The TR Podcast 89: A case-load of Computex

The Tech Report Podcast Date: June 14th, 2011

Time: 1:34:26

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Panelists: Scott Wasson, Cyril Kowaliski, Geoff Gasior, and David Morgan

Download:
MP3 (68.0MB) | M4A(93.4MB)

Subscribe:
RSS (MP3) | RSS (M4A)
iTunes (MP3) | iTunes (M4A)

Listen now:
 

Show notes

We have lots to cover in this episode of the TR Podcast. Geoff is back from Computex with a slew of stories, sneak peeks, and new products for us to geek out about. The highlights of our Computex unpacking include Noctua’s “better” 120-mm fan, the rising trend of white computer cases, and new notebooks and platforms from Intel that combine speed, portability, and affordability in very exciting ways.

Moving on from Computex, we welcome guest podcaster and TR reviewer David Morgan, who details his review of the NZXT H2 mid-tower enclosure. We also analyze the new Wii U gaming console and bemoan a disappointing Duke Nukem demo. Finally, it’s the newest from Microsoft and Apple when we dive into Windows 8 and Apple’s iOS 5 and iCloud.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter – ScottJordanGeoffCyrilThe Tech Report

Tech discussion:

    Asus shows ultra-thin notebook, Eee PC at Computex (0:02:55)- Read more

    Intel’s mobile roadmap: Ultrabooks, better Atoms (0:06:12)- Read more

    X79, Llano motherboards break cover at Computex (0:15:34)- Read more

    AMD reanimates FX brand for Bulldozer platforms (0:19:23)- Read more

    AMD E-450 chip seen on Computex show floor (0:26:38)- Read more

    Virtu goes Universal, tackles vsync (0:27:24)- Read more

    RevoDrive Hybrid combines SSD, HDD on a single PCIe card (0:30:50)- Read more

    Noctua builds a better 120-mm fan (0:34:20)- Read more

    Cases at Computex (0:38:11)

      Corsair rolls out a pair of new cases priced at $99, $139 – Read more

      White is the new black for PC enclosures – Read more

    Motherboards and their owners (0:46:19)- Read more

    NZXT’s H2 mid-tower enclosure (0:50:30)- Read more

    Strange new Wii U console has AMD graphics (1:03:32)- Read more

    Duke Forever demo goes live… for a lucky few (1:06:38)- Read more

    Microsoft demos Windows 8’s new interface (1:12:46)- Read more

    Steve Jobs dazzles developers with new OSes, iCloud (1:17:41)- Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • blorbic5
    • 8 years ago

    Is there a way to download podcast right to my phones SD card? When I click the download links it streams it, which isn’t bad but I would prefer to have it downloaded so I can pause or answer calls and not lose my spot. I am using an Android phone with Dolphin HD browser, I have also tried the stock browser.

    Thanks

      • David_Morgan
      • 8 years ago

      On my phone (Epic 4G running Froyo & Stock browser) If you tap and hold on the mp3 link, then select “Save Link” from the menu that pops up, it downloads the file rather than streaming it.

        • blorbic5
        • 8 years ago

        Worked perfectly, Thanks πŸ™‚

    • glynor
    • 8 years ago

    Great podcast! Really enjoyed this one.

    By the way, there [i<]is[/i<] an API for iCloud document storage (among many other things). You can expect it to be heavily used by third-party developers for things just like what Pages and Keynote do, in addition to other awesome stuff (like automatic save-state syncing for iPhone games so you can move back and forth between an iPhone/iPod Touch and an iPad and automatically resume your game where you left off). The sessions where they discussed the APIs are all under NDA (only the Keynote is not), but the stuff has all leaked. If you look around a bit, you can find a lot of information out there about other things not officially announced.

    • pdjblum
    • 8 years ago

    It is ironic, Jordan, that a guy working for a tech site can not repair his own rig. Yes, I recall you recently building a pc. What is ironic is having to depend on apple repair people to fix your so-loved apple. Will never understand the interest so-called techies have in closed systems. After this horrendous experience, even you might admit that apple’s s*** does stink after all.

      • Arclight
      • 8 years ago

      I think you’re missing the point, although Apple is a company that produces shinny crap and sells it overpriced, the guy took it for repairs because otherwise, i believe, he would have lost his warranty. I know that my first PC (which my parents bought me about 8 years ago) had some tape on the side that would need to be cut in order to open the case for w/e reason and if i cut that tape i’d lose the warranty.

      I bet he wouldn’t have hesitated to repair it himself if he didn’t have the warranty anymore….or is it not the case?

        • jdrake
        • 8 years ago

        Correct Arclight. I wanted to maintain the warranty – so I let Apple repair the laptop. I’d rather wait a few days to get my machine back – than pay hundreds of dollars/spend time trying to replace components myself – especially when I have a full time job and need this laptop to produce the podcast.

        Laptops are inherently “closed” systems – Mac or PC – you’re not upgrading motherboards – swapping GPUs – etc. That’s what I built a PC for.

        And, while I may be pissed at Apple’s latest snafu on my machine – I’ve had plenty of problems (working in IT like I used to) with PCs too – it’s all the same hardware and hardware breaks. Period.

        I buy Apple laptops because I like the OS – the product design – the battery life – the asthetic – the little things like the magsafe charger – the keyboard – etc. I don’t just buy it because it has an Apple logo. I enjoy the product and it lets me get my radio/production work done quickly and easily. End of story.

