recently (about one week ago) purchased a Toshiba NB500D which has a very similar spec to the Acer tested here. You can see the details and spec at: [url<]http://www.mytoshiba.com.au/products/notebooks/nbseries/nb550d/pll5fa-00k01s[/url<] I'm not going to sprout the benefits of Toshiba vs. Acer other than to say that my Toshiba looks much prettier than the Acer 🙂 Seriously, I found the Toshiba just a bit slow with only 1 Gb of memory. I have since upgraded it to 2 Gb and upgraded Windows to Home premium (the same as my desktop). With the extra memory this is now a great little computer. I was keen to buy an iPad but when I switched on the rational side of my brain I simply could not see what the extra $600 (in Australia) bought me. These Fusion based netbooks are simply the best for computing while you travel. They are even quite acceptable for occasional desktop use. Regards, Peter

      • Palek
      • 9 years ago

      Too bad about the 1024×600 resolution screen…

        • anubis44
        • 9 years ago

        Didn’t your read the article? It has a 1280×720 display resolution. You read right: full HD720p resolution.

        I’ve played around with this exact model here in Ottawa, Ontario at BestBuy, and it runs nice and speedy even with only the 1Mb ram. I was pretty surprised. Of course, I’d want to upgrade the ram anyhow. The graphics are indeed far superior to any Intel integrated GMA graphics in any Atom-based netbook. I saw it running flash videos, GoogleEarth, and it rocked.

          • odizzido
          • 9 years ago

          I am not just surprised it ran well with one meg of ram, I am totally shocked.

          • Asbestos
          • 9 years ago

          The Toshiba NB500D has a 1024×600 resolution screen. Didn’t you follow the link to the Toshiba product page? pja isn’t talking about the reviewed netbook, but another model with similar specs.

            • Palek
            • 9 years ago

            Thanks for saving me some time.

      • Chrispy_
      • 9 years ago

      Toshiba are one of the worst major brands I’ve come across for software bloat. Was your speed “out of the box” or did you format and reinstall before trying it on 1GB?

    • hurleybird
    • 9 years ago

    I want an 11-inch E-350 touting ‘book with a non-TN touchscreen, hmdi out, and no gloss.

      • grantmeaname
      • 9 years ago

      I’m gonna list all the laptops from the past five years with non-TN screens:

      Now wasn’t that fun?

        • bimmerlovere39
        • 9 years ago

        I knew it was few-to-none, but I didn’t think it was ACTUALLY none.

        Well, that’s depressing.

        • BlackStar
        • 9 years ago

        Dell D830 with 15.6” PVA @1680×1050. The monitor is perfectly calibrated out of the box and It is *beautiful*.

        • Chrispy_
        • 9 years ago

        There are dozens, maybe over a hundred current laptops with non-TN screens. Apple, Dell, HP, Sony all have either VA or IPS displays in their current lineup. In this country, if you head down to a big computer retailer where they have 30+ laptops on display, you’re guaranteed to find a few that stand out with proper viewing angles. It’s one of the easiest selling points for a salesman to leverage. “Yes, this is £200 more expensive, but it’s more powerful and look at the beautiful screen”

        I agree that the trend is an increasing number of cheap, nasty TN rubbish, but come on – the screens are out there if you’re prepared to pay for them.

        For those that want proper screens, look to the mobile workstation segments – graphic designers and tecnical users need high DPI and accurate colours.

      • Vhalidictes
      • 9 years ago

      Too little memory is completely expected and forgivable in this price range. The use of the C-50 is not. Ontario is just a tad too weak at 1.0GHz and there isn’t a fix for that. Bad design, Acer.

        • OneArmedScissor
        • 9 years ago

        It’s a netbook, and while it may be slow, it’s still a dual-core. If that’s not what you want, well, why are you looking at it and expecting it to be something it never claimed to be?

          • Firestarter
          • 9 years ago

          what good are 2 cores with just ~750MB RAM?

            • OneArmedScissor
            • 9 years ago

            As good as 2 cores can be for every single person who doesn’t fill more than 750MB of RAM checking their email and bookface or watching a movie. There are at least two or three of these out there, believe it or not.