    • DancinJack
    • 8 years ago

    Welcome, David Morgan. Nice to hear you on the podcast.

    Sad, sad news(rumors) about desktop BD. A little expected though. I was a little thrown off at how much Scott liked the W8 preview. I guess he’s into the tablet thing though. Scott <3 iPad2

    • crazybus
    • 8 years ago

    When Scott said “ahh.… redemption” I thought he was referring to Geoff’s pronunciation of zee-68.

    • Arclight
    • 8 years ago

    Regarding Windows 8 you guys said it has vibrant colours and nice pictures.

    Are you people 12 years old? Colours is all you need from an OS to be good? What is wrong with you? Windows 8 looks like an OS specifically made for kids.

    Well if you like vibrant colours, here i’ll give you a treat:
    [url<]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mB6fq9Aadwk[/url<] I forgot to mention the crass lack of knowledge related to AMD"s new socket for Llano, even though one of you guys admited to have seen a miriad of boards on display at Computex. One last thing, i am a long time reader of the tech report, long before i made an account but i always wondered why do you guys have to do an audio podcast, is video not an option this days? I'd love, like many others, an 1 hour and 30 minutes podcast split into 3 parts with some video images instead of just audio. A picture can be better than a thousand words. I get it if you guys don't want to be seen, you can just show image of the product your talking about.....food for thought.

      • David_Morgan
      • 8 years ago

      I can’t speak for the others, but the lighting in my man-cave is not very conducive to video πŸ™‚

      Not to tug on superman’s cape or anything, but I’m slightly interested in video content as well. However, editing a 90 minute show with any regard for quality is no small undertaking (especially with the primary contributors being spread all over North America). I produced a weekly 30 minute sports show back in college with a blatant disregard for quality, and even that became an “all-day Sunday time-vampire” event.

      I’m not saying such a video-cast is impossible, but all the time required to produce such a beast would probably be better spent on other tasks. Smaller videos/video reviews would be kinda cool though.

        • Arclight
        • 8 years ago

        [quote<]I can't speak for the others, but the lighting in my man-cave is not very conducive to video :)[/quote<] I can't speak for the other tech report readers but this made me rofl, like in real life. [quote<]I'm not saying such a video-cast is impossible, but all the time required to produce such a beast would probably be better spent on other tasks. Smaller videos/video reviews would be kinda cool though.[/quote<] Video reviews are cool like the ones done by OC3D, but i like reading the review more since i can't play the video out loud. I'm not ashamed to admit it but i sometimes check you're reviews (as in tech report's reviews) at work. If it's fine and dandy to read it quietly in a corner office, i won't be able to play the video until i get home late at night, which would be quite bad. But again i'm a single reader, many will like the idea of video reviews. If i'm at home it is positively my favourite form of reviws. Regards, Arc

        • Aphasia
        • 8 years ago

        Personally, I like the model that TWiT uses… they do podcasts, but also have live video with live chat and put em up to youtube afterwards. For some shows it doesnt really matter, like Tech News Today… but other shows like Frame Rate, which is about movies, it’s really nice with video for some parts. But also consider, this is what they do, and has alot of experience in. So they do a great job with it

        As for the TR podcast, I’m not so sure a videocast would add enough value to justify the extra work that it would entail, especially consering its not a “round-table” event in that sense. I’ve never felt that images where somehow lacking in the TR podcast.

        As for some of the reviews, I think video could add quite somewhat, but its hard to do it justice.

          • jdrake
          • 8 years ago

          Hey guys – thanks for the input. The fact that we’re all in different locations makes video somewhat difficult from an editing/time perspective – but it’s worth discussing – we’re definitely considering ways to make the show better:-)

            • glynor
            • 8 years ago

            Jordan… When Leo first started doing the video podcasts, I was excited and thought I’d use them all the time. But in the end, I listen to podcasts the most in my car or when I’m walking around… Either way, not looking at a screen.

            I still download a few of the “major” TWiT video podcasts, but the audio-only ones are the ones that sync automatically to my phone. The video ones are just too big, and once you subscribe to a handful of them, you start to run low on space pretty quickly.

            Now that I’ve had a chance to use them, I actually prefer the way Engadget under Josh did it. Their regular weekly podcast is audio-only, but every so often (quarterly?) they put out the “special” Engadget Show in video. So, maybe if you decide to dabble into video, doing it that way might be more useful and feasible. If you have a “big event” (like the CES episode from last time, for example) where you have the opportunity to do a lot of video, put that one out in both audio-only and video format (the video one on a special, separate TR Podcast Specials feed). If they are occasional, and special, I find that I’ll watch them. If they are just the weekly podcast? I generally don’t use them, and it does take a LOT of work to Skype video from multiple sources (you have to essentially build the Skype-a-saurus that Leo built, and capture the video from each system separately).

            • Arclight
            • 8 years ago

            A geeky thought just hit me, related on how to fix the distance issue, since you guys can’t get around the same table for a video. How about one of you is filmed sitting in front of a humongous Eyefinity type of set-up, streaming on each screen one of the TR crew, bassicly like a video conference?

            Also i do agree it hasn’t have to be weekly, it should in fact be done after or during special events or when there is alot cool stuff to talk about…..

            The budget won’t need to be high, just need a good quality HD camera and an intro/outro, maybe even some credits at the end πŸ™‚

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This