        • odizzido
        • 9 years ago

        The C-50 is perfect….but the lack of memory is a big downer. There isn’t a fix for the ram either 🙁

          • ET3D
          • 9 years ago

          Lots of people have upgraded the memory on the Acer 522. It’s a hassle, but it’s not impossible.

    • HisDivineShadow
    • 9 years ago

    I wonder how much of the gaming crashes and other assorted issues were related to lack of sufficient RAM. Don’t blame you for not opening it up any more than you could, but man, I think Acer should have put 2 GB on this thing, min.

    I’d be interested in seeing the higher end version of this that stays 10″, but goes with the higher end APU with higher speeds and more RAM.

    Good news about this thing is that it’ll drive Intel to have to release a faster Atom at long last versus their policy of “New, but not better or cheaper” iterations of Atom over the last few years. If they choose NOT to compete on either price or performance, then Atom will be shunned and AMD’s Bobcat’ll creep up, ninja-like, toward the CULV CPU’s they love so…

      • hurleybird
      • 9 years ago

      Probably the vast majority of crashes IMHO.

      • mboza
      • 9 years ago

      Lack of ram should just force it to page to disk, and just be horrendously slow. I don’t see where having 2GB, or even 4GB of RAM would prevent out of memory crashes. One issue might be not having enough GPU memory, but I don’t know if increasing the RAM would increase the amount dedicated to the GPU?

        • FuturePastNow
        • 9 years ago

        Lack of video memory will cause games to crash (I’ve seen games kind enough to provide an error message saying so), and the GPU should take more memory as RAM is added. If it works like the older integrated Radeon 4250, it can go from a minimum of 256 to a max of 2 gigs.

        Of course, it’s just as likely to be driver issues causing crashes here.

    • obarthelemy
    • 9 years ago

    Thanks for a very nice review.

    It seems AMD and Adobe juste annouced a bug in Flash 10.2 that prevents video from being GPU-decoded on AMD GPUs in most sites, especially YouTube. Hopefully they’ll fix that quickly and dropped frame and CPU usage will become perfect.

    • FuturePastNow
    • 9 years ago

    If you’re going to show us the Windows Experience Index score, can we get a breakdown of the component scores, since the total is based on the slowest?

    This is close to what I’d like in a netbook, but the inaccessible insides are a dealbreaker. I’m not afraid of cracking a machine open, but given the choice, I’ll take a nice door I can unscrew. A gig of RAM is just not enough.

    • odizzido
    • 9 years ago

    This is so close to what I want in a laptop. If it were 9 inches with two gigs of ram and an SSD I would buy it right now.

    Being lighter would also help as well.

      • kizzmequik_74
      • 9 years ago

      Oh, yeah, seconding.

      Tablets have largely taken over the 9-inch space, but I rather miss that form factor in a netbook. I had one of the early 9-inch EeePCs, and it was a fun little system for playing old games and emulating old consoles.

      • ET3D
      • 9 years ago

      Would love something like my Fujitsu P1510D but with a C-50 inside. And the higher res display (which the P1610 and up already had). But the 522 is close enough and cheap enough that I might buy it.

    • Dposcorp
    • 9 years ago

    EDIT: By the way, very nice review.

    If possible, can you steal a 64bit Win 7 HP or Pro build, some more ram and a SSD from another laptop and re-run some of the tests, even just casually?

    I’d like to see how the thing runs with 2-4 GB of ram and a SSD.
    Also, is there only one DIMM slot, or 2? If two, lets run some dual channel tests.

    Some of the slowness seems like buffering from the lack of ram/bandwidth and 5400RPM hard drive.

    A real 64bit OS, along with the other hardware I mentioned might make a difference.

    I know it changes the price, but at least then we can make sure the APU/board have room to stretch their legs and see what they can do.

    Any word from Acer if a convertible tablet is coming soon?

      • mczak
      • 9 years ago

      No matter if there are 1 or 2 ram slots, the chip only has a single memory channel anyway, so there won’t be any performance difference due to that.
      That said, since apparently the ram isn’t really intended to be user-replaceable, I doubt acer bothered to add a second slot.
      I don’t know if the slowness was really due to not enough ram (Zacate is a serious improvment over Atom – Ontario is not), but I suspect some of the game crashes with higher settings might have been.

    • Ruiner
    • 9 years ago

    Is Asus planning a Brazos release? The eee’s are much easier to upgrade. 2GB, a small SSD and no OS would be nice.

      • iDenTiTy
      • 9 years ago

      Yes. The 1015B and 1215B.
      🙂

    • Thanato
    • 9 years ago

    I see it has a VGA output on the side. Can Ontario run more than one monitor? or does the external monitor have to be a copy of the 720p display?

      • UberGerbil
      • 9 years ago

      I’m pretty sure I saw something about that (to the positive) in one of the Brazos ITX board reviews — Anandtech maybe? Have a look around and let us know?

      • Dissonance
      • 9 years ago

      I believe Ontario is capable of outputting to two independent displays simultaneously. However, the Aspire can’t. Win7 Starter is limited to a single monitor, so you have to choose between the laptop display and an auxiliary monitor.

        • UberGerbil
        • 9 years ago

        Windows Starter is just, well, a non-starter in so many ways…

        When you say the Aspire “can’t” — is that a definite board-level hardware limitation (that we’ll likely see in other Ontario laptops) or purely a function of the crippled OS?

        Have you considered installing (or at least booting from) a Linux distro to see what the experience is like?

          • ET3D
          • 9 years ago

          Upgrading the Acer to another Windows version would solve the problem. Regarding Linux, I’ve read it doesn’t yet support the Fusion APU’s.

    • srg86
    • 9 years ago

    Such a shame, sooo close but still a bit too expensive. I wouldn’t really want to pay more than $300 for a netbook as I’d need to get more RAM and an Anytime upgrade from Starter.

    Good screen though…I’m tempted…

    That’s until I saw about upgrading RAM! What I saw in that video is definitely well within my capabilities but I’m hesitant to do something that could void the warranty on a brand new machine!

      • Firestarter
      • 9 years ago

      if they refuse to honour your warranty, you might be successful in arguing that the RAM (as well as the HDD) are to be considered user replaceable parts in PCs

    • cynan
    • 9 years ago

    These were actually only $269 when introduced at Best Buy in Canada last month. But yeah, now $300.

    Quite a good deal for a netbook for those who got in early…

      • Johnny5
      • 9 years ago

      Does sound like great value. I would personally go with something more mid-range though. Actually I don’t have a notebook or smartphone yet anyways, just a desktop. When I do get one though, I’ll be keeping in mind that I’ll be using it for many years to come.

    • Bauxite
    • 9 years ago

    Strangely there is no info to be found on the 722 aka 11″ version, which would presumably launch close to this going by the history of their other netbooks. The 521 and 721 came out at the same time I think.

    There are also no upcoming brazos timeline models listed either, which is puzzling. There are plenty of ways to go up the pricing ladder with spec and feature bumps.

    I enjoy my culv 11 incher from 2009, was hoping to get a more graphics capable one sometime this year. I really don’t want to buy from some of the vendors who have E350s announced or shipping right now, a lot of them do really stupid crap like locking out minicards etc.

    • derFunkenstein
    • 9 years ago

    I like this little machine but I’d like just a bit more (OK, I’d like about 60% more) CPU speed. Does anybody outside of HP plan to bring out E350 laptops? The dm1z is fairly tiny, but this is tinier still. I’d love an E350 in something this size, it’d be a great miniature recording studio.

    edit: it might not seem like much difference in size, and I guess it’s not, but I want an E350 shoved into the tiniest case possible. :p

      • NeelyCam
      • 9 years ago

      ^ This. +1

    • Hattig
    • 9 years ago

    “changing the desktop background or color scheme requires a more advanced version of the operating system” oh dear, that really is appalling.

    But the Ontario APU holds up excellently. Hopefully there will be a version with a better version of Windows and 2GB RAM.

    • OneArmedScissor
    • 9 years ago

    Which Windows power plan are the battery life tests run with?

      • Dissonance
      • 9 years ago

      The default, which is Balanced.

        • OneArmedScissor
        • 9 years ago

        Thanks! I’ve seen some sites use high performance recently. *face palm*

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